Film Reviews by NO

Welcome to NO's film reviews page. NO has written 69 reviews and rated 73 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Strange Love of Martha Ivers

Dark Melodrama

(Edit) 30/11/2021

Excellent story,rather dated at start but improved later.Kirk played against type & the under rated Heflin was also good &Stanwyk her usual excellent self.HOLLYWOOD AT ITS

best rather than the all action super heroes films we get now with little or no plots.

I enjoyed it.

Norman.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Amores Perros

Dog loves

(Edit) 14/11/2021

A brutal but interesting film not for dog lovers.Harsh reality of life in Mexico (The director & crew

were robbed by street gangs while making it).Well acted & photographed.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Casque D'Or

Crime Passionelle

(Edit) 09/11/2021

Slightly confused start with all the men having mustaches but progresses into a rewarding

story if somewhat dated.Excellent B&W film.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Run of the Arrow

Rebels Hate

(Edit) 02/11/2021

Strange Western-tries to be an Epic like Dances with Wolves but does not make it.Seems as if

parts were missing on the DVD-we do not see the initiation rite ,Steiger learning Sioux,or his

argument about attacking the Fort & the quicksand incident is not mentioned.Whether these

& other "jumps" were in the original film I do not know.Was it necessa ry for him to have an

Irish Accent? Ended abruptly but worth seeing.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Backlash

Bizarre Western

(Edit) 23/10/2021

Unusual Cowboy with a complex mystery story.Richard Widmark is excellent as ever(why he

never got an Oscar for his fine acting is another mystery).Donna Reid -beautiful as ever(shame she died young).Plenty of action with good outdoor scenery.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Femme Fatale

Unusual Story

(Edit) 20/10/2021

Confusing at start but intriguing ,eventuall y makes sense but I felt cheated at the final twist.

Good photography but I thought the strip tease & fight in the Club unnecessary.

Worth seeing.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Clay Pigeons

Daylight Film Noir

(Edit) 11/09/2021

Quirky but fascinating drama with humour.Va ughn is excellent in his "cowboy" role.Good shock twists -enjoyable.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Christmas Holiday

Drama with malaise

(Edit) 06/09/2021

Unusual film with both Kelly & Durbin playing it straight.Slow to start,I wondered when Kelly

would appear,but an inevitable ending.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Caught

No Title

(Edit) 01/09/2021

Typical "B" film.Quite good but not the film noir I was expecting.Ve ry uneventful & a little confusing as it ended abruptly & several points were not explained.For once Mason was

not the villian but the hero.OK but glad I did not pay at the cinema to see it.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Cause for Alarm!

Slow Film Noir

(Edit) 24/08/2021

Rather slow to start & difficult to distinguish between the two male parts especially as your synopsis is wrong!BarrySullivan is the husband NOT Bruce Cowling It got better

as the suspense rose. Loretta Young displays her eyes sucessfully & is the lead actor.A good "B" picture.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Pat Garrett and Billy the Kid

Peckinpah Western

(Edit) 16/08/2021

Not what I expected.Supposed to be a cult western but although Coburn plays it cool & Kris makes his debut all the other old cowboy faces just have walk on parts.

Too many unexplained gunfights-violence just for the sake of it.Was the brothel scene necessary?All that naked flesh!I did not feel that this was a true history of Garrett

& Billy-just a chase film.Scenery etc was authentic but overall disappointing.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Don't Bother To Knock

Mar ilyns first real acting role.

(Edit) 05/08/2021

Good performances from Widmark & Marilyn but not a ver y interesting story.Liked Bancrofts songs but all action confined to one room & the hotel.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Iron Horse

John Ford Classic

(Edit) 05/08/2021

Obviously dated but shows realistic Western settings.Quite funny in parts but disappointed that the film broke down in a final scene where Brandon is fighting

Bauman & skipped to the meeting of the Railroads.The outcome was apparent but I would have liked to have seen the missing bits.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

McCabe and Mrs. Miller

Dourful Western

(Edit) 23/07/2021

Slow to start & poor dialogue makes it confusioning with dark uncolourful scenes.Realistic showing what the West was really like but doesnt make good entertainment.

Predictable ending with very little action.Unusual Western.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Bring Me the Head of Alfredo Garcia

Peckinpah film

(Edit) 20/07/2021

Slow to start but a Road Movie with typical Pekinpah violence at the end which is predictable.Could not see the point of the attempted rape scene but Warren Oates is good

& the actress is rather sexy.Must be Kristofferson ,s first appearance.I note it was a flop when released but has now become a cult classic.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.
12345