Film Reviews by RP

Welcome to RP's film reviews page. RP has written 40 reviews and rated 1003 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Star Trek: Short Treks

Shorts worth a longer look

(Edit) 11/01/2021

Based around the Star Trek Discovery period although not exclusively. These short episodes cover everything from the birth of the Tribbles to the day Spock first arrived on The Enterprise. Mainly live action but with a few animated episodes as well. The popular Star Trek franchise is long overdue some snack size episodes to enjoy. Some work better than others but there isn't a wasted episode as such. Extras on nearly all episodes give a nice background to the making. Not necessary to be a fan as all of the episodes can stand by themselves But it helps the enjoyment if you know the background. Enjoyable addition to the World of Star Trek.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Blacklist: Series 7

More intrigue and double dealing.

(Edit) 05/12/2020

This season starts and finishes with more intrigue and more doubt and more double dealing than most series pack into several years. For the first time we see Raymond less secure than he has been with less trust for those around him. With the loss of a favourite character last season, this season introduces a new replacement that slips in nicely. More back story to investigate in the future no doubt.

A baddie that may not be a baddie but is too easily able to infiltrate into the lives of our hero does feel a needless plot weakness but soon the show returns to galloping ahead. The established cast and characters are now strong enough to be entertaining even with plot weakness.

The season ends with an episode that was put together despite the nightmare of the Covid pandemic stopping production. The surreal nature of the episode and the additional computer animated scenes actually work well enough. The cast and crew bookend the episode to remind us what a weird World we live in beyond the intrigue of The Blacklist.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Fallen Idol

Fallen Innocence.

(Edit) 22/11/2020

Ralph Richardson is perfect as the Butler to a French Diplomat. The Butler and his wife keep the embassy house going and clean and tidy The Diplomats young son with little to do but keep little creepy crawlies as friends and pets, finds a friendship with the only adult that will give him the time of day. But the wife has little time for mess or the young boys pets. She seems to have little time for her husband either.

With the Diplomat away, the house relaxes. But while the boy wants to play, the Butler has formed a relationship with a young secretary. After a shocking accident the boy is torn between what he thought he saw and his friendship with the Butler.

A satisfying film with lots of actors popping up who are well recognised from old British films. Sonia Dresdel, who plays the wife, may occasionally break into being a pantomime villain but She does it well enough and all the cast make this a perfect Sunday afternoon type watch. The sort of film British studios once did so well. Very glad to see this again and still a great film.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Assistant

The reality of hope.

(Edit) 09/11/2020

Your parents are proud of you. You worked hard at school. Now you have the job that you hope will lead you onto reaching your ambition. But you have to put up with a few setbacks along the way. Working long hours,trivial paper work, mind numbing monotony. But this job will lead somewhere. Then you have to clear up the bosses office. The jewelry off the floor, the odd stains on the couch. But this job will lead somewhere. Then a new young assistant, pretty and naive, an ex waitress gets an assistants job. 'The Assistant' does its best to wring any hope out of young ambition. Complain and it is you writing an apology. Every one knows what is going on and there is plenty of gossip. However it doesn't do to complain. After all you'll be safe. 'You are not his type'. The job will lead somewhere?

I understand that this film isn't to everybody's taste. Nothing major happens and the story is a familiar one. But it is well done and the frustration of The Assistant is well realised. A million miles between the hope and the reality. Just like most peoples lives.

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Pennyworth: Series 1

Worth Every Penny

(Edit) 31/10/2020

Original and well crafted prequel series. In a World where England is in the midst of Political upheaval and criminal gangs. Albert Pennyworth in torn between small time crime, marriage, a past life in the army that comes back to haunt him and outside influences in the political and royal confusion. Racing along between action and sadness all the many characters are memorable. One doesn't even need to know the backstory of what is to come in the future of Albert Pennyworth to enjoy the series. But if you are only too aware of what becomes of Albert, the series adds to the enjoyment. Cracking atmospheric series that hopefully will continue in season two to live up to this seasons promise.

2 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Caprica: Series 1: Part 2

Prequel's Premature Demise

(Edit) 17/10/2020

Shame that the powers that be decided to pull this Battlestar Gallactica prequel after just one season. We had Mafia type rival families, religious battles for total domination and what would have been a nice start as we saw the birth of the first skin job. But sadly ratings eventually defeated the series. I suppose it did become a little ponderous at times and too slow for those expecting battles and big stage space opera. But I enjoyed it and at the end of the series there is a glimpse into what might have been had we been allowed to continue the journey. Well worth a watch in the expectation that this is a different animal and telling a different story than its famous long running older sibling. Or should that be more famous child? But not to be and if only for curiosity, now worth a look. So say we all.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Ready or Not

Annoyingly Entertaining.

(Edit) 20/09/2020

One of those films I hesitated to put on my long list of DVDs. I mean it is a comedy horror thriller. They never work that well. But in the end when you snort at Melanie Scrofano's character every time she is on screen and have to look away when Samara Weaving's character is climbing up a ladder and there is a close up of a nail at the top. Well it actually works well if you know what you are getting into. It is fun and silly and entertaining. It shouldn't work but it does. It is just annoyingly entertaining.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Night of the Generals

Generally a Great Night

(Edit) 02/08/2020

Hadn't seen this film for some time and was delighted to catch up with it again. If anything Night of The Generals is even better than I remember. With so much acting talent on show it is a great reminder how a fairly standard plot can be magnified into something special. Peter O' Toole brought his unique style playing one of the Generals suspected of being a killer. In a War that is brutal and has death as a badge of honour, who cares if a prostitute is brutally murdered? Omar Sharif does and despite the mayhem of War is determined to find the killer.

