Film Reviews by RL

Welcome to RL's film reviews page. RL has written 74 reviews and rated 135 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Alien Creatures from Beyond

Interesting but hypothetical

(Edit) 01/10/2016

As with other Reality Films productions I've seen, this is all speculation without anything tangible. Interesting fantasy though.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Alien Crash Retrievals

Unsupported facts

(Edit) 20/08/2016

This is the 2nd Reality films documentary I've seen. It's a little better than the 1st in terms of graphic animation. Sure it's all covered up by the military; but you'd at least expect firsthand accounts from actual witnesses, chunks of debris & civilian video footage. 2nd hand reports & speculation are not enough.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Philadelphia Experiment

Good update on 1984 version

(Edit) 05/08/2016

3 decades after the 1984 version, Michael Pare reappears, but not as the hero. This time he took a bit part as a middle aged baddie. He could well have resumed the hero role, as the new hero is not young, handsome nor charismatic. The budget is medium, with good computer graphics to compensate for physical effects that would have been beyond any movie budget. In this respect it's better than the 1984 one; also the plot is more twisty, with more character interplay.

Like it or not, it follows the present day Hollywood style of corporate treachery enforced by police violence, which is the reality of this era. The corporate baddies are the best actors, who you will love to hate. All in all it's a decent bit of sci-fi, based on an allegedly true event.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Ancient Aliens: Series 1

Straight & fascinating

(Edit) 05/08/2016

No nonsense factual documentary, with all the practical on-location & graphic content you expect from The History Channel. It makes no assertions, but the facts & demonstrations leave you to decide. This is not sci-fi, but actual proof, short of finding a flying saucer. Highly fascinating.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Philadelphia Experiment Revealed: Final Countdown to Disclosure from the Area 51 Archives

Open University lecture

(Edit) 26/07/2016

Don't expect working demos, 3D animation or film footage of events. This is a very dreary blackboard lecture set in the style of the old Open University progs shown at 3am, after the national anthem & the screaming white dot on the old box TV. Although labelled as 2012, the verbal references indicate it was fillmed in the 90's. Some fat dude gives enormously long & boring maths lectures, writing equations without explaining their practical significance. There's also explanation of circuit diagrams of obsolete radio technology; maybe some old radio ham somewhere understands it ?

The video quality is like a 4th generation videotape copy. Personally I've watched better trade test transmissions.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Aliens and Pyramids: Forbidden Knowledge

Full on informative

(Edit) 23/07/2016

Highly fascinating to anyone with an inquiring mind, the world's pyramids are presented here in a guided tour with speculation as to their use & who built them, combined with full on factual info, to enable you to decide for yourself. Despite the amount of facts, it's pretty easy going. After seeing this, you will no longer believe that they are just giant tombs built by labour alone.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Neerja

Epic!!

(Edit) 23/07/2016

The first plus point is that this actually happened. She had everything to live for: looks, youth, career, supportive family. She was also a part time model & I'd say prettier than the actress who plays her. Shot in very lively & glamorous style, she comes across larger than life. Superb acting all round, especially the psychotic terrorist who acted the role with venom.

A pretty girl with the humility & compassion to compromise her own life for others ? This is a true female role model who put her vanity aside to make a difference. Sure you know how it ends, but enjoy the roller-coaster ride.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Quigley Down Under

Larger than life

(Edit) 12/07/2016

This is a lot more than a Western. For a start it's set in the scenic arid Australian outback, where the hero is a stranger to the entire continent. Then it's not just pistol slinging, as he does most of his shooting tactically with a sniper rifle, to great effect. It's actually very charmingly lighthearted, with a little reluctant romance & the larger than life personas of legendary actors like Alan Rickman. It's tough & gritty, with heart-warming humour to suit all. Rickman camps it up as the sarcastic, 'gentlemanly' baddie. Selleck plays the cool, self assured, amicable hero. Laura San Giacomo is great as the goofy, madcap heroin. Capped off by the tremendous music score of Basil Poledouris.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Punisher

Dark, dingy & psychedelic

(Edit) 11/07/2016

Dolph in his grouchily charismatic prime. His lazy, lumbering karate combined with the dark & dingy but colourful underground locations makes for a psychedelic experience; perfect to chill with a big glass of red wine & disconnect from the world for an evening. It's a predictable humourless revenge flick with hate-able baddies & macho dialogue. Don't think too much about how he lives in a diseased sewer, or where he gets his petrol, bullets, food, designer haircut & muscles. Just give your brain a rest & enjoy.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Bajrangi Bhaijaan

Salman finally matures ?

(Edit) 06/02/2016

This is what we've been waiting for: Salman Khan acting his age in a realistic & heart-warming tale with strong emotion. It also serves great purpose, to trivialize the constant hatred between India & Pakistan, who are the same people, with the same language, separated only by a subjective wall of religion. It's not just about a little girl, it's about 2 nations.

His tight t-shirt wearing, muscle flexing action is kept minimal, giving a rare glimpse of his acting skill. The rural mountain scenery is amazing, in pristine dvd quality.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Nehlle Pe Dehlla

A little fun in the sun

(Edit) 27/01/2016

Not hilarious, but definitely goofy caper with plenty of sunny scenes of beaches & hotels. Don't know how they can be so cool yet stupid.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Line of Control: Kargil

Rigid

(Edit) 24/01/2016

There is no emotion in this film. They are all duty-bound robots ready to die for their leader & that is the be all & end all of it.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Kick

Cheesy comic action

(Edit) 12/01/2016

An Indian copy of Tom Cruise / James Bond, flexing biceps while hurling bad guys through windows... all in the name of children's charity. Eye candy courtesy Jaqueline Fernandez. Salman's had his quarter century of limelight, but should retire gracefully.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Krazzy 4

Krazzy 4 making such dross

(Edit) 31/12/2015

Bollywood churns out lots of these pointless movies, with a lot of fuss conveying nothing. It's not funny, nor entertaining in any other way.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Genghis Khan: Warrior King

Bleak violence

(Edit) 01/01/2016

Don't bother to watch it for emotional depth. It's just bare violence on a cold, barren landscape, shot in 1970's documentary style. The subtitles are also tedious.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.
12345

Help & support

Find answers to frequently asked questions and contact us should you need to

How It Works

See prices and levels and find out how Cinema Paradiso service works

Friends for Films

Invite your friends to join and get free subscription each month