Film Reviews by JG

Welcome to JG's film reviews page. JG has written 8 reviews and rated 7 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Doctor Sleep

Switched off

(Edit) 01/07/2020

A dire sequel of cardboard cut-out characters, tenuous storyline and clichéd acting.

I switched off early on, during the scene set in the cinema, for no other reason than being bored rigid.

Crikey, I loved The Shining.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

1900

1900...that's 1900 Razzies

(Edit) 15/02/2019

I couldn't finish the first disc and cancelled disc two. Beautifully rendered, like an oil painting, but the acting was appalling and structure disjointed. It made me laugh though.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Lady Bird

Ambivalent.

(Edit) 15/02/2019

Some lovely moments of interplay and 'banter', but it felt disjointed and paint-by-numbers cliched/ 'angsty'. I was hoping to like it, but found myself bored and couldn't finish it. I didn't feel invested in the characters.

The main actors felt too old to play senior school children, they didn't quite get away with it i.e. at the time of release Ronan (22-23), Feldstein (23-24), Hedges (20-21) etc.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Big Bad Wolves

Unthinkable

(Edit) 04/10/2017

Difficult subject matter of child abduction and torture, leads to the systematic torture of a suspect. Akin to the Jackson/Sheen/Moss starrer, "Unthinkable", in its challenging of morals and humanity.

Claustrophobic and urgent; menacing and dark.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

La La Land

We loved it but,...

(Edit) 04/10/2017

...I was brought up on musicals and Hammer House!

Not sure why it won so many Oscars, but my daughter and I enjoyed a lovely Sunday afternoon, full of cold and with a cuppa. A charming balance to our usual choice of film.

Beautiful colour saturation; simple story; simply told, sweetly.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

John Wick 2

Classic throwaway action.

(Edit) 26/09/2017

Full on choreographed fight and action sequences, with a mystical "the firm" code overtone.

Throwaway thrills. Loved it.

1 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Autopsy of Jane Doe

Nice one for the chiller cabinet.

(Edit) 20/09/2017

Very claustrophobic; Autopsy of Jane Doe could be a play. The actors gave everything to material.

In parts overblown, but I was genuinely scared in some scenes, as they increased in intensity.

I'm 51 now and loved Hammer House, James Herbert, Stephen King et al, so being transported back to behind-the-sofa days was novel.

3 out of 3 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

A Street Cat Named Bob

Predictable, but charming.

(Edit) 20/09/2017

We watched the film on a rainy afternoon, perfect.

Laden with clichés and cut-out characters. Glossy and "Notting Hill-ed" for Hollywood no doubt.

Yet, if you park your expectations, it is a simple tale of a raw-edged hiding to nowhere who came good.

We all need happy endings now and then and this film wormed its way into our hearts.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.