Film Reviews by IanF

Welcome to IanF's film reviews page. IanF has written 34 reviews and rated 43 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Argo

Best Picture Oscar in it's year for a reason. Argo is great.

(Edit) 10/05/2021

This is a must watch, a true story released from 'TOP SECRET' only recently. The tension is unbearable by the end, but the build up is often funny too. Do watch it!

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

21 Bridges

21 Bridges - exciting cop film, with a star lead from Chadwick Boseman

(Edit) 29/03/2021

This is a very exciting film, with well done, if rather bloody, action sequences. Boseman is excellent as the seasoned detective investigating corruption in New York's police department, who doesn't know who to trust, if anybody!

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Reader

"The Reader", a moving exploration of the damage of war

(Edit) 05/03/2021

A lovely film, do see it if you haven't already. Kate Winslet deservedly won an Oscar for her role in this picture.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

3:10 to Yuma

Western schtik, by numbers.

(Edit) 01/03/2021

3:10 to Uma is ok, but for me the ending lets it down. The action, especially at the end, seemed driven by computer games violence, with no logic or believability.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

London Has Fallen

London has fallen review

(Edit) 24/01/2021

After the initial shocks, which are excellently done, if a bit unbeleivable, the continuing battle becomes a little formulaic, like a computer game. That said, it is exciting, and worth a look.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Battle of Algiers

From my 1000 top films of all time book - a tense, realistic war drama

(Edit) 31/12/2020

This film is B & W and French, with English subtitles. Real newsreel footage is spliced into well acted scenes - often using real combatants amongst the actors, to convey a shocking and poignant story. French paratroopers, professional and brutal, against political activists, who have to become increasingly brutal. They all die, but win in the end!!

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Point Blank

A top action thriller!

(Edit) 29/12/2020

Nobody tops Lee Marvin in an action film, and this is arguably his best ever. The plot and script are also top notch. For a 60s film, this has worn extremely well.

I urge you to see it!

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Papillon

A classic escape picture!

(Edit) 10/12/2020

If you haven''t seen the original Papillon, I strongly recommend it. Some of what he goes through is pretty hard to take, but it's also a warm 'buddy movie' and an exciting escape drama.

The amazing thing is, it's a true story. The subject was locked up in 1933, and did not finally escape for over 14 years.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Cross of Iron

Classic war film of Nazi Germany i Russia

(Edit) 25/11/2020

Feels a little dated now, but I wanted to see it again. Bloody and brutal, classic Sam Peckinpah. If you like war films, you'll like it!

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Defiance

Gripping War Film

(Edit) 02/10/2020

Daniel Craig was never better! This great war film was overlooked for awards, but made up for it in box office returns. Made between Craig's Bond debut 'Casino Royale' and it's sequel, this film is their equal in action packed entertainment and betters them in drama and gravity of (true) storyline. Jamie Bell and Liev Schreiber are equally memorable, and the large cast is faultless. A bit of WW2 history I didn't know, the years long battle of Jewish refugees to fight the Nazis from the great East European forest, you cannot fail to be entertained!

Rent it!!

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Hostiles

An excellent modern western!

(Edit) 08/09/2020

This is a really great film. Perhaps a bit bloody for some, but an exciting narrative that really portrays both sides of the conflict between the native red Indians and the white settlers.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

True Romance

A slow day for Tarantino

(Edit) 03/09/2020

A nice idea for a thriller with two innocents abroad meeting, and mostly getting the better of, terrible gangsters. Rather slow until the massive shoot out at the end. Bit dated now.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Le Mans '66

Better than your average car racing movie!

(Edit) 25/08/2020

A very exciting movie, with great interaction between Christian Bale and Matt Damon. A riveting story, featuring committed racers overcoming corporate bureaucracy within Ford.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Saving Private Ryan

Legendary War film, sags in the middle somewhat.

(Edit) 18/08/2020

Great start and closing battle scenes, but the 'human drama' does not ring true that fills up the middle. Guess I've been spoilt by 'Band of Brothers', which Speilburg made following the success of this film. He cut out all the false histrionics you would not get in a platoon of elite soldiers - even in the US army - which does not ring true at all.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Young Lions

Classic WW2 film

(Edit) 06/08/2020

Worth seeing for Marlon Brando's SS Officer alone. A great war movie, big in scale and drama. Black and white, but outstanding cinematography.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.
123