Film Reviews by AKL

Welcome to AKL's film reviews page. AKL has written 8 reviews and rated 391 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Yanks

Schlesinger at his best in a profoundly moving film

(Edit) 08/04/2020

Your synopsis says it all. Richard Gere shows what a great actor he is, for once (or twice?) playing a truly nice guy. And Lisa Eichhorn is really remarkable in her film debut. I was amazed to discover that she is not British but American and that she lied to Schlesinger about her nationality to the get the part. Schlesinger's recreation of the American preDDay "invasion" of large parts of England hits just the right note. The rest of the cast, both British and American, are excellent and never hit a wrong note.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Handmaiden

A nasty experience

(Edit) 08/04/2020

Pornography and sadism are the main features of this truly nasty film set in Korea and Japan in the 1930s. I might have enjoyed it more had I studied the historical background prior to viewing it. But I doubt it. It was much too long and the lesbian sex scenes, which the Director clearly

relished, became annoyingly tedious. And the sado-machistic scenes, though mercifully brief, were loathsome and unnecessary.

0 out of 3 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Ordet

worth enduring

(Edit) 03/07/2019

Ordet is a memorable flm. Maybe for the wrong reasons. Its first half, though loaded with scenes of beautiful coastal photography, bored me if not to tears but to sleep, less so on a second viewing despite its theme of what nowadays seems like religous claptrap. But the concluding 30 minutes are amazingly powerful (if still hard to swallow if that matters by then) and include maybe the most beautiful scene involving a

six-year-old child I have ever seen. Worth catching for that alone. The DVD includes two other quite remarkable short films by the author, Carl Dreyer. I have given this review three stars simply because my reactions varied between one and five.

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

A Tale of Two Cities

A great film of a fine book

(Edit) 27/11/2018

A masterly performance by Dirk Bogarde and a great cast in a film of this much-read novel, though in black and white, which must remain as the definitive cinematic version.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Film Stars Don't Die in Liverpool

A lovely surprise

(Edit) 23/05/2018

I had not expected much of this film. Wrongly. I found it great. The performances were excellent. Maybe I was lucky

not have remembered much about Gloria Grahame, but I found the end very moving.

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

In Between

Should have been longer

(Edit) 08/02/2018

I quite agree with all that JR said. On top of this, I think the film tried to pack too much into its reasonable length. For once it would have been a better mini-series for TV with time and space to develop its characters and their background.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Miller's Crossing

Nasty stuff

(Edit) 23/01/2018

A truly horrible experience - with many gruesome scenes, poor acting and a non=existent plot. Amazing to read the [positive reviews it received when it first came out

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Patriots Day

Great reconstruction of a real event

(Edit) 06/09/2017

A brilliant reconstruction of a terrorist event which was then horrifying but by now seems almost tame compared to subsequent attacks in Europe. At times it seemed we were actually on the spot.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Help & support

Find answers to frequently asked questions and contact us should you need to

How It Works

See prices and levels and find out how Cinema Paradiso service works

Friends for Films

Invite your friends to join and get free subscription each month