Film Reviews by HM

Welcome to HM's film reviews page. HM has written 120 reviews and rated 127 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Villain

Standard gangster film

(Edit) 14/09/2020

Out of prison after a 10 year stretch our anti-hero finds his brother in a tangled web of debt putting their family pub in danger of going out of business. So, our boy takes on local hoodlums. An attempt is made to show him as a potential good family man having turned over a new leaf. Needless to say it all goes wrong. A well trodden plot path doesn't offer anything new, but it is a fairly entertaining film with a quick pace, slowing occasionally for 'family moments'.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Tommy

Ground breaking

(Edit) 07/09/2020

Most rock/pop movies have lame scripts and drop the band into a commercial vehicle to let us gawp at the good looking twerps therein. This however is a creative masterpiece that is ground breaking in itself and if anything, enhances the ground breaking rock opera Tommy. Ken Russell was born to team up with a rock band.

The songs are a tower block above the weak La La Land and other unmemorable musicals of late, let alone their delivery (Let Cats be a lesson to you!). Each segment of the movie is a foretaste of music videos to come. Tommy is the first complete 'concept album' as Sgt Pepper was a couple of tracks that alluded to that 'concept' then was a collection of great songs.

The sound quality is worthy of a home cinema 5.1 outing so go for it. A unique slice of rock movie brilliance.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Hotel Mumbai

A hard watch you can't stop watching

(Edit) 07/09/2020

The terrible true story of a terrorist attack on a hotel in India. Characters are brought alive to the viewer but suffer slaughter and terror. Hard to watch as it feels like walking amongst the wounded and dead at the scene of a bombing. You can't stay aloof as a mere spectator, it feels as if you are there and may have sickened some viewers. The cold blooded terrorists demonstrate a total commitment to their religion and cause, taking instructions from a faceless and ruthless leader. All are targeted, men, women, children and the old. No mercy for us infidels.

I was riveted to the screen and felt as though I had been through an emotional wringer! Tough entertainment, but brilliantly done.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Peanut Butter Falcon

Heart warming

(Edit) 17/08/2020

Unusual to cast a Downs Syndrome person in a movie but he is one of two central characters, so well done! A loner down and out small time thief needs to leave town to escape pursuing locals offended by his behaviour and collides with a Downs Syndrome boy who has escaped from an inappropriate institutional Incarceration. Queue comedy on the road theme. Along the way our thief meets girl and his perspective on life is given a chance to change, will he take it?

The boy has an ambition to meet a hero he watches on old videos. That will be journeys end or new beginnings? Watch and find out! An entertaining movie, heart warming and kind of informative about the syndrome and its victim.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Color Out of Space

Scary as hell!

(Edit) 12/08/2020

SF horror. A family living on an Alpaca farm find a meteor on their fields. Odd things start to happen. Cage is his usual self at full blast. A creepy and at times sick horror movie. One for the shock fans. I certainly found it gripping even though I am not a horror genre fan.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Emma

Pretty and witty

(Edit) 28/07/2020

The book need not concern viewers. The film holds up in its own right. An intelligent study of mixed messages, love confusion set against a period background of social rules that the story gently sends up. Performances are excellent and one stand out aspect is the costumery. Women will particularly enjoy the clothes, Emma herself is in a new outfit each scene and the effect is very attractive and pretty as is Anya Taylor-Joy in the title role. Also, watch out for Letty Thomas and Miranda Hart in fine supporting roles which in some ways are more demanding than the lead character.

Enjoyed this.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Godzilla: King of the Monsters

Kids stuff

(Edit) 28/07/2020

Well it kicks off with a monster rampage and doesn't let up. A daft threadbare plot with the usual Godzilla is out for the count; nope he is up and running again stuff. It hardly troubles the brain cells so it needs a home cinema sound system to do the action justice; bang crash, roar and squeal.

As with most blockbuster special effects based franchises, the charm wears off and the plots get dafter, so you are left with a visual spectacle serving up more of the same. Poor movie.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Doctor Sleep

King business as usual

(Edit) 21/07/2020

Themes we have become accustomed to from this Steven King story; starts off with kids being taken (IT) then a bunch of vampire like creatures (Salem's lot) and then the tenuous link to the Shining. A long film with not much to say really. Never becomes clear what the shining is or its power source, but baddies eyes light up now and again.

