Film Reviews by JF

Welcome to JF's film reviews page. JF has written 18 reviews and rated 20 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The More You Ignore Me

APPEALING FILM

(Edit) 10/06/2019

This is a pretty unusual film. Kind of laid back, sad and funny in almost equal parts. Unexpected too, when the mentally unstable mum meets up with a new man, who is totally able to confront that she has problems - and yet still wants to be with her. Lovely writing, lovely acting and a great backdrop of a most depressing rural slum house. Really enjoyed it.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Peterloo

SOMEWHAT DISAPPOINTING

(Edit) 13/05/2019

I was looking forward to watching this, but I found a bit of a slog. I was also surprised at the pantomime baddies. It's a "worthy" film, but disappointing.

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Faces Places

Delightful

(Edit) 19/03/2019

For almost the entire film I had a big smile on my face. The interaction between the the two photographers was lively and charming, and the oversized photographs were astonishing. Haven't enjoyed a film so much in ages.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Mark Felt

DISAPPOINTING

(Edit) 28/01/2019

Rather a plodding uninspired film. Most of the tension seems to have come from frequent closeups of Liam Neeson. Given the extraordinary nature of the events, I expected a them to merit better made film.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Leave No Trace

STUNNING AND UNUSUAL

(Edit) 28/01/2019

I can only echo the other reviews!

For example: "a tremendous film. Beautifully made, excellent acting, thought-provoking - just perfect."

There is a poignant scene when father and daughter just look at each other without speaking for what seems an age. The silence underlines the bond and understanding between them, where words would have been superfluous.

One of the best films I've seen in ages.

2 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Manchester by the Sea

Very disapponting.

(Edit) 14/08/2018

Along with other reviewers, I found the constant swearing tedious and unimaginative. Again, along with other reviewers, I stuck with it for about 40 minutes and then gave up. Impossible to feel engaged with the characters. Don't know what happened in the end and really couldn't care!

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Searching for Sugar Man

ASTONISHING AND ABSORBING

(Edit) 08/05/2018

I was hooked immediately. And it wasn't just the astonishing story of the "forgotten" musician and the lengthy search to find him. I was also taken aback at some of the details of life in South Africa for the white population of the time. In the UK we knew about the trials and tribulations of the black population, but little of how the average white S. African was affected by the anti-apartheid embargoes. The young population were apparently cut off from the mainstream culture of the rest of the western world ... As the white South African 'Sugarman' explained, it was a very conservative country, and Rodriguez' lyrics shocked many.

The huge reaction, the emotion and the warmth of the crowds was a revelation, and not just for his first gig

I now have both the DVD and a CD, so obviously the film has made me a fan.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Tall Blond Man with One Black Shoe

ENJOYABLE

(Edit) 31/01/2018

FARCICAL AND GOOD FUN AN ENJOYABLE FILM. Some great character sketches, No real surprises, even so I was never bored.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Strings

HIGHLY UNUSUAL ANIMATION

(Edit) 19/12/2017

The plot is pretty standard fare; warring tribes, jealous brother usurps throne, young prince discovers his adversary ..... well, that would be telling wouldn't it. What is exceptional is the marionette animation, the strings of the title give life to the characters. When the strings are cut, the character dies. Great lighting and sense of theatre.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

A Man of No Importance

Charming and poignant

(Edit) 19/12/2017

I thoroughly enjoyed this film. Albert Finney is the centre piece, but there are brilliant cameos among the rest of the cast.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Renaissance

VISUALLY, ONE OF MY FAVOURITES

(Edit) 30/11/2017

I first saw this film some years ago, and was fascinated by it, and so wanted to see it again. Black and white, crisp and dramatic visuals, it uses a motion capture technique to end up like a highly sophisticated 'bande dessinee'. As it is set in Paris, that seems appropriate. The plot is pretty obscure, and even this second time round, I never completely understood it. But I don't care - I still loved it!

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Gleaners and I

Gentle and leisurely view of historical and modern gleaners

(Edit) 30/11/2017

The film begins with paintings of gleaners, a visual and historical view. Some interesting interviews with people who remember the practice, and how communal it was. But Varda also takes in more modern examples, some quite surprising, some highly creative. These give another take on what is essentially re-cycling and often 'up-cycling'. A pleasing film.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Phil Mulloy: Extreme Animation

NOT GOOD

(Edit) 01/11/2017

In fact, pretty awful. Normally I really like unusual and bizarre animation (and dislike cute Disney stuff). But this was obsessed with male genitalia and only had one or two themes, which were endlessly repeated. Lord knows what the BFI and C4 were thinking of.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Harvie Krumpet

CHARMING

(Edit) 01/11/2017

... without being sickly or infantile. This 'claymation' movie is good fun and nicely observed..........

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

A Scanner Darkly

FORMIDABLE ANIMATION

(Edit) 23/10/2017

Pretty bizarre. The storyline was probably not worth the the amount of work in the animation. But it was well done and a pleasure to see "adult" animation instead of cute elephants and google-eyed cats.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.
12

Help & support

Find answers to frequently asked questions and contact us should you need to

How It Works

See prices and levels and find out how Cinema Paradiso service works

Friends for Films

Invite your friends to join and get free subscription each month