Film Reviews by MD

Welcome to MD's film reviews page. MD has written 69 reviews and rated 1307 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Turning

Could not finish it

(Edit) 15/11/2016

Starts promisingly, but goes nowhere. It seems to be just a collection of fragments of stories. If it ever cames together, I did not find out. Gave up 3/4 of the way through. Too boring.

0 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Hard to Be a God

Peculiar

(Edit) 01/09/2016

This is a strange and revulting Russian film. Completely incomprehensible. I don't know what possesed me to take it out.

0 out of 4 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Green Wing: Series 1

Not your usual medical soap

(Edit) 15/08/2016

I found this too bitsy. It's more or less just a series of jokes separated by a speeded up camera. I am afraid it sent me to sleep.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Behind the Candelabra

Not my cup of tea

(Edit) 29/07/2016

I was hoping to see more of Liberace performing. Instead there was too much of his private life. I found his voice and manner quite irritating after a while. I am afraid I gave up half way through.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Doctor Foster: Series 1

Bit boring

(Edit) 20/07/2016

I watched the first 3 episodes, but all the time it was just more of the same. A woman wondering what her husband had been up to. Dull.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Outlander: Series 1

Disappointing

(Edit) 01/12/2015

I was expecting a bit of a sci-fi, but there was hardly any sci-fi to speak of. It started moderately well and then dragged along for two more episodes, when it took a violent turn. Quite sickening actually. I only watched the first 3 episodes. There was an awful lot of Scotsmen in kilts and mud. The leading lady posed rather then acted. She did so beautifully, of course, but it got a little monotonous after a while.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Treme: Series 1

Incomprehensible

(Edit) 03/10/2015

I am afraid I could not understand this not even with subtitles on. I persevered for about an hour and a half and then decided that life was to short.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Tomorrow, When the War Began

Not much of a story to it

(Edit) 19/08/2015

This was not so much a film, more of a pilot for a series. The plot did not really develop and ended unexpectedly. Still, the scenery was beautiful.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Hollow Crown: Series 1

Incomprehensible

(Edit) 15/07/2015

Having just seen a medieval drama where everybody used an ultra modern turn of phrase, this was equally extreme but at the other end of the linguistic scale. Could not follow it I am afraid.

0 out of 4 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Space Station 76

This is so not funny

(Edit) 21/04/2015

A new film set in the 1970's. Boring people on a space station are bored and squabble a bit. The End.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Interstellar

Thought provoking

(Edit) 25/04/2015

I enjoyed this thoroughly. There was a lot to think about although I admit I did not understand it all perfectly.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Marketa Lazarova

What was it all about?

(Edit) 14/04/2015

I was looking forward to seeing this film, but found it incomprehensible. I could see it was trying hard to be realistic, but it was too bleak.

1 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Supernova

Booooorrrrrinng....

(Edit) 17/03/2015

This must be the slowest most boring film I have nearly seen. I watched and dozed through about 2 hours of it and then I decided that I had suffered long enough. Sadly I never saw the long awaited climax of the film. It was too excruciating to watch any more of it.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Penny Dreadful: Series 1

No erotic charge

(Edit) 20/01/2015

I watched this in hope of some subtle erotic charge as promised in the description, but what I got instead was more of an accident in an abattoir. I could not even finish the first episode in spite of persevering beyond what one would normally want to. Whatever this series is about, it is not worth trying to find out.

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Essential Killing

Relentless

(Edit) 14/01/2015

Not a bad film, but it was kind of relentless. The subtitles did not work, but it was did not matter a great deal, as there is very little dialogue. Nicely shot, lacking in other aspects.

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.
12345