The side plot of the attempted killing of Hitler adds to the confusion with Donald Pleasence, Charles Gray and Tom Courtenay adding to the acting class on show. A great film and a delight to see it again.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Sharp Objects: Series 1

Enjoyably Sharp Payoff

(Edit) 29/06/2020

Multi layered plot and acting make this an entertaining series. It may be worth having the subtitles on as the deep Southern Drawl takes away from some of the finer points. Make sure you watch to the very end as well. If you can enjoy the long car driving sequences and persevere through the nothing much happens until it does bits. Then it really is worth the effort. Disturbing and enjoyably sharp.

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Zombieland: Double Tap

Light hearted Zombie slaughter

(Edit) 20/06/2020

A fun followup to the first film ten years ago. I am not quite sure why some found it not as successful and even tired. But I found it funny and entertaining and the new characters added to the enjoyment. Zombies have been done to death, but that doesn't mean the return of the original cast and new additions didn't make for a romp worth seeing. Zombies being slaughtered while the characters battle with their own insecurity was always fun. It was never supposed to be more than the sum of its parts and it all adds up to a light 90 minutes of light hearted slaughter.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Jesus Christ Superstar: Live in Concert

Jesus Christ Superstar.

(Edit) 07/06/2020

I remember first hearing the original London Theatre recording when I was still at school. My Sister had bought the record and as all annoying little brothers do I made her life miserable by playing and replaying it. Since then there have been many casts and many interpretations and many different styles and singers of the powerful songs. Some more successful than others. But this live version, all the years after the original, actually works very well. John Legend makes a surprisingly good and vulnerable Jesus. Sara Bareilles a more comforting Mary, busy going around trying to make everybody happy. The hardest part of Judas played by Brandon Victor Dixon is delivered with power and conviction. All in all I was transported back to the first time I heard the music. Well worth a watch if one is a fan of the music.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Once Upon a Time in Hollywood

A salute to a possible Hollywood era

(Edit) 23/05/2020

If you love films about the film World. Especially one that carries the atmosphere of an era so well. If you don't mind the mixture of total fiction surrounding a true event. Then frankly this film is pure delight. It is set around the time and place of the Manson Murders. I read about how people were shocked and upset by the violence of the fictional ending. All I can say is that the reality was far more horrific than the typical Tarantino cartoon violence. But the acting and the struggle of a one time lead actor in a top tv western and his ever present stunt man turned assistant is well realised. If you remember the old tv of Branded and Gunsmoke and Land Of The Giants etc. Then the movie will have you remembering the era with delight. Just a delightful nostalgic imagining of an time and place and events that never happened in the way portrayed but how we wish they did.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Endless Night

Believable atmospheric thriller from the 70s.

(Edit) 24/04/2020

Not often that a film one saw back when it was released in the early 70s still manages to engage. It could have been just another thriller that is based on an Agatha Christie story. Easily forgettable and quickly dismissed. However even after all this time Endless Night still manages to hold the atmosphere with some lovely casting and acting. The twist in the tale, the change of direction. All are well done and delightfully joined together. The elfin Hayley Mills was never lovelier. Britt Ekland was never so believable. A lovely little thriller that will draw you in. Delighted to see it again after all this time.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Elementary: Series 7

The final deduction

(Edit) 27/01/2020

Although I am really sorry to see the end of the series. It is probably fair to say it could have ended a season before. This final season was really a chance to say goodbye to some of the characters from the previous six seasons. All of whom, even if they were only there as a baddie for one episode, are very memorable. There is a new force for evil in this shortened final season. One that has money and backing and power. Surely a match for Holmes and Watson? There is a tragic end for somebody and a few needlessly written possible ends for others. But hurriedly they are explained and by the end we are left with the feeling the writers were split between happy and sad denouements So goodbye then to one of the most entertaining detective series around. Far more relatable and fun than the BBC version of Sherlock Holmes, although other will disagree. I for one will miss male and female lead characters managing to be friends without any needless romantic attachments. Both being as important as the other.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Twin Peaks: A Limited Event Series

Looking a little Peaky

(Edit) 22/11/2019

If you are old enough to remember the First series when it was shown. The odd originality, the continual mystery and the who killed Laura Palmer questions, made the series a must see. The second series started to unravel and seemed to lose much of the originality. It became an interesting yet ultimately flawed bit of storytelling. Stunning to a few and too bizarre to others. This third new series takes place many years later and again has some wonderful moments and some bizarre ones. But ultimately it feels like a good idea that just runs out of steam. Some episodes make you question the chair you are sitting in. A comfy cushion would come in handy. While others move along the legend and story nicely. A mixture of nostalgia and confusion and moments that will make you happy you bothered while others will make you ponder your sanity. Watch the original series, watch the film and then watch this. Some questions will be connected and make sense. Much of it will not. You will have to be a fan to get through it with a smile and a knowing nod. I was pleased I saw it but have decided not to take the exam if there is one. I just feel a little too peaky to turn up.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.
123

Help & support

Find answers to frequently asked questions and contact us should you need to

How It Works

See prices and levels and find out how Cinema Paradiso service works

Friends for Films

Invite your friends to join and get free subscription each month