Film Reviews by WH

Welcome to WH's film reviews page. WH has written 17 reviews and rated 19 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Blonde One

PLODDING

(Edit) 09/02/2020

Very slow-lots of pregnant pauses-lots of just stopping and staring. But does cover many issues affecting the LGBT community- bisexual men trying to have the benefits of a gay sex life-whilst at the same time wanting a conventional married life with a wife and children- ignorant homophobic prejudices- passing as straight - etc. So a movie that does give food for thought- and one that addresses what its like to adapt to conventionality when your sexuality points you in a different direction.

The cinematography and direction are good- and altogether a well presented movie.

Its just those slow plodding scenes that let it down!

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Kanarie

Stick with It

(Edit) 14/01/2020

Great gay-themed film- but a tad over-long. A couple of the 'dream' sequences could have been cut. They added nothing to the movie- and in fact could put some folks off. For example the opening ' wedding dress' scene - during which we almost stopped the movie- was pointless. And there were other occasions when we just fast-forwarded through the self-indulgence. As a story of a young gay man in a very conservative and evangelical christian choir- it was great. And the singing and tunes are good too. Well worth sticking with until the very end dedication!

NB. Warning. This movie contains multiple scenes of flashing lights. Its like being strobed!

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Guigo Offline

Waste of a Rental

(Edit) 08/01/2020

Quite honestly- I wouldn't bother! Main feature is just 49 mins long and is basically a story of a young lad who can't get a signal on his mobile phone when his dad and boyfriend take him on a camping trip!

That,s it!

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Fireflies

HOPELESS & HELPLESS IN MEXICO

(Edit) 01/12/2019

Very simple plot- a young Iranian man escapes the homophobia of his birth country to hitch a ride on a cargo ship- ending up in Veracruz..

Desperate to get to Greece or Turkey he hangs around the docks where he encounters various colourful characters- each with their own personal tales of hardship.

This is the basic plot.

The direction is great- and so is the cinematography. The movie passes an enjoyable hour or so- it runs 72 minutes.

And-Hey- there ARE still good times to be had at the Veracruz Carnival!

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Hidden Kisses

A HARD WATCH

(Edit) 27/10/2019

I thought the homophobia from both fellow pupils , teachers and parents was a little overdone. Surely-ALL those people wouldn't have been so blatantly homophobic in real life? Sometimes it was hard to believe the film dates from 2016. I think we have all come a little further along the path of acceptance than this. But still- if the film was intended to make a point about homophobia- then it surely did! I reckon this movie should be compulsory viewing in secondary schools teaching ' sex and relationship' education. It would certainly educate those living in ignorance of what is after all- a fact of life. The performances of the two leading actors were excellent - and being French- I loved the scenery and the depiction of the local way of life. Highly recommended.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

About Us

Mature LGBT Movie

(Edit) 25/06/2018

LGBT ' coming out' movies have progressed mightily from the doom and gloom - 'You'll die in hell' phase. And this movie beautifully illustrates that point.

The two leading actors are brilliant in their portrayal of young people coming to realise their sexuality.

Their parents react exactly how parents of gay offspring should react when their child confirms their sexuality.  No more end of life angst- or hate-fuelled homophobic mob.

Cannot recommend this movie too highly. You will mightily enjoy!

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Boys on Film 19: No Ordinary Boy

Only One Good One

(Edit) 11/08/2019

Only 2 stars because - to save yourself wasting your time- there is only one of these short pics worth watching and that is Jermaine and Elsie. It lasts about 30 minutes.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Boys

GAY-THEMED THRILLER

(Edit) 05/05/2019

Well directed gay-themed thriller. Provencal location adds to the appeal- and the acting is very good. Totally believable storyline that keeps you guessing until the very end. An enjoyable movie

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

M/M

Total Boredom

(Edit) 15/01/2019

There is no plot or story line in this film- its just a series of set scenes that amount to nothing. Basically a complete waste of time that looks like it was made as a vanity project for art house cinemas. If I were you I just wouldn't bother!

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Body Electric

Not Going Anywhere

(Edit) 17/09/2018

Excellent direction and cinematography- but the plot just rambles on and on and eventually gets nowhere- just drops off the end.

Lots of little mini- plot lines that are under-developed don't make up for the absence of any direction in the plotline of this movie.

Yes- its watchable- but don't expect any conclusions or resolutions. It just doesn't go anywhere.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Screwed

Mature LGBT Movie

(Edit) 26/06/2018

LGBT ' coming out' movies have progressed mightily from the doom and gloom - 'You'll die in hell' phase. And this movie beautifully illustrates that point. The two leading actors are brilliant in their portrayal of young people coming to realise their sexuality. Their parents react exactly how parents of gay offspring should react when their child confirms their sexuality. And above all- this movie has a very happy ending! No more end of life angst- or hate-fuelled homophobic mob. Cannot recommend this movie too highly. You will mightily enjoy!

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Boys on Film 17: Love Is the Drug

BoF Comes of Age

(Edit) 01/04/2018

This is an excellent compilation of short gay-interest movies that is well rounded and contains something for everyone.

Without doubt- it is the best Boys on Film I have seen.

There is only one 'weak' selection in my opinion and that is 'Spoilers'. Its a bit pretentious and unbelievable.

Don't write off 'Happy and Gay' either- just because its a cartoon- its a great 'take' on the old black and white Mickey Mouse cartoons of the 20's and 30's - but with a gay slant.

The two selections that really 'stood out' for me were 'Hole' and 'Alex and the Handyman' - both of which were thought provoking.

Overall an excellent and mature selection- with something for everyone.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Beach Rats

Excellent Film with One Major Flaw

(Edit) 18/03/2018

Not wanting to post a ' spoiler' - I am reviewing this title from the perspective of the major part of the movie.

The film is excellent- it is exciting- with a good narrative and first rate acting and direction. I was never bored - and eager to see where the next scene was coming from and what was going to happen. It was utterly realistic and totally believable. I was very sorry when the movie came to an end- and that's the nub of my title!

I won't say more for fear of spoiling it for other renters - but for a very entertaining and enthralling evening of 99% movie enjoyment- this is the one to view! (Shame about the 1%)

0 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Call Me by Your Name

Highly Americanised Art House Movie

(Edit) 11/03/2018

PROS: Great story. Excellent acting. Good direction and interesting scenery.

CONS: Those used to 'art house' presentations will be disappointed. Its what I would call ' Hollywood Arthouse'. All the characters speak with american accents. The lead actor - despite his name- is american. At times it reminded me of a Robin Williams movie set in the USA. Change the location and the names and it could easily have been.

Went on too long. Could easily have shaved 30 minutes off total running time. (over 2 hours)

In summary I would say :- Worth seeing-but don't expect authenticity.

2 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

God's Own Country

HANNAH HAUXWELL MEETS BROKEBACK MOUNTAIN!

(Edit) 11/02/2018

Quite possibly the BEST British film with a gay theme. Its up there alongside Merchant & Ivory's ' Maurice' and Dirk Borardes 1961 groundbreaking 'Victim'. Owing much to Brokeback Mountain- it is a far more realistic representation of a gay man's life- growing up in a close-knit family farm on the North York Morors in the UK. The direction is excellent- as is the cinematography and acting. Really my only criticism would be over the 'deleted scenes'. Personally I don't think any of them need to have been deleted! Highly recommended.

3 out of 3 members found this review helpful.
12

Help & support

Find answers to frequently asked questions and contact us should you need to

How It Works

See prices and levels and find out how Cinema Paradiso service works

Friends for Films

Invite your friends to join and get free subscription each month