Film Reviews by MD

Welcome to MD's film reviews page. MD has written 70 reviews and rated 1307 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Essential Killing

Relentless

(Edit) 14/01/2015

Not a bad film, but it was kind of relentless. The subtitles did not work, but it was did not matter a great deal, as there is very little dialogue. Nicely shot, lacking in other aspects.

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Helix: Series 1

Horror

(Edit) 28/11/2014

This seems mis-classified to me. It is a simple horror film. Great if you like plenty of gore and little else.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Van Diemen's Land

Grim

(Edit) 05/10/2014

I thought this was a horror film, but it turns out it is a true story. It is seriously bleak and unrelentingly wretched.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Turkey Shoot

Dreadful

(Edit) 24/09/2014

Dated, childish, predictable... shall I continue... it seems much older than 1981, stereotypical characters, limited cast, just bad bad bad.

1 out of 4 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Rocket

No English

(Edit) 15/09/2014

This film has no spoken English or subtitles. What exactly was the point of giving it an English title?

2 out of 4 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Wild Blue Yonder

Boring with a dreadful soundtrack

(Edit) 22/07/2014

Visually it was pretty good, but the story is very thin and stretched out to fill the time. Some aspects of the story are introduced out of nowhere and do not seem convincing. There are long passages with an appalling soundtrack and not much else.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Things to Come

Better than expected

(Edit) 17/06/2014

It was better than I expected considering it was made in 1936. Unfortunately the sound quality was less than perfect, so much of the ideas behind it were lost to me.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Man Who Cried

Something missing

(Edit) 07/06/2014

This was a good story and should have been a great film, but something was lacking. It was all a bit sketchy and vague.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Broken Sun

If you are not feeling depressed, you will be after this

(Edit) 05/06/2014

Relentlessly down in the mouth. Not a glimmer of anything uplifting, happy or hopeful. Just grime, sweat and misery.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Wives and Daughters

Very enjoyable

(Edit) 24/05/2014

Very enjoyable, but in the last episode I was puzzled to see a woman with a trendy short haircut. It looked completely out of place. I wonder if women really had hair like that then.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.
12345