Film Reviews by RM

Welcome to RM's film reviews page. RM has written 27 reviews and rated 36 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Bill and Ted Face the Music

A most bodacious and excellent film.

(Edit) 11/03/2021

Totally silly fun, The idea of the guys daughters being so clone like was genius! A totally ludicrous story line that held together well all about misunderstanding and desperate timing, a sure fire recipe for a comedy, it would be impossible to write a full review without spoilers, so just watch it and make your own minds up. PARTY ON DUDE!!!

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Jurassic Thunder

One star is just too generous

(Edit) 30/12/2020

My son was given this for Christmas, in case you are in any doubt no it's not "that" Jurassic franchise. Bonkers story line, useless "acting" and even worse "special" effects. Give this one a wide birth, say 200 miles. So bad it's only available on DVD!

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Lady and the Tramp

Dog loved it

(Edit) 26/12/2020

Excellent rework of the old classic, saw this during a free trial of Disney + and am now eagerly awaiting it's DVD release. Very well acted and voiced and the CGI is first rate, some of the original songs are used with some new ones to boot. Not to be missed!

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Personal History of David Copperfield

Had to give one star, zero is not an available option.

(Edit) 03/12/2020

Utter tripe, tried to watch it twice and fell asleep each time, third time unlucky! Casting was unbelievable, Dickins was NOT Asian and this is an autobiography loads of black "additions" to the cast that just wouldn't have been their at the time, yes we all know they would have been on cotton plantations in the American deep south but showing so many blacks in Dickensian London is just racist denial . The only credible portrayal was Hugh Laurie as Micawber. Armando Iannucci should stick to what he's good at, sketch shows because this is what he has attempted with this, and it doesn't work. a truly painful watch, it doesn't work on so many levels.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Jojo Rabbit

First rate film!

(Edit) 03/06/2020

This is a watch it twice film, you just take in all the gags in one go. The acting was first class, and it was very pacey Waititi's physical humour was evert bit as good as the gags and Wilson and Sam Rockwell rounded out the Nazi side perfectly. All round a great watch and I will be watching it again, can't understand the negative reviews, maybe they just don't get it?

3 out of 3 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

47 Meters Down: Uncaged

47 metres really!

(Edit) 03/03/2020

The deepest a recreational diver with a lot of experience can dive is around 30 metres, you will need to go through decompression procedures. forty seven meters needs specialist equipment and knowledge, not a bunch of air head blonds!

Also the film would have no entertainment value as the water at that depth would be pitch black, zero, zilch light.

Haven't seen the film but have made many dives, one dive won't be to watch this fiction.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Guardian of the Universe

No it's not that film.

(Edit) 23/08/2019

Not to be confused with guardians of the galaxy, the successful franchise this rubbish is trying to sit on the back of. The film quality is truly awful as is the "acting" and story line almost as bad as the mad scientists fake beard. This is really one to miss..... By a mile!

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Fisherman's Friends

Feel good fun!

(Edit) 19/07/2019

A very entertaining story of a bunch of ordinary Cornish shanty singers brought to life in a tongue in cheek telling of their discovery. This is one film where the locations can easily be visited, from Port Isaac village to St, James the Great Church St. Kew. There's even a cameo appearance by celebrity chef Nathan Outlaw who has a restaurant in the village. probably not one for the Oscars but super performances by the whole cast, you can even play "spot the original fishermen's friends" who appear in the film.

A well told if rather quaint story.

3 out of 3 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

All Is True

Bland, and tedious throughout.

(Edit) 16/06/2019
Spoiler Alert

""All Is True" explores the human story behind a dark and little known period in the life of William Shakespeare."

The thing about "little known" is you can make up whatever you want, to say this is "All is true" is basically a lie, they could have done far better, Shakespeare Vs vampires? or Abducted by aliens? would have been crass but at least entertaining. But they decided to make a film about nothing very much at all. I was going to say this film was boring but this goes beyond that it's just bland a kind of Elizabethan soap where very little happens apart from day to day life dragging on.

