Film Reviews by RT

Welcome to RT's film reviews page. RT has written 8 reviews and rated 519 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Phase IV

Over-rated, dull and unsatisfying

(Edit) 10/09/2020

I do not understand why this has a 3.something rating on here. The film is thankfully short at 1:20 otherwise I would have abandoned it before the end. Even then I wish I had, because the ending is not worth even a short wait. With only 3 characters you would think there would be some development, but there isn't. And that time isn't used for plotting or sci-fi wizardry either... you just get the characters saying "what are the ants doing?" a lot... and lots of shots of ants. Bizarre.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

A Serious Man

Boring and depressing

(Edit) 04/03/2020

I assume that there were many cultural in-jokes here that I just didn't get. So for me it wasn't funny at all. The main character is an unloveable loser who just makes you cringe. I stopped watching after half an hour - life's too short to persist with dull movies. Maybe it picks up towards the end, I'll never know.

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Tag

Bonkers

(Edit) 19/10/2018

This is just weird. I went with it to the end, hoping it would finally make sense. But it doesn't. There is actually a conclusion; just not a very good one.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

It's Only the End of the World

Dull

(Edit) 06/11/2017

This may be a worthy film, but the first half was so dull that I stopped watching. Apparently a review has to be at least 100 characters long, so I had to add another sentence. Frankly I don't know why I bothered writing anything. But, I guess, if it helps someone who might otherwise waste time renting this, then it's worth it.

If you like slow films where 5 people just talk, go for it. Otherwise give it a miss.

0 out of 4 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Nocturnal Animals

Emperor's new clothes

(Edit) 11/09/2017

This had me watching to the end, wondering what was going to happen. And nothing happens. It's all a con. Style over substance. The emperor is not wearing any clothes!

5 out of 6 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Ghosts in the Machine

Awful

(Edit) 22/06/2017

This looks like a student film project. The acting is poor... and so is everything else. Just awful.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Victoria

Too long and not very interesting

(Edit) 12/09/2016

The main problem with Victoria is that like Birdman before it the whole idea of a "single continuous take" film just doesn't work because it feels like it is just going on and on with no pause for breath and no chance to build any decent characterisation other than what you get blasted at you non-stop so the whole thing just grinds you down until you start wishing it was just over because you don't care about anyone in it or what happens to them.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Forbidden Room

Complete rubbish

(Edit) 29/06/2016

This is one of those "arty" films that some people will rave about because it is "different", "inventive" or "challenging".

Well, I thought it was rubbish. It looks like a couple of A-level students made it on a budget of £100 ... and had to get it finished on a Sunday afternoon because they had better things to do.

How this gets such a high rating I don't know. It is not original; sadly I've seen plenty of other bad films just like this.

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Help & support

Find answers to frequently asked questions and contact us should you need to

How It Works

See prices and levels and find out how Cinema Paradiso service works

Friends for Films

Invite your friends to join and get free subscription each month