Film Reviews by MD

Welcome to MD's film reviews page. MD has written 55 reviews and rated 987 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Rose of Auschwitz

That's a couple of hours of my life I will never get back

(Edit) 23/04/2021

A young Jewish woman muses about faith and god. Zzz... watched about half of the film waiting for something to happen.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

New Amsterdam: Series 2

No subtitles

(Edit) 04/12/2020

I can't believe that in such a recently made dvd there are no subtitles. I couldn't understand most of the dialog. Pity.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Robert the Bruce

Needs subtitles

(Edit) 04/11/2020

Unfortunately, there are no subtitles. I could only vaguely follow the plot. It's all a bit grim up there in the Scottish highlands.

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Care

Depressing

(Edit) 17/09/2020

I am sure this is an accurate description of the care system in the UK, but it's so relentlessly depressing, it will make you afraid of old age.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Timeless: Series 1

Disappointing

(Edit) 21/07/2020

Time travelling team go back in time chasing another time traveller who is meddling with historical events. Not very engaging. Bad acting/casting perhaps. Lacking in humour or any kind of charm. Gave up after 3 episodes.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

World on Fire

Where is the ending?

(Edit) 24/02/2020

I thoroughly enjoyed watching this series, but I cannot believe the ending. There is no ending. It just stops. I must have missed something deep and meaningful.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Strike Back

It was a game of 2 halves

(Edit) 24/12/2019

Enjoyed the first 5 series, but in series 6 the cast changed and it no longer worked for me. It's not really the kind of program I usually enjoy, but the early series were tongue in cheek and enjoyable. After that it was just a lot of violence and shooting with not much else.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Temple

What's to like here?

(Edit) 18/12/2019

Watched 3 episodes and lost the will to live. Over complicated yarn jumping all over the place. A doctor tries to save his wife's life after she is refused treatment. He fakes her death and keeps her in a coma in an underground clinic where he makes a living treating criminals. Really?

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Sir Francis Drake: Series

Surprisingly good

(Edit) 08/12/2019

Quite an old fashioned b/w movie about the queen Elizabeth's favourite pirate. The picture and sound are surprisingly good, which makes it reasonably watchable. The dialog and casting seem dated, but in spite of that it is entertaining and even funny.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Wake in Fright

Horrible film

(Edit) 03/08/2019

A truly awful film. Starts promisingly, but then seems to get stuck in a groove of loutishness. A bunch of outback yobs go on a drunken rampage. There is a repulsive episode with real footage of kangaroos being hunted. The film does have a story to it, but it's completely lost in the awfulness of it. The only redeeming feature is Donald Pleasance, who is both funny and nasty at the same time.

2 out of 5 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Hotel Salvation

No subtitles

(Edit) 16/07/2019

I enjoy a bolywood film as much as the next person, but are we really expected to speak the indian languages? I wish the movie details on the website gave some language and subtitle information.

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Spartacus

Strange casting

(Edit) 10/05/2019

Slightly different interpretation of the Spartacus story, which I found a pleasant surprise. However, the casting to my mind was a little off. The whole film had the air of a bunch of office workers on a weekend outing of a historical reenactment society. The gladiators didn't seem very fit and were kind of almost middle aged. Spartacus himself was in my opinion sadly miscast, unconvincing and a little chinless. Having said that, on the whole I did enjoy the film.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Iceman

Stone age people would not have survived for long like this

(Edit) 08/03/2019

A stone age man struggles through the frozen Alps seeking revenge for his murdered family. All the men in this seem implausibly old and their home tribes unsustainably small. There is no comprehensible dialog only unrecognisable words and grunts. Still, it was better than films of similar ilk I have seen before.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Zastrozzi: A Romance

Completely incomprehensible

(Edit) 26/02/2019

You know what they say, you don't need to eat the whole steak to know that it's tough. I didn't get very far with this.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Knightfall: Series 1

Ok at first

(Edit) 25/02/2019

Medieval drama about the Knights templar and the royal family in France. Superficial but too complicated. Lost the plot after a few episodes.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.
1234