Film Reviews by AW

Welcome to AW's film reviews page. AW has written 8 reviews and rated 22 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Warren: Series 1

Curmudgeonly driving instructor

(Edit) 11/01/2021

This single series seems to have been universally panned when aired but I actually found it very funny and was all ready to order the second series but that seems to been shelved.

Clunes is an acerbic, selfish, curmudgeonly, crotchety and fiscally tight driving instructor in the City of Preston. He lives with his girlfriend Anne and her 2 teenage sons. "Warren" looks quite different in his khakis and with a pepper and salt beard, quite unlike his Doc Martin persona who this character is unfairly compared with. The neighbours, driving students, and

shop assistants that Warren deals with all fit the bill of diversity but are all fine in their bit parts. He continually wastes his clients' valuable lesson time by highjacking them to takeaways, shops and distant locations so he doesn't have to spend extra time going out for his personal chores.

Anne's parents too are funny but only get to shine in 2 of the episodes. Too bad as many threads of the plot lie unexplored, and I felt another series might well have leveled it all out.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Lady Vanishes

The lady does vanish

(Edit) 11/01/2021

There's a prominent trend in remakes of old Classics. Sometimes they work but too often the original still stands up as the definitive version. However although theres a lot of slating of this film going on in reviews, I didn't really find this that bad, as it stood. Interestingly filmed in Hungary.

I've watched the 1938 version but it doesn't stand out in my mind. This one managed to hold my attention & the mysterious, secretive characters were...mysterious and secretive.

Tuppence M was a bit OTT in the hysteria stakes, granted, and the others a bit dismissive of her claims that Miss Froy existed, but hey, everyone had reasons not to delay the train's arrival in Trieste. Gemma Jones and Stephanie Cole were fun flower loving sisters for light relief. I liked Selina Cadell's assured Miss Froy. Dane Jesper Christensen was a slimy doctor I would not have touched with a barge pole! Nowhere near the complete pig's ear Kenneth Branagh made of the recent Murder on the Orient Express remake.

Shudder.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Renown Comedy Collection: Vol.1

Don't quite get why these are considered Classics

(Edit) 16/11/2019

Weird mishmash of silent picture clips and 50s B&W Ealing type comedies. Nothing inbetween. They are B Pictures at best, and who chose them? This goes across several discs, the two Dentist films with Bob Monkhouse are mildly entertaining. Did anyone actually like Bob Monkhouse or find him funny? Still he acted extremely well, his timing was good so I give him slack. Kenneth Connor and Graham Stark and the wonderful Peggy Cummins lifted it higher.

A funnier and slightly hidden excerpt on the disc was Tell Me Another, Comedy Compilation. Comes apparently from a 70s TV series I'd never heard of, Tell Me Another. Involves interviews with comedians most of whom I recognised but they didn't bother to identify or even acknowledge their names, before or after. Things like that are really annoying.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Kalinka

Based on a true story of a search for justice

(Edit) 15/05/2018

I'd had this particular film on my CinemaParadiso list for ages solely because I like Daniel Auteuil. When it started and it had Sebastian Koch in it as Dr.Krombach I was doubly pleased as he's a great actor and easily handles English and French films. I hadn't even read the blurb about the plot so this was a revelation as the film unfolded - it's a well made, suspenseful film, based on a real case that crossed between France and Germany. Auteuil, playing Andre Bamberski, pursues Koch's character for 30 years in search of justice for what he perceives is the murder of his daughter when she was staying with her mother and stepfather (Koch) for the summer. The most horrifying is that both sides, but especially the German courts never appeared to search for the truth; the judgements handed down were laughable. It could be argued that in the 70s and 80s there was far less forensic ability yet they seemed to gloss over the bleeding obvious.

The original French title is Au Non de ma Fille (In the Name of my Daughter). Nice views of France and Germany.

The disc starts rather confusingly with an onscreen choice between France and United Kingdom, if you're looking for the English subtitles choose UK - there are no other language subtitle choices - the French version won't let you turn on any subtitles, even French ones, although there are some during the German court scenes.

