Film Reviews by Cato

Welcome to Cato's film reviews page. Cato has written 84 reviews and rated 315 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Memento

A most fascinating piece of cinema

(Edit) 08/03/2019

An incredibly clever film which told the story backwards from its conclusion. I've never come across a film like it. Every quarter of an hour the story went back until at the end we arrive at the reason for the man's behaviour and explains why the main character was in such a state. Highly recommended.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Unzipped

Behind the Scenes with Isaac

(Edit) 22/10/2018

A very interesting look at a subject I know little about, this is a look at Isaac Misrahi as he gets together a collection of some of the best models that the world knows. There is a seemingly tongue in cheek feeling about the whole film which Isaac carries off in an incredibly debonair kind of way. Humorous but also very very serious when it comes to the girls strutting their stuff at the climax. Very enjoyable.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Wag the Dog

Somehow Very Relevant

(Edit) 22/10/2018

How come so many presidents have so much trouble getting elected in the good ole US of A, and why are there so many problematic shenanigans going on? This film attempts to show us, with two of Hollywood's most famous actors trying to get the incumbent leader back in the big seat, although he's been in trouble with a teenage girl. Ring any sort of bells? Anyway Dustin and Robert try to do the dirty work to get the naughty man back in power. This politics seem to be a dirty business eh?

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

A Night in the Life of Jimmy Reardon

An OTT Look at American Youth

(Edit) 22/10/2018

Pretty far fetched, or maybe it isn't, but River Phoenix, looking far younger than his eighteen years, seems to get his way with all the females he meets in this pretty light story which somehow fails to convince.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

My New Gun

Poor Sound

(Edit) 08/10/2018

The film seemed fairly OK but the sound was awful and there were no subtitles to help us to understand what was really going on.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Some Voices

A Very Good Film

(Edit) 08/10/2018

Daniel Craig is very good in this film and David Morrissey backs him up excellently as his brother trying to keep his wayward younger brother under a semblance of control. But it's hard going as this brother tries his best to go off the railway lines in everything he does. The script is very good and the action is chaotic at times. For a film made nearly 20 years ago it's still a good one to watch.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Shockproof / Scandal Sheet

Two in One

(Edit) 01/10/2018

Two super films in this package with Shockproof , directed by the great Douglas Sirk, coming first. The story has the superb Cornel Wilde as a parole officer falling in love with a murderess who is still being followed by her ex boyfriend, and the other film Scandal Sheet gives us a great newspaper story with the main star played by the superb Broderick Crawford. I thought that this was the best film of the two, but to get both films in one package is a real treat.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Melinda and Melinda

Left in the void by this one

(Edit) 01/10/2018

I'm afraid I didn't really fall for this one, finding all the shenanigans of a collection of fairly young and spoilt New Yorkites a bit difficult to work out. But my wife really liked it. 5 stars from her!

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

In the Fog

Great Camerawork

(Edit) 01/10/2018

Like CB, I found this film very dour indeed, but the actual filming was superb. Slow and ponderous action with very little to like in any of the characters or the story.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

L'Avventura

Rather Too Long

(Edit) 14/09/2018

I'd been looking forward to this film for a long time, but in the end I was rather disappointed in it. The start is very good, and for half an hour you think it's going to be a great film. The photography is superb, and the sea and the stones of the Aeolian Islands are wonderfully filmed. It's just that the cast in the main are rather lackadaisical and somehow uninteresting. Plus at 142 minutes it's far too long and you feel as though you couldn't care less about the rather boring people on show in the end.

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Best Man

Totally Agree with PE

(Edit) 31/08/2018

Not a lot to add to the preceding review except maybe the plot was rather OTT, although seeing what happened in the last presidential farrago I'm not too sure.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Fantomas

Lots of French Film Here

(Edit) 13/08/2018

I have to admit that I only managed one of the DVDs sent to me, and that was getting on for three hours long. These are historic French films (1913) about a crook, but as he's usually in disguise it's not always possible to follow his nasty doings which gets rather annoying as the films go on. Anyway, if you've got 335 spare minutes you might follow his maleficence right up to the end, where I would imagine he meets his end.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Glass Key

a smack of gangsterism

(Edit) 30/07/2018

Not as good as I expected, in that I was hoping for a little more in the way of acting from Alan Ladd, or perhaps the character he was playing. The part was of a bodyguard to Brian Donleavy, but the reasons for that set up were not really spelt out enough for non political types like me. It all smacked of gangsterism, although I suppose times were rougher then. Anyway, for all the beatings up from the great William Bendix in this his first film, it wasn't a hit for me.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Peacekeeper

Macho Macho Macho and Then Some More

(Edit) 19/07/2018

Not the usual sort of film I watch, but this had an interesting plot about the end of the world, or at least a large part of America, and how one man saves us all from Armageddon. This really is a man's film, one that makes us all think we could do this if we tried (in our dreams), but it's pretty interesting watching cars being driven from roof top to roof top of a city, Dolph Lundgren (is this an anagram of his real name?) plays the hero who saves us all within a few seconds of kissing the angels, and Michael Sarrazin plays the nasty ex soldier with a very large grudge who would like to take us all there in this, his last film. As I said, this is a film for the boys, the hard ones of course. And watch out for Roy Scheider as the president of the USA, very good (but not all that brave).

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Day I Became a Woman

Very Well Put Together

(Edit) 16/07/2018

A very good film about the plight of women in Iran, with three sections showing a young girl in the first, a young woman on a bicycle racing against other women against the wishes of her husband, and in the third part an old woman buying all she can with a large amount of money which she's come by. It's an intriguing film directed by an Iranian woman, Marziyeh Mershkini, who tries to show us the way in which women are treated in this part of the world. Excellent photography.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.
123456

Help & support

Find answers to frequently asked questions and contact us should you need to

How It Works

See prices and levels and find out how Cinema Paradiso service works

Friends for Films

Invite your friends to join and get free subscription each month