Film Reviews by None

Welcome to None's film reviews page. None has written 9 reviews and rated 153 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Intruder

Very difficult to follow

(Edit) 30/03/2010

It might help if you have read the book, but apparently the book is difficult to follow also.

The film comes over as a half finished project. Maybe they were hoping for cult status where everyone would discuss what the film meant.

The film fails to tell the story in a coherent manner so we were very disappointed.

How this has managed to achieve 3 stars is beyond me.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Star Whores: Vol.1

Absolutely Terrible

(Edit) 30/04/2005

This has to be one of the worst films I have ever seen. The girls cannot act, the storyline is non-existant, the line are delivered without humour or expression. You can here footsteps from off-screen. The set is awful. I could go on but it's note worth the effort.

Only bother with this if you are desperate to see tits and arses and nothing else.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Bite the Bullet

Good film

(Edit) 30/04/2005

We enjoyed this film. There is an intriguing twist in the middle and a novel ending which is not what you might guess, but appropriate. Good balance of sorrow and humour and no gross bits that I can remember.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Mr and Mrs Smith

Totally unbelievable shot-em-up farce

(Edit) 27/02/2006

From the begining we had to endure a very boring simulated marriage counselling session moving on the to various hits by both parties. If you just want shoot-em-up with a plot so thin it's easy to see through and the twist at the end so implausable that it doesn't work, then this will be your kind of movie. On the other hand anyone who prefers an interesting plot with several subplots to add to the interest is going to be bitterly disappointed as we were.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

In the Cut

Good thriller

(Edit) 03/03/2005

Slightly surprising role for Meg Ryan. I guess she wanted to break the mould of being type cast as romantic heroine. There are some moments where her part's behavior is not totally believable, but the plot kept me guessing right up to the end. I thought the gratuitously explicit sex was unnecessary to the plot, but I'm not complaining.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Twisted

Excellent thriller

(Edit) 03/03/2005

We enjoyed this thriller although we did get most of the clues provided so the final revelation was not a total surprise. There weren't many gory bits and those were fairly mild. Sex was not overly explicit which is how I prefer it.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Camomile Lawn

Excellent

(Edit) 28/03/2005

If you love the English way of life you'll love the Camomile Lawn.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Star Trek: Enterprise: Series 1

Excellent prequell

(Edit) 09/12/2006

This is not the original Star Trek series, but a new prequell series taking the story back to the beginning of warp powered exploration. It was interesting to note that the mission statement was "To go boldly" i.e. without the later, in ficticious history, split infinitive "To boldly go".

This series has racier more pionering feel to it and I am looking forward to series 1 disc 2.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

A Very Long Engagement

Beautifully moving story

(Edit) 23/10/2008

Audrey Tautou and Marion Cotillard are excellent in this film with a surprise appearance by Jodie Foster.

Never mind that it is subtitled this a superbly crafted and moving film.

Any description of the story would spoil your enjoyment of watching the film, but suffice to say that it based around the horrors of the first World war and lost loved ones.

The title gives a hint to the final outcome.

As ever the French make excellent films and always manage to find a slightly different angle to view any situation.

If you do not usually watch subtitled films, put your prejudice aside for once and watch this film.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.