Film Reviews by PM

Welcome to PM's film reviews page. PM has written 22 reviews and rated 25 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Roma

A worthy prizewinner

(Edit) 27/03/2021

There are enough good reviews of this film, and I agree with them, it is a masterpiece, both from the outstanding photography, development of atmosphere, and the considerable exercise of emotion.

Subtitles, by the way, can be switched on from the main menu.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Paris, Texas

Yep

(Edit) 14/02/2021

It's a slow burner, in my impatience I almost gave up on it, but I'm so glad I didn't. Great film and a worthy prize winner.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Transylvania

Not Dun Roamin yet

(Edit) 24/01/2021

One thing I love about Tony Gatlif's films is being able to watch them over and over again and finding new levels and subtle significances that I missed the first time around. In my opinion this isn't his best film, but it stands head and shoulders above most of the synthetic garbage that has been produced since computers and production took over from acting and direction. But don't listen to me! It could be that as I am such a fan of Gatlif and I have seen quite a few of his other films already, that this one is "another of the same kind". So if you've not seen any of his films, you may well be in for a treat.

If you look it up on IMDB you'll see that this film is pretty controversial, people either seem to love it or hate it, and in my view that's usually a good sign. Another great thing about this rental is that there's an interview in the special features with the great man himself, translated into english. I've not come across another like it. If you get the time to watch it you will find out that his approach to film making is quite unique, and in some respects is a journey from the unconscious to the conscious for the whole production team, cast and crew, much like the journey of the Roma themselves. Gatlif has an extraordinary back catalogue, and if you are interested in what it is that actually constitutes culture, and it's relationship to commerce and the artificial world of law that the human race has devised, and how that is reflected in attitudes to child rearing, generosity, forgiveness, rythm and harmony as they affect the individual, then don't hesitate...he's your man....On the other hand it could all be in my imagination....

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Exiles

Great movie

(Edit) 20/12/2020

Another absorbing film from Tony Gatlif, this time following two people migrating against the flow, ie from Europe to North Africa. As usual Gatlif expresses his talent for exploring realities that mainstream cinema tends to ignore, and disclosing beauty and integrity in unlikely places. Although he presents many scenes in a very artistic and sensitive way, there's also a very primordial, basic instinct quality to much of the film and it's perhaps because of this that the cathartic climax is so effective. In common with many of his other films, it is full of real life character studies, beautifully edited, but he also has a great talent for presenting culture as it is, or might be, without analysing or sanitising it.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

V for Vendetta

Movie making doesn't get much better

(Edit) 13/12/2020

This film has a lot of layers to the story and kept me engrossed all the way through. I had no problem with the editing which in my view gave the film a scintillating pace. Some masterful acting performances from an outstanding cast. A few years ago the plot would have been barely credible but sadly it seems the writer's warnings have been quite prophetic. A must see political thriller with some essential questions for the future, or just a great yarn; you choose.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Gadjo Dilo

Superb Gatlif Magic

(Edit) 28/11/2020

Absorbing from beginning to end, but be careful; I have seen two versions of this film, one with English subtitles had also been badly sanitised, so much so that the entire meaning of the film had been erased. I speak French but not Romanian, and it's very amusing to guess what's going on (without subtitles), as the French lad in the film has to. The more I see of Gatlif's films, the more I believe there is no one else in cinema who comes near him in terms of combining the imagination with culture, history and the dispassionate portrayal of the energy that motivates individuals. His films are at once iconic and also intensely personal, and always with the most respectful and joyful homage to the universe of music.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

KorKoro

Brilliant

(Edit) 30/10/2020

A restrained and sensitive tribute to a way of life and culture that has disappeared from the UK. Mesmerising from begining to end.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Latcho Drom

Real Cinema

(Edit) 30/10/2020

I wouldn't like