The heroine is all powerful one minute then needs protecting the next from someone she beat up earlier. The final showdown is a let down as it explains nothing and introduces characters I don't recall from the Shining. Where were they when Jack Nicholson needed them?

Some shock moments and violence towards children which is a cheap horror shot. All in all a bit disappointing, although reasonably entertaining.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Jumanji: The Next Level

Usual follow up problem

(Edit) 21/07/2020

The first movie (in this remake series) had the advantage of explaining what the Jumanji game is all about and so hooked the audience straight away. The way the story unfolded as a video game was interesting plus comedy and action. This follow up has the comedy and action but has to keep that up from minute one with some repetition of movie one, after all we know how the game works; players having three lives etc. Because of this it isn't as impactful. Having said that, it is funny and the action sequences are exciting, although the cliff hanging CGI stuff is straight from the land of S. Spielburg.

So, entertaining, funny with decent action and lovable characters. It won't disappoint.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Jurassic World: Fallen Kingdom

Formulaic

(Edit) 04/07/2020

Silly plot, just a chase film but chopped into a few parts. This franchise has gone the way of Star Wars; brainless action, daft story and contrived set pieces straight out of the cliché book. The popcorn will help you digest this 'one movie too many' in the series.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Ready or Not

Good fun horror

(Edit) 04/07/2020

Comedy plot, but thrilling and a none stop chase movie. Good to look at, pointless swearing that didn't fit the characters, but good characters none the less. It is a thriller, bloodbath and a dash of humour, tongue in cheek kind of thing. Very entertaining and works across horror/thriller genres in Zombieland mode. Very entertaining, enjoyed it; great B movie stuff.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Monos

Poor effort

(Edit) 20/06/2020

Without the benefit of a great novel like Lord of The Flies, this is an Art House movie for people who like to puzzle what the hell is going on? A bunch of teens with guns indulging in petulant playground frolics. No budget, probably improvised and made up as the Director felt in the mood. Be warned Mark Kermode recommended this film. He is known for his occasional duping of the public by recommending a film he thinks is 'interesting' and a bit different. But then he recommended the usual Marvel mashup Black Panther. which was just another worn out plot super hero movie.

If you want entertainment to be part of your movie experience whilst still be provoked into thought, forget it. This is boring and confused. Up to you but I can only recommend you avoid this dire nonsense.

2 out of 3 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

1917

Gripping and entertaining

(Edit) 20/06/2020

I was with the characters all the way as the journey unfolds. There are only so many plots in movie land and the 'journey' is one of them. This journey though isn't one of personal discovery along the way, but of survival. Technically impressive, the simple premise is to get through no mans land to the HQ of a Battalion about to charge into a trap. Keeps you right there as you share the action. Great entertainment.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Zombieland: Double Tap

Another helping!

(Edit) 09/06/2020

The first film set the scene as a humorous take on zombies. It worked. This is in the same vein but taking the fun further. If you liked the first one, this is even better for my money. The pace never lets up and there is a plot, not just a mindless chase. No depth of course, it is played for entertainment value and laughs. I am hard to please on the laughs front but this kept me chuckling and the action scenes are exciting; hard balance to get right as other attempts in the genre tend to overload the gore but this loads up the eye catching nonsense really well. Get popcorn/Jerky and beer then enjoy a good lark of a film.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Mr. Jones

Grim but gripping

(Edit) 09/06/2020

Based on a true story we follow a journalist into Ukraine uncovering Stalin's ruthless disregard for human life as people starve to feed Moscow. Not a revelation in itself but the movie paints a picture of suffering and how the lid was lifted on the propaganda the Soviet Union put out about how wonderful life was under a communist dictatorship.

Not a thriller but a serious study of courage and dedication. A fitting tribute to the type of journalism we all need even now; behind enemy lines and face to face with war zone dangers. I finished the movie with a deep regard for the profession and the dignity of Gareth Jones and his mighty pen.

1 out of 2 members found this review helpful.
12345678

Help & support

Find answers to frequently asked questions and contact us should you need to

How It Works

See prices and levels and find out how Cinema Paradiso service works

Friends for Films

Invite your friends to join and get free subscription each month