Film Reviews by CC

Welcome to CC's film reviews page. CC has written 10 reviews and rated 72 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Shetland: Series 3

Great series

(Edit) 23/04/2019

I love this crime series. The writing and acting are superb, and it's a very good reminder that not all criminals are in Britain's cities.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Far from Heaven

Reminder of past and present

(Edit) 23/01/2019

A stark reminder of the racist and bigoted attitudes of some people in small town America years ago, and that can still be found today being enabled by the actions of some politicians. The injustice against black and LGBT people is infuriating to watch and the ignorance is stark and difficult to comprehend in the 21st century. Superbly acted and scripted to reflect American Social priorities in those days. Interesting as social commentary but not really enjoyable to watch.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

A Song to Remember

Escapist viewing

(Edit) 29/01/2018

Beautiful music. Naff script. Nice to see these oldies now and again and Chopin's music makes it all worthwhile, but the storyline bore little resemblance to his actual experiences and the script showed its age. Worth a look if you like Chopin and you can accept the movie for what it is, a dated, old fashioned Hollywood type version of history.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Ruth and Alex

Charming.

(Edit) 29/01/2018

A beautifully scripted and acted study of an older couple grappling with the limitations of age and the familiarity of their surroundings when the two come into sharp focus. Incidentals in the script like the plight of a sick dog added poignancy and Morgan Freeman nails the kind, slightly grumpy but always decent character he plays. The minor characters add so much to the story but without taking over the action.

I rarely watch movies twice but would watch this again, no problem.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Courage Under Fire

Good movie

(Edit) 02/02/2016

I enjoyed this movie. Good mix of action and psychological issues. Denzel Washington was great in the role.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Belle

Interesting film

(Edit) 02/02/2016

Interesting study of social issues around the times of slavery. Good story and acting. Worth a look.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Amazing Grace

Inspiring

(Edit) 23/10/2015

Filled in knowledge gaps and the acting was superb. Great production that concentrated on the fight against slavery rather than aspects of slavery itself.

2 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Wipers Times

Liked it

(Edit) 23/10/2015

Quirky little film brilliantly acted and showing heroism, humour and the relationships between the soldiers doing the actual fighting with the military staff behind the lines and giving the orders. A different viewpoint of WW1.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Salting the Battlefield

really good

(Edit) 03/06/2015

Great movie full of intrigue and twists to the story. Bill Nighy was excellent as always.

This is the third in a trilogy and I hadn't seen the second one. Would have been slightly easier to follow the plot if I had but didn't detract from the enjoyment of the film. I recommend seeing all the episodes in order.

1. Page Eight.

2. Turks and Caicos.

3. Salting the Battlefield.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Last Tango in Halifax: Series 3

Good all round

(Edit) 03/06/2015

The plot, characters and speed of the drama are so well written. Couple that with excellent acting from accomplished actors, breathtaking scenery, and I guarantee you can't stop watching this series.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Help & support

Find answers to frequently asked questions and contact us should you need to

How It Works

See prices and levels and find out how Cinema Paradiso service works

Friends for Films

Invite your friends to join and get free subscription each month