Film Reviews by Gwydion

Welcome to Gwydion's film reviews page. Gwydion has written 27 reviews and rated 111 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

I'm Not There

The philosophical coherence of a headless chicken

(Edit) 28/10/2023

We were supposed to see it as something insightful into US life and 1960s radicalism.

I saw a set of banalities.

Some quite nice performances, but was the original serious, even?

How does it feel

To love and electric eel

And borrow anything you cannot steal!

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Walking the Edge

Bad acting spoils a routine plot

(Edit) 19/10/2023

The actors playing the gangsters were exactly like actors playing gangsters.

None of them were at all convincing.

The plot was pretty thin as well. They should have been expecting vengeance, after killing a woman's son.

Also a sleazy character becoming improbably heroic, but that is routine Hollywood

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Invincible

An excellent war tale

(Edit) 30/06/2023

An uncomplicated war story about a tank crew.

Showing some of the lead characters dying, rather than having them untouchable.

A neat uncomplicated story.

Mysteriously missing from IMDb.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Criminal Minds: Series 1

A set of intellectual puzzles

(Edit) 16/06/2023

I've only just discovered this long-running series. Probably never on British television.

From the first four, I find it excellent.

Each time, there is an intellectual twist. But always pre-signalled - mentioned as a possibility, along with others that prove false.

A mix of characters, but so far it is mostly about the plot and not the internal dynamics. That suits me.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Battle of Jangsari

Showing the cost and cruelty of war

(Edit) 26/05/2023

Unlike most war films, a lot of major characters die.

Some successes are a bit unlikely, but losses are shown.

For me, the benevolent American female reporter was a silly addition. But the rest was OK.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Iron Fury

Unrealistic, but fun

(Edit) 12/05/2023

Like most war films, it has the main characters achieving an unlikely degree of success.

But the actual combat scenes seemed to give a good impression of what a real tank battle might have been like. The sheer danger and the results of non-fatal hits.

Likeable characters, and the villain is shown with some complexities.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Babylon

Good material swamped by tedium and toilet humour

(Edit) 29/04/2023

If someone had been bold enough to cut this 3 hour 9 minutes epic down to a couple of hours, it might have made money rather than losing it.

Elephants shitting and women pissing on men are not what most viewers want. The minority who find it hilarious must have their own specialist stuff. Most mainstream films have the sense to avoid it. One wonders what happened here.

There is a lot of empty chat by people who have nothing interesting to say about the Meaning of Life.

Yet there is so much that is excellent. I don't regret having seen it. I just feel contempt for the editing process.

1 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Amsterdam

Offended by gruesome stuff in a supposed comedy thriller

(Edit) 27/04/2023

For my taste, extensive and needless medical details were out of place in something advertised as comedy thriller. And the blurb on the disk I got gave no warning.

It also seemed to me disrespectful for a bunch of actors to be treating real human suffering as raw material.

If done in a different spirit, it might have been a good drama, since the central event was actually real.

Or it could have been done comically, but without showing so much suffering and death, all of it based on real events.

Clearly it does not offend many viewers. But I regard such people out of line. Making a joke of things that are not funny.

And it seems I am in a majority. It was a box-office flop.

3 out of 4 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Like Dogs

Dislikes People, and no dogs

(Edit) 12/02/2023

Brutal and sordid, and not at all likely.

Nothing is done with what might have been an interesting idea.

And it will probably also disappoint bondage fans.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Crimes of the Future

Fond of disgusting and pointless people?

(Edit) 04/02/2023

If so, it's your sort of film.

Definitely not mine.

The 'science' was sheer magic. Not at all plausible. But that's often the case. I've forgiven it for many other films.

This one, none of it made sense. New organs and people who feed on plastic. Did no one tell them that plastics are a huge range of different chemicals, sharing just a few common points in their physical behaviour?

But the main point was that it revelled in pain and disgusting images. Pointless.

1 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Bullet Train

Violent crime is not a joke

(Edit) 04/02/2023

This treated it all as fun, which I found offensive.

Also none of it was believable. It was like a video game, with some characters improbably strong.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Prospect

Bored

(Edit) 25/08/2020

Unconvincing future technology.

The setting is obviously a normal tropical forest.

And the plot is silly.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Pagan King

Cheap and weak

(Edit) 19/08/2020

Historically false - popes didn't have the sort of authority shown.

Cheaply made and it shows it.

I was bored by it.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Cloverfield Paradox

An elite crew are both foolish and hysteric

(Edit) 09/08/2020

It is a vital mission to save Earth, but everyone acts with deep malice to their colleagues.

In the face of each crisis, they react with total hysteria.

And they are amazingly slow to work out where they have been moved to. Elementary astronomy would tell them that.

Likewise the bloody obvious explanation for why a mysterious stranger claims to know some of them.

About as stupid as a gigantic fleshy monster that does not collapse under its own weight. Tacked on at the end and without logic.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

American Animals

What real crime is

(Edit) 05/08/2020

As they say, it is a true story.

You see how crime is messy and cruel. Not romanticised as in most films.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.
12