This really is another Branagh self indulgence production, dragging the usual luvvies out of the toy chest.

I'm dismayed that this was penned by Ben Elton, he really is better than this and should have stopped at Upstart Crow, at least being a comedy there was his wit to entertain us, this isn't entertaining, it's the diary of a retired old sod who does what a lot of retirees do, he took up gardening, and boy it was like watching paint dry.

This isn't history, but made up non history. I guess a kind of fake news that no one will be interested in.

1 out of 6 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Stan and Ollie

One for the Oscars? It certainly is!

(Edit) 16/06/2019

It baffles me that John C Reilly, could do such a rubbish film like Holmes and Watson (dragged down by Will Ferrell) then immediately follow it with something as brilliant as Stan and Ollie its amazing as he could have been left with a ruined career without this masterpiece!

This film shows you don't need Hollywood A listers to make a great film. Steve Coogan also has proved himself to be the steering force of the duo as Stan who off camera proves to be the strong force behind the duo whilst Ollie in life is shown to be floundering, miss-directed and weak willed.

this is a strong and moving tale of the odd couple as they attempt to cling on to the fame they once had. The show must go on attitude at the end of the film is moving and shows Ollie's final realisation and redemption. Photography was first class as were the costumes, direction, script in fact forget best film this one ought to sweep the board!

8 out of 8 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Red Hot Chili Peppers: In Their Own Words

Pure documetery NO music

(Edit) 24/04/2019

What a load of self indulgent cr*p, with a boredom factor to induce suicide, I kept on thinking there must be at least a little music to break the monotony, but it never came. Just a load of what we did at school etc. etc. etc.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Meg

what the heck is a "creejure"?

(Edit) 14/12/2018

what the heck is a "creejure"? This sounds like another unknown actor cheepo worse than "B" film that doesn't deserve to waste the planets resources by being pressed as a DVD. Why Cinema Paradiso do you insist in listing rubbish like this? Is it because there are no decent releases to populate my list with?

1 out of 6 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Curse of the Nun

This is NOT The Nun

(Edit) 24/10/2018

I had the misfortune to see 10 minuets of this rip off on a flight, it's blatantly attempting to ride on the back of The Nun that is not due for release till later this year. Surprise surprise lots of blood and bad acting, poorly directed. I gave up without any hope of this movie getting any better, very glad I didn't pay for the privilege.

Please Cinema Paradiso either stop pushing this type of rip off rubbish, or create a sub section dedicated to them alone, I could supply you a list of what to add.

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Book Club

Brilliant and witty

(Edit) 24/10/2018

What a fun film this was to watch, about a group of women growing old disgracefully. First class performances from a lot of established actors, lots of semi-cameos from the men they dated, and more than funny scenes with brilliant innuendo and naughtiness.

Don't watch this film if you are easily offended by sexual content, although this romp gets away with a lot of "rude" references it does it with a clever script well acted. The dialogue referring to a motor cycle/sex act is a gem!

3 out of 3 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Postcards from the 48%

Horrid un democratic tripe

(Edit) 01/10/2018
Spoiler Alert

Should be retitled "Selfish un democratic rich idiots". The vote to leave the EU was a fair and democratic one why can't these remoaners accept we are leaving the EU that's the way the vote went, you cannot keep going back to the people time after time till you get the result you want.

Geldof is an Irish citizen, why the hell should he have a say in what the UK want. Patrick Stewart so loyal to the UK he lives in Michigan, Miriam Margolis so loyal to the UK she became an Australian citizen in 2013 why should they have a say, same as any ex-pat if you love the UK so much you need it to remain in the EU, why do you live abroad?

sorry but this tripe is the very essence of political insecurity, to all who have appeared in this selfish display of anti democracy get over it!

10 out of 13 members found this review helpful.
12