Film Reviews by AW

Welcome to AW's film reviews page. AW has written 9 reviews and rated 11 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Loving

a moving reminder that we have come a little way - but still a way to go

(Edit) 15/06/2021

Based on a historical fact, this film is a little hard to get "into" because the dialogue is hard to hear/understand. But persevere - the dialogue isn't really all that important, but the story packs a powerful emotional and intellectual (in terms of the history of race relations in the USA) punch.

Extremely well cast and acted. We loved it.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Cover Girl

Delightful classic song and dance movie

(Edit) 24/05/2021

Beautifully acted. Gene Kelly does a wonderful dance duet with himself! Rita Hayworth is surprisingly good at singing and dancing. Phil Silvers provides a nice foil.

they don't make them like this anymore... Great song "Long ago and far away"

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Avanti!

well cast rom com delights

(Edit) 10/05/2021

Jack Lemmon is just as you'd expect and Juliet Mills is wonderfully cast as the perfect foil. A bizarre link brings them together in Ischia, and Italian magic happens. A feel-good movie that hasn't dated.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Fortunes of War Series

Absorbing period piece with great acting and settings

(Edit) 24/03/2021

Hard to imagine how courageous (foolish?) these people were, living in Bucharest as the Nazis began to conquer Europe. I find Emma Thompson mesmerising to watch. Kenneth Branagh isn't bad either! Haven't read the novels - don't need to. Looking forward to Part II.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Man Who Shot Liberty Valance

of historical interest

(Edit) 04/03/2021

1962 b&w film - interesting because I'd never seen it. Classic John Wayne role, and classic Jimmy Stewart role - the man of honour who gets the girl. Rather violent. Did NOT endear me to Lee Marvin.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Blithe Spirit

Clever and classy

(Edit) 25/02/2021

Noel Coward's sparkling dialogue wins you over in this slightly bizarre tale of ghosts and mediums. Margaret Rutherford is of course superb as Madame Arcata, and Rex Harrison very dashing. I laughed out loud many times, rather to my surprise.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Misbehaviour

Surprisingly engaging backward look at beauty contests

(Edit) 13/01/2021

I enjoy movies based on real events and real people. This film did not disappoint. Although I had arrived from Canada to live in the UK in 1970 I settled in the North and was soon busy bringing up a family. I was chastened to realise how little awareness I had of the beginnings of the Women's Liberation Movement. I was also embarrassed to recall that in the 50's my sister and I had enjoyed watching beauty pageants on TV.

They really were a cattle market and this film reminds us of the reality. We still have a long way to go....

1 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Cold War

Cold war left me cold

(Edit) 04/01/2021

Stylish but too enigmatic story of unusual love set against politically bleak times for Poland after the war.

Covers a substantial time frame, atmospheric in black & white, but finally the characters not sufficiently appealing to involve me.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

We're No Angels

quirky

(Edit) 21/12/2020

Fascinating to see what is obviously a French play in translation with such an interesting cast. It wears rather well and we enjoyed it.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.