Film Reviews by RM

Welcome to RM's film reviews page. RM has written 11 reviews and rated 304 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Out of the Unknown

Older than 1971

(Edit) 03/03/2017

There is a mistake with the date on this series.It was first broadcast in 1965 not 1971. 26 episodes were made and it finished in 1966. All were made in black and white.

2 out of 3 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Southern Comfort

Unpleasant to watch.

(Edit) 07/02/2016

Found this film a bit too repulsive, over violent and self indulgent. It also contains unnecessary scenes of cruelty to animals- not at all pleasant.

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Killing Them Softly

Violent and tasteless.

(Edit) 10/11/2014

I just cannot understand how a film as bad as this can be made. The plot is thin and been better executed before (The Outfit or even Charlie Varrick) The latter thankfully had better acting, scripts, direction and less gratuitous violence. In this film the actors mumble a lot, the swearing over the top that covers up a dire script. The "F" word is used everywhere. This is an unpleasant, tasteless experience that is was happy to turn off.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Twister

Good effects, rotten story

(Edit) 10/11/2014

A film packed with stunning effects but let down with a weak story and awful script, the acing is a bit corny to. But if bored and you love disaster movies it will not disappoint.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Kremlin Letter

Truly awful

(Edit) 27/06/2014

I was sorry to have to watch this and sad that so many majestic actors got involved in this mish mash of worn out cliches, dreadful dialogue and absurd plot. Give it a miss

1 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Wait Until Dark

Has its moments

(Edit) 10/04/2014

Alan Arkin gives a great performance as a psychopathic criminal on the hunt for a doll stuffed with drugs. A simplistic plot used before in various guises, the gimmick here is that a blind woman played by Audrey Hepburn is the victim of circumstance after her husband after being handed the doll at an airport takes it home and loses it. The film is slow to take off and suffers from too much dialogue in places. However the ending is worth the wait and one scene made me jump out of my seat. Not a bad movie but could have been better.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

A Slight Case of Murder

Very enjoyable and funny

(Edit) 20/03/2014

Super little film enjoyed it immensely despite the dated dialogue, gave me a couple of belly laughs towards then end. Edward G is always worth a watch, would recommend

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Man from London

Powerful images but flawed.

(Edit) 24/08/2013

Watching this film is an endurance test. It could have been a masterpiece as the photography is superb in places but long dragged out shots and some arty farty scenes spoil the plot. Simenon who created Maigret wrote some down beat crime novels and this is one of them but the director has got carried away with the film noir style which overpowers the characters who seem detached from the events. Overlong frozen camera shots of gloomy faces, with a monotonous soundtrack take the edge off the film. The run time is wrongly indicated here it is 134 min not 90.

2 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Stranger

Chilling anti-nazi drama

(Edit) 25/02/2013

made just after the second world war this Orsen Wells directed drama tells in a matter of fact way the tracking down by a war crimes agent of a nazi war criminal who sent thousands of people to the gas chambers.

It is memorable on several counts; The brilliant black and white photography which adds to the content of the story but also there is the underlying truth that many Nazi warcriminals did escape to South America and the USA. There is tension all the way through this movie, which is enhanced by the peaceful small town location which the Nazi Franz Kindler (Orsen Wells) has made his home. In order to swallow up his past identity he marries a local girl who is unaware of his background.

The agent (Robinson) follows another Nazi who leads him to Kindler.

The film ends with a gripping climax involving a gruesome end to Kindler thanks to the town clock! Well worth watching.

2 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Stuff: Live at Montreux 1976

A rare film of a fabulous band

(Edit) 20/03/2010

Stuff were formed not long after backing Joe Cocker on his album "Stingray". The group consisted of Steve Gadd on drums, Cornell Dupree and Eric Gale on guitars, Gordon Edwards, bass and the keyboard player Richard Tee. Their brilliant musicianship resulted in several fine instrumental albums. This dvd recorded at a Montreux Jazz festival showcases some of their best performances. The two guitarists were already renowned for their jazz and blues influenced styles which can be amply heard hear. The brilliant rythm section of Gadd and Edwards drive the set at a frantic pace. Tee who was to go on to back a myriad of artists, including Paul Simon gospel influenced playing welds the whole band together. Apart from some dodgy camera work there is little to fault as the sound has been excellently restored. If you like 70's soul and jazz this is a must to watch.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Kansas City Confidential

Cracking Film Noir

(Edit) 06/03/2010

If you are a fan of film noir then this is a must see film, if not this will make you a fan. Kansas City Confidential is a typical hard boiled gangster thriller of the early 50's period. An ex-detective (Preston Foster) plots an armoured car heist and an ex-con (Robert Payne) going straight is put in the frame. When released for lack of evidence he goes after the gang. The three heavies are the nastiest bunch ever to be put together on the screen. Lee Van Cleef, Neville Brand and Jack Elam. Quite violent at times but very watchable.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Help & support

Find answers to frequently asked questions and contact us should you need to

How It Works

See prices and levels and find out how Cinema Paradiso service works

Friends for Films

Invite your friends to join and get free subscription each month