Film Reviews by HM

Welcome to HM's film reviews page. HM has written 104 reviews and rated 110 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

A Quiet Place

A decent thriller

(Edit) 25/03/2019

Not as silly as the by now typical Marvel/DC CGi Mash-ups. A clever premise for a thriller. Once absorbed into the scenario of a defeated humanity stalked by lightning quick monsters, it drew me in to its fast moving action story. The female lead is pregnant, which happens and is the future for the human race; has to be done. Right from the start a feeling of dread descends as an innocent is devoured. Never sure what the enemy is, our heroes battle to preserve their family. Liked it.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society

Fluffy

(Edit) 25/03/2019

Amusing not quite a rom-com tale set in a post war Channel Ilse. Enjoyable but lacking zest. I didn't really warm to the main characters and the ending was hardly a surprise being a stock in trade. OK but a little hum drum.

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Unbearable Lightness of Being

Hidden meanings

(Edit) 12/03/2019

Two 1960's Prague City people, he a surgeon and she an artist, have a libertarian attitude to life and enjoy an unconditional sexual relationship. Isn't life fun, free and above day to day problems? They both meet people who take a more traditional 'let's get married' attitude to life. Can the sexual relationship survive in the margins of the conventional? The Prague Spring erupts on the streets and the Russians crush it. The two libertarians become 'none people'; can they somehow recreate their freedom to feel good about life regardless of adversity and circumstances now beyond their control; see how it develops. A movie to make you think or just accept it as a romantic adventure, up to you.

Personally I was gripped by the subject matter and felt I understood the underlying philosophical issue. Or maybe I was trying to be too clever for my own good?

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Ant-Man and the Wasp

Good fun part 2

(Edit) 12/03/2019

First movie great rib tickler and this one is in same vein with a better plot! Marvel films have become CGI mash-ups, no real story just none stop action. Frankly I have had enough of them. This however, is done in the almost naive style of 1960s shows like The Avengers or Man From Uncle. Great stuff, popcorn entertainment at its best.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Lady Bird

grabs the heart

(Edit) 26/02/2019

Liked this movie a lot, which surprised me. Ronan is wonderful and the whole cast are convincing. As a 'comedy' it puts laughs second to drama and works wonderfully. Would like more of the same, thoughtful, insightful drama.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Isle of Dogs

Unusual animation film

(Edit) 26/02/2019

A delight; very much a one-off. An interesting story/plot and attractive on the eye. Maybe not enough gormless glitter and daftness for kids but as an adult I loved it. Do we have to have Johansson again? Her voice is drab (listen to her performance as the snake in Jungle Book) surely there are better actresses and voice actors out there (having said that this wasn't a challenge)? The magic is in the skill of the animators and direction; well done all!

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Sicario 2: Soldado

Energetic movie

(Edit) 16/02/2019

OK so some don't think it is as good as the first film. Well, it isn't a copy of the first film so no need to worry, this is a good thriller with plenty of action and entertainment; just take it as it comes and you won't be disappointed. it kept me interested all the way through. Go for it!

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Phantom Thread

50 Shades ball park

(Edit) 16/02/2019

An obsessive male personality (a dress maker to the stars and royalty) recruits a female muse to replace a previous one and relies on his PA who is a mother substitute. He keeps said muse at an emotional platonic distance so he can enjoy companionship but only on his terms. Can she get to him as she loves him dearly etc? Well it took 75 minutes for me to realise that as there are only so many plots in film land, this is actually a version of 50 shades of grey.

Basically the main character is a stereotype of certain homosexual designers of real life to my mind and skilfully played by Lewis. Is he gay? Is he just a psychologically damaged mummy's boy. I found it engaging and fun to find out. Will you? Well if you like psychological dramas you will. Definitely worth a watch.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Jungle

Not sure about this

(Edit) 04/02/2019

A true story with the addition of a Jaguar and a good looking hallucinated girl. My impression about 80% through the movie was that being lost in the jungle is boring frankly. I suppose the real life version was even duller, it is just the fact that you are likely to starve to death; they say you can live in the jungle or travel through it with supplies but not both. My interest in the film waned as it became obvious certain events were inserted to liven it up a bit. Radcliffe is good and nobody can say he doesn't pick scripts that are star vehicles. This film certainly isn't.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Blue Jasmine

Hard work

(Edit) 04/02/2019

My first impression as Jazz Music played in the background was that it didn't fit San Francisco in mood. Blanchett's character seemed straight out of a New York luxury apartment with a billionaire husband. Then we meet her sister (both adopted) who came across as a working class New York Jewish girl. In fact the whole film felt like Allen had cut a big chunk out of New York and popped it in SF. It could be I don't know enough about SF though so don't take my word for it!

