Film Reviews by JD

Welcome to JD's film reviews page. JD has written 9 reviews and rated 349 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Love Exposure

3 and a half hours too long

(Edit) 25/03/2020

Having been introduced to Sion Sono by watching 'Cold Fish' and 'Guilty of Romance' (which are both stunning works) I put a host of other SS films on my list. This one came through this week and I am so glad I did not watch this first as I would never have watched another of his movies. It is nearly 4 hours long which is 3 and a half hours over length. It is mad and infuriating and don't get me started on the Bolero theme! I had to turn the volume off for long periods. Seriously he does very good work but in my opinion start with the others and if you like them give this a chance but don't expect much.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Girl from Nowhere

Enigmatic indeed

(Edit) 11/01/2020

I can't begin to be as thoughtful as JS in his/her review but this film stayed with me long after I finished it. Intellectual yes but thought provoking too. A mix of many genres but so definitely French. 2 stand out performances from the leads. This could easily be a stage play and reminds me a little of Polanski's 'Venus in Fur' in its restrained intensity. A good watch!!

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

High Life

In space no-one can hear you scream

(Edit) 30/09/2019

As PG the other reviewer rightly points out 20 mins of a baby screaming usually does for me but I thought I would give it a chance. Wrong. Not one redeeming feature in the entire film. I thought Moon was the worst space film I had seen.. Now this has topped it. I really only like posting positive reviews but if I can save just one of you from enduring this it will have been worth it.

3 out of 13 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Piercing

Minus Star

(Edit) 16/07/2019

Cinema Paradiso need to revise their Star rating to accommodate this piece of utter drivel. I agree with Alphaville. Terminally boring but with added revulsion. How this got a comedy tag is beyond me. Then again takes all sorts?

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Sink or Swim

Uplifting

(Edit) 15/06/2019

Didn't get this with CP as Amazon had it for free.. But what a film.. The French equivalent of The Full Monty.. Sublime. 2 hours raced by. 5 stars.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

When Will I Be Loved

Goes from Worse to even worse

(Edit) 06/05/2019

Opens poorly, gradually gets worse and well you can guess. Unconvincing acting and direction is abysmal.

Cinema Paradiso really needs another star level for this level of cinema.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Annihilation

Avoid

(Edit) 11/04/2019

If you avoid 1 Sci Fi film avoid this one.

It's only saving grace is that it is SO slow you can fast forward through major chunks and not miss a thing.

I love Natalie Portman. I would watch a film of her reading a menu but totally miscast and let down by a horror of a script and plot but I hesitate to use that word.

2 out of 4 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Escobar

Up there with 5he godfather for all the wrong reasons

(Edit) 14/03/2019

So bardem thinks he can do a brando by talking like he's got cotton wool in his mouth. I caught every other 8th word. Either that or the dvd was out of whack. I think the former as stupidly the film subtitled the Spanish swearing immediately switching back to unintelligible English once the swearing had ended.

Overall could have been enjoyable film but spoilt by this

Now to the positives. Why should you watch this film? Why should you watch any film?

Because it stars penelope cruz. Frankly I would watch PC if it was a film about paint drying.

Her only blemish for me is vicky Christina Barcelona.. But I'll forgive anyone a mistake.

So although I've given 2 stars.. Watch it and maybe you'll make sense of it dialogue wise.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Atlantic City

All Time great

(Edit) 07/02/2018

How happy was I when I was forced to switch from lovefilm to cinema paradiso and found they had this gem which lovefilm didn't carry. Two outstanding performances from Burt Lancaster and Susan Sarandon which deserved their Oscar nominations. Louis Malle paints such an accurate picture of the time you immerse yourself in the seedy underbelly of Atlantic city from the off. A story of hope over despair and touching relationships it stands the test of time. It will always get 5 stars from me.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Help & support

Find answers to frequently asked questions and contact us should you need to

How It Works

See prices and levels and find out how Cinema Paradiso service works

Friends for Films

Invite your friends to join and get free subscription each month