Film Reviews by SB

Welcome to SB's film reviews page. SB has written 9 reviews and rated 9 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Wild Pear Tree

Inspired

(Edit) 01/10/2020

Film making at its best, I'm so inspired I have put every Nuri Bilge Ceylan on my Paradiso list and cant wait to see more !

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Street

Cusp of change !

(Edit) 04/08/2020

Excellent film, good to see a part of London heard about never visited at the cusp of change ! The Street was careful not to over sentimentalise the old days, although it was easy to see the old timers were sad seeing the 'yuppies' drinking cappuccino on the pavement and drinking Craft Beer !! LDN has always re-invented itself and Hoxton at this time is lucky to bring a new generation to the area, these developments are slow and The Street has captured a gentle balance so we can see the both worlds. I believe these 'yuppies' appreciate the old Hoxton as a cool and interesting vibe, Its the developers are the ones that have to be watched, once they see the dollar signs they don't care what they bulldoze. The locals and the council have to make sure it's not flattened because its the developers that don't care. This film is wonderful being able to capture The Street and all its inhabitants with the reaction to Grenville Tower, bringing in to focus the sad sad death of the activist artist and carer Khadija Saye who died in the fire the other side of the city.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Unrelated

Enchanting graceful filmaking

(Edit) 26/02/2020

I loved this film from the start, the gentle unspoken sexual chemistry; the feeling of in the moment, the camera there but not there. I became in the kitchen in the pool in that summer with these people; the understated watchful eye of Joanna Hogg with a sudden close up, a field of broken dried crops or a the wind rustling in the trees. This film has an attention to detail like life our own lives; not the overworked over preened eye of a highly trained designer but simply the casual everyday unmade bed messiness we all inhabit with brave revealing close up shots of the characters.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Ray and Liz

Impressively Grim

(Edit) 12/11/2019

Impressively grim and moving without being politically charged. The characters neither lovable or inspiring, yet I felt a deep affection, a need to protect. The film wasn't sentimental in any way. The still lingering shots reminded me of Fassbinder at his finest and the stillness of the acting or none acting up there with the finest of this genre of film making I have ever watched. Best film I have had so far from Cinema Paradiso.

4 out of 4 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Detroit

Tough viewing

(Edit) 02/05/2018

Hard to watch but worth it in every way. The anger is visceral and not for the faint hearted, I stuck it through to the end and felt roughed up by the journey but the movie has stayed with me as do all Bigelow movies.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Beguiled

Disappointing

(Edit) 25/04/2018

I had been looking forward to this film, how could it be so unsexy with Colin Farrell in this. Formula plot formula acting with flawed editing.

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Lawrence of Arabia

A Visionary masterpeice

(Edit) 04/01/2018

I saw this film in the 60's but too young to appreciate the magnificence.

This time around I found the film breathtaking on my flat screen, its scale colour and visionary composition. The music that urged the pace unlike blockbuster music we have today. Every word clear as a bell and the constant shifting of scale giving us a true feeling of the colossal size of a desert. Camels camels oh the camels, the elegance of these strange creatures, must have had thousands of them so medieval when they charge through the desert bearing the standard flags and this is where part 1 ended.

Thats just the film the acting has easily and handsomely stood the test of time, P o' Toole has that timeless quality, I can see him in ANY of the films made today & cant wait for part 2 and would have asked for them both together, if I had noticed the film was split in to 2 halves.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Lady Macbeth

Lady Macbeth

(Edit) 04/10/2017

Riveting from begining to end a 5 star movie with brilliant lighting and location, did not have to suspend my disbelief + Florence Pugh an actor to be looking out for in the future.

2 out of 3 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

I Saw the Light

I saw the Light

(Edit) 26/09/2017

I give this 3 stars, Being both a Hiddleston and Hank Williams fan, I hoped for more, but it has the usual quality of a drama doc, with glossy lighting glossy locations and glossy make up. Not an inch of dirt to be seen, but I'm glad to have had the chance to view. My partner is hard of hearing and we looked for subtitles, out of interest for my future viewing, do DVD's usually come without subtitles unless of course its world Cinema ? With thanks Sheila b

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.