Watching Blanchett's character disintegrate scene by scene makes for an excruciating experience. She proceeds to damage the lives of those around her and I found myself asking 'why did Woody make this film'? I didn't feel it told me anything that wasn't obvious. However, I did see it through despite squirming I my seat, largely because of the performances which nailed the emotional tidal wave exceedingly well. Like a heavy emotional drama? This is for you: want an evening of entertainment? This isn't for you.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Darkest Hour

Hot drama

(Edit) 23/01/2019

Well it is a film not a history lesson. The underground scene is pure fiction; as for Marcus.... ha, ha. Got to get a black actor in there somewhere!. But like I say, not a true piece of history. I don't believe the Halifax plot in the background, but I suppose the script reflected the general atmosphere and misgivings about Churchill abundant at the time.

Wonderful performance by Oldman which goes to show how good actors can be when not pretending to fly around in stupid super hero films etc. I was emotionally dragged along as the enormity of what was developing took hold, brought a tear to me eye in fact. The film treated what was a turning point in western history with respect and dignity, despite the obvious nods to the American market. More of this quality please. You don't need CGI to make a cracking film with a great story. Much recommended.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Avengers: Infinity War

Braindead

(Edit) 12/01/2019

Well if you like CGi it is great but if you want something to think about this isn't it. No surprise really, just more same old. Why do good actors do this stuff? They just stand there and say a few dumb lines then CGi takes over. They are all rich so why bother? Presumably it keeps them busy. Lots of flying around and bashing each other as well as they usual herd of creatures attacking our heroes and getting beaten up.

Some scenes are confusing, just action with no substance, making it hard to follow. Characters exceed their powers according to the needs of the script so you never have a grasp of what it takes to kill them. Also, Iron Man's abilities seem to have left science behind and have become 'magic' as equipment appears out of thin air. The baddie's powers also seem to disappear when the script requires it; the whole thing is reduced to nonsense.

Maybe some of these star turns could invest their vast wealth into backing good movies, even super hero stories with a bit more intelligence behind them like Watchmen? Please no more of this rubbish. Too long and I got bored. Won't be watching the next 'final' episode.

1 out of 4 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

All the Money in the World

Revealing

(Edit) 07/01/2019

I didn't know the kidnap was this involved, an eye opener. The story is told in a way that reveals the personality of Getty senior as much as it deals with the kidnapping. I found it absorbing and shocking on a number of levels. It is exiting, emotional and challenging; definitely a thought provoker.

It is a movie for those that like drama and insight into the human condition and what makes a top performer tick as well as the effect such an extreme personality can have on siblings. Superb. Plummer is magnificent and for me, a better bit of casting than Spacey regardless of the circumstances of his sacking.

You may want to watch the Alan Whicker interview on BBC I-player with Getty from 1963 as his poker faced personality is on display for all to see: https://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/p00nw1t5

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

eXistenZ

Cronenberg classic

(Edit) 07/01/2019

How did this one slip under the radar? A movie about an absorbing computer game which is so impactive it is hard tell when you are in it or not, due to its biological AI link to your nervous system and brain. Fascinating idea and also a send up of all those geeks who live for gaming. Get a life? Well in this game your life is in danger!!

Exciting, surprising and a gem from the master of the elevated B movie.

Remember Video Drome, Scanners or maybe They Live? Tremendous entertainment and also nudging you to think about social issues via horror fantasy: brilliant film a must see. Stella cast too.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Tomb Raider

All news to me!

(Edit) 27/12/2018

Haven't played the games or seen Jolie version. So, this is all new to me; I enjoyed it, not least the scenes set in London and the way the character was set up. Basically the whole scenario is a rip-off of the Raiders of the Lost Ark series and plonked into a video game and then coming full circle into a movie.

I suppose the genre is a bit tired now (Raiders was a long time ago), but Alicia puts convincing life into the character so you are rooting for her from the word go. Good entertaining hokum, a popcorn and beers movie. Sound in Atmos on my home theatre was excellent (not got Atmos? Do so!) which enhanced the experience enormously. Looking forward to more Alicia in this role (liked the hint of vulnerability she brought to the part too).

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.
1234567

Help & support

Find answers to frequently asked questions and contact us should you need to

How It Works

See prices and levels and find out how Cinema Paradiso service works

Friends for Films

Invite your friends to join and get free subscription each month