Film Reviews by AC

Welcome to AC's film reviews page. AC has written 9 reviews and rated 49 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Years and Years

The episodes are in the wrong order!

(Edit) 16/02/2020

So far I've enjoyed two epsiodes on this disc. When I inserted the disc I went to first episode and watched. OK, the a slightly awkward introduction to what has been well reviewed when it was shown on TV, but I soon got the direction it was heading in. When that episode finished I moved on to Episode 2 on the disc. It seemeded to be a catchup, filliing in the gaps from the first episode, but after 10 minutes it became apparent the disc was out of sequence, so I'm now loooking at the prospect of watching the first, opening episode last. It still works, but the order of the DVD is a major major fail.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

England Is Mine

Oh Manchester...so much to answer for

(Edit) 28/08/2018

I wasn't sure what to expect from this film, but was pleasantly surprised. The feel is authentic the settings accurate, and the cast are believable . Jack Lowden is excellent as the the painfully shy Morrissey, and the transition from wall flower to big mouth is well portrayed, leaving mthe viewer slightly disappointed the film finishes, just as pace is picking up for Morrissey.

Recommended for anyone who was around at the time.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Twin Peaks: Series 2

Welcome back!

(Edit) 22/04/2010

I bought the first series when the DVD set was released, and have been waiting for Series Two for probably 8 years.

I was slightly worried that production values may have aged badly given the advances in technology, but no. Apart from not being in wide screen format, the pictures are crystal clear and the sound terrific.

Great to see Twin Peaks again, and can't wait for the other discs!

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

In the Electric Mist

Hmmmm, pretty good.

(Edit) 10/05/2010

High production values, great soundtrack, and very atmospheric settings make this an good way to pass 1:38 minutes.

Tommy Lee Jones and Mary Steenburgen put in great performances, while John Goodman struggles to break from his typecasting, but can be forgiven.

Recommended.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Horsemen of the Apocalypse

On balance, I'd rather have the hour and half back.

(Edit) 19/03/2010

It looks good, the acting is good, the camera work great.............but the plot is tired and worn out. Using the horseman of the apocalypse as a theme doesn't really work and while Dennis Quaid is very credible, there's not enough to separate this from so many other Hollywood murder/thrillers. It really isn't worth it, even in blu ray.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Different Loyalty

True life under a different name

(Edit) 13/03/2010

This is the story of Kim Philby, not the fictional Leo Caulfield. Philby's autobiographical book "My Silent War" describes his life up to the final defection, this film gives a view of the rest of his years and suggests the torment caused by his choice.

Brave man or traitor? His decision was based on the actions of the west when it turned it's back on Spain when Fascism first rose to prominence, and the UK, Europe and the USA decided not to intervene. Good film, watch it with a sense of context.

2 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Terminator Salvation

Disapponiting

(Edit) 01/03/2010

This just goes to show that a big budget doesn't necessarily mean a good film.

This looked great and I was impressed by the special effects, but the story was very strained. By half way through I was wondering when it would end. Later I realised I wasn't bothered at seeing the end!

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Hell Ride

An opportunity wasted.

(Edit) 18/01/2010

Great cast, great cinematography, great bikes. This should have been a good watch, a homage to the biker movies of the 70s,but while most of the ingredients were there, the plot was so weak it was the film was spoiled.

I was intrigued to see Vinny Jones as an outlaw biker, but even that didn't compensate. Don't bother.

2 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Watchmen

The underbelly of superheroes

(Edit) 07/01/2010

I read the graphic novel years ago and was looking forward to seeing this in Blu Ray.

The film itself is intriguing. I'd love to say it's beautiful film, but the pervading mood of darkness and decay is all consuming.

It's a long film (it's a long story so what do you expect) but well delivered. I just wish that the disk had played properly.

1 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Help & support

Find answers to frequently asked questions and contact us should you need to

How It Works

See prices and levels and find out how Cinema Paradiso service works

Friends for Films

Invite your friends to join and get free subscription each month