The ex wife who left him for Krombach seems a bit of a limp spaghetti and you wonder if maybe Bamberski was too intense but Auteuil pulls it off as a generally sympathetic character, though intransigent and single-minded .

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Garage

Slice of Irish life

(Edit) 14/02/2018

Enjoyed it, excellent Irish cinema. But like all these films, I really could have done with some subtitles to

help understand the quite strong accents. Unfortunately my CinemaParadiso disc didn't have any.

Josie is rather mercilessly teased yet there is an element of tolerance by the rest of the villagers.

He's being unashamedly used by the slimy owner who really doesn't care that the rundown garage

is hardly making any money, yet with his radio, TV and bedsit at the back, Josie seems happy in his

own insular little way.

The Garda officer is eminently sensible dealing with the spiteful complaint by a parent after Josie

unwittingly shows a minor an explicit film.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Private Property

Belgian family woes

(Edit) 11/09/2017

Belgian French-speaking film about fractured family relationships. Pretty rural location but looked a bit lonely which probably added to the gloomy atmosphere.

Pascale (Huppert) is keeping her family (twin sons) together after a painful divorce. It wasn't immediately obvious the boys were twins as both are quite different in appearances but are played by real-life brothers. Pascale has it hard; the boys have grown into teenagers with hormones. They are selfish and lazy and self-absorbed; she cooks and cleans and waits on them while they mock both her and their remarried father who at least comes around occasionally to visit and gives them money although that seems to annoy her.

I enjoyed the film on the whole as I am into Belgian movies after viewing the hugely successful comedy The OutLaws (Clan) from the Flemish side but this is quite the opposite.

Personally I would have chucked the sons out of the house once they started cutting up rough about her wanting some modicum of happiness with the kindly nextdoor neighbour, and suggesting the sensible notion of starting a B&B business or selling up. The boys seem convinced they have a right to keep the house which they don't and won't be told, and it spirals from there. They moan about money but are seen in nearly every scene consuming large amounts of food. Pascale also seems to be oblivious to raging teenaged hormones as she leaves loo doors open and brazenly showers in full view of one son shaving in the bathroom. Even the very first scene when she's trying on a negligee/ slip in front of a mirror she invites a son to give his opinion. Both boys eye her up subtly then end up crudely joking about their mother's (perceived lack of-) sex life. Francois seemed a bit more gentle and reasonable but Thierry went off the rails for no discernible reason so the ending comes as a bit of a shock but then no real resolution goes on from that, so I've deemed it only 3 star.

DVD from Lovefilm only has English sub titles.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Untold History of the United States

Real history

(Edit) 07/01/2017

Illuminating series. Hour-long episodes, narrated by Stone and mostly using newsreel footage and actual photos.

Covers from WW2 onwards but shows how actions and imperialism in the previous century had great impact on what happened later. The real story of real people, and highlighting the behind-the-scenes political manoeuvres of Soviet, German and Allied leaders.

Required viewing for ALL history students.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

JFK: Rendezvous with Death

Another theory

(Edit) 11/11/2016

A German-produced English-narrated expose that interviews Alexander Haig and former FBI and CIA agents plus Mexican and Cuban Security service agents, giving rather vague reports but all concluding that Lee Harvey Oswald was the lone assassin, groomed and apparently happily willing to knock out the President of the USA on the orders of the US's grand enemy, Fidel Castro.

Shows the usual well known black and white newsreel footage of the Dallas motorcade, LHW's murder, & Kennedy's funeral, but this is the first time I have been aware of any post-mortem pictures of Oswald.

Trouble us, there are still too many conspiracy theories out there, including the possible collusion of CIA head GeoWBush and LBJ himself, plus the angle and frequency of the shots when LHW was known to be a lousy shot, really don't convince, so I reserve judgement on this.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Help & support

Find answers to frequently asked questions and contact us should you need to

How It Works

See prices and levels and find out how Cinema Paradiso service works

Friends for Films

Invite your friends to join and get free subscription each month