Film Reviews by None

Welcome to None's film reviews page. None has written 10 reviews and rated 524 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Black Cat, White Cat

a very "happy" film

(Edit) 13/01/2007

The film is very energetic and funny and full of a zest for life, and just plain mad at times. Yet you still care for the characters, and the story, in all the chaos, does have a direction to it - the director pulls it off brilliantly.

I very much enjoyed it and it also left me in a good mood for the day

3 out of 3 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Aeon Flux: The Complete Series

disjointed, superficial and, in the end, dull

(Edit) 13/01/2007

I don't get all the good reviews i have been seeing around for this.

I must not be the target audience - maybe if you have not been exposed to much good science fiction, this story might seem clever, and the holes in the plot might seem make some people believe "it's too clever for me, I am missing something" when actually the creators were simply lazy, they just wanted to do all those "edgy" scenes and clever dialogues and only needed a veneer of a story to tie it all in.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Infernal Affairs 2

Very enjoyable and clever

(Edit) 13/01/2007

I really liked the first one, and this one is as clever, although maybe not quite as gripping emotionally.

This story overlaps with turn of the century Hong Kong history and the changes with the handover as well as the internationalisation of the networks (both police and mob) with the changes. This added "historical" connection really works in the film, it makes it more immersive and believable.

Apart from that it is a bit "more of the same" except the lines are even more blurry between law and crime.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Safe Conduct

a different view on the occupation

(Edit) 13/01/2007

I thought that was a well acted and quite ambiguous film on people trying to continue their lives and continue their job (making films) while not compromising too much.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Chorus

luminous film

(Edit) 13/01/2007

lovely film, excellent acting including by the children and teens. The story is “teacher changes pupils’ life”, a classic theme, but the whole film is quite subtle and understated and so enjoyable. The music can only be described as luminous. I enjoyed it

4 out of 4 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

No Man's Land

recommended

(Edit) 13/01/2007

Manages to be both profoundly “human” and terribly cynical at the same time.

An incredible story, told with humour but very dark in the end. The actors were extremely believable, it did suck me in.

Some incredible lines… like this bosnian soldier in a sad trench, reading the paper and going “what a terrible mess they're in, in Rwanda!”

4 out of 4 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Brotherhood

a great war movie

(Edit) 13/01/2007

Not knowing much about the Korean war I found it very good, as it seemed to show the chaos and absurdity of war, and a lot of incompetence and malice on all sides. I totally got immersed in it, the supension of disbelief held through which is quite rare for me.

2 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Spring, Summer, Autumn, Winter and Spring

slow, poetic and melancholic

(Edit) 13/01/2007

hard to describe. It is poetic, and sad, and full of morals about detachment and such things. Had great reviews and I did like it, but i would not recommend it to everyone, as it is slow going.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Everything Is Illuminated

surreal

(Edit) 13/01/2007

I loved this one. It had the kind of surreal-humoristic tone I love (which you find in lots of film I like from Drive to Big Fish to Black Cat/White Cat...) in spite of tackling a very sensitive subject… and doing it with great care. It seems the book is even more surreal and irreverant, I will have to dig it up.

2 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Infernal Affairs 3

for fans of the first two only

(Edit) 13/01/2007

One for the fans, as it just expects you to remember everything. It also “closes” some of the threads left open from IA 1 so it's worth seeing just for that.

But I was disappointed, it is a bit disjointed and confused - although some of the confusion is on purpose so you don't know who will be the good guy in the end.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.