Film Reviews by CSF

Welcome to CSF's film reviews page. CSF has written 42 reviews and rated 39 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Animals

Life without aim

(Edit) 17/02/2021

So many good films about this topic! One of the best one would be 'Rebel Without a Cause'. But the youth of the 50's has a sense of rebellion, changes, looking for answers. This film, sadly reflects an aimless generation because peace and abundance were arranged for them. Where does their vaccum come from? How long will it take to fill it. Who will

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

A Man for All Seasons

Nearly perfect

(Edit) 02/02/2021

I know it focuses on Thomas More but it doest's show enough of Anne Boleyn's thoughts and reaction concerning the attitude of More.

Apart from that everything is great: script, actors, decors... And it doesn's date!

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Pavarotti

Not enough

(Edit) 02/02/2021

I gave 4 stars instead of 5 because it was too short and not detailed enough for me. Of course this film is a must and I thoroughly agree with the comments of all those who gave 5 stars.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Wonder Wheel

Another Charlie Chaplin

(Edit) 21/01/2021

I am always surprised when Woody Allen writes a drama. I'm surprised because usually Allen is famous for his comedies. The script, the characters, the actors are excellent because authentic. We are entertained as we are learning about life. I find it disgraceful that his films have a very limited distribution because of a woman's diffamation. It has been prooved but not on the first page of the papers.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

That Obscure Object of Desire

Ageless film

(Edit) 08/01/2021

I dare not to criticize Bunnuel. He is one of the cinema genius and has an incredible knowledge of the human's dark corners. I saw all his films in France, when I was 18 because he was a 'must' in France. It took me 20 years to understand and appreciate them. It was a big shock in film making. That's what I call breaking ground. It took me even longer to understand Belle de Jour but I've never forgotten it.

I was a little disturbed to watch 2 different actresses for the same part. I can't make up my mind whether it was an excellent idea to show the two sides of the woman or it was not necessary and rather artificial.

My favourite film is The Discreet Charm of the Bourgoisy. So clever!

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Separate Tables

A pleasant surprise

(Edit) 20/10/2020

This film is like when you find a gem in a bric-a-brac. I wanted to see this film because I love Terence Rattigan and Burt Lancaster and my family was fond of Rita Hayworth. All of them in the same film! Not disappointed at all. They were the actors my parents were always praising. Their playing was not dated, I would say 'vintage' maybe. The story is a well written classic drama. Only I would have wished a more elaborated ending.

On the other hand some aspect of the story has become a very modern issue! The idea of sexual harassment in the 50's is coming back today with the same people's reaction.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Inferno

A reference documentary

(Edit) 09/09/2020

This is a documentary for the fan of the cinema and also the professionals. It is well made but a bit longish and repetitive.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Parasite

Deserves all its rewards

(Edit) 07/08/2020

Soooo original, soooo exciting, sooooo intelligent, sooooo imaginative, sooooo new. I didn't expect this film to be so good.

A family of 'worms' find an apple to live in. The apple is too good, they are not alone so the comedy becomes a drama and...more.

The film is not only very entertaining but also trigerring lots of question and thoughts. Go with friends and then you would have enough to feed your conversation for 10 hours. I can't say any more without spoiling the film, there is a surprise every ten minutes and it is credible, very credible.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Red Sparrow

Did anyone understand it?

(Edit) 14/07/2020

I am asking those who saw the film to explain it to me. It is so complicated that I kept watching it to see if I am going to understand what's going on. Still didn't get it. I don't think I'll spoil it if I say a couple of things, it won't make any difference. We don't know if she breaks a leg by accident or crime. We don't know why her uncle behaves like that. The violence and sex are gratuitous. And, above all, what on earth great actors like Charlotte Rampling, Jeremy Iron and Matthias Schoenaerts are doing in here? What a waste of talents! And I am so frustrated!

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Anne of the Thousand Days

Authentic

(Edit) 02/07/2020

When actors are that good, the film won't date. I read a lot about Henry VIII and Richard Burton IS Henry VIII. Of course I can say the same about Genevieve Bujold. Not to be missed.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Reinventing Marvin

How to succeed with no chance

(Edit) 22/06/2020

Marvin has everything to fail his life and very little expectations. His childhood drives him to suffering and lack of understanding. It would lead him to a life of crime. And yet, he manages to 'think', to endure and to resist. By listening and using the best of the people he met, he finds the right path. A magnificent story, so well written and so well filmed.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Judy

Renee Z outstanding

(Edit) 27/05/2020

I loved the film. I was disappointed that it was just a side of Judy's life, I would have liked more. The film is realistic, emotional, intriguing. It makes you wish you would talk for Judy because she was often wrong but was it her fault? Well filmed, well directed, everything was perfect.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Ad Astra

Pathetic imitation

(Edit) 11/05/2020

This film is a pathetic imitation of 'Gravity'. How can these people found money and producers to make such a useless film? The story could be told in two lines or 2 minutes. So most scenes of the film are padding. That poor Brad Pitt tries in vain, to say an empty text despite his air of profound philosophy.

As for the special effects, they are, at least, 20 years old and so repetitive. Pity I can't choose minus 3 stars.

I feel like crying when I think of two scripts I recently read and, because the writers don't know anybody, those brilliant scripts will probably stay in a drawer. The funeral of a talent is the most painful non event in Art.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

In Safe Hands

Knowledge and compassion

(Edit) 10/03/2020

In this film we learn very interesting info, we are very entertained and we can actually see what Compassion mean. We also can see human error at work. That what I expect from most films: entertainment and information.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Wonder Woman

A Harmless antidepressant drug

(Edit) 10/03/2020

I very much like the film. Quite original. The problem is that it has many references to ancient and modern History. And who wants to watch this type of film if one has that knowledge? Or if one hasn't got a clue about History? So many young generations never heard of Ancient Greek history and not even of WW1! It is not their fault if they were not taught about it since History is not compulsory in England.

Even if the story is childish, there is a lot of Psychology and even Philosophy for the youngsters. After all, it is a tale where the magic help the desperate ones to smile and relieves their frustration. For once there is also some kind of compassion for those poor Germans who have been the badies for decades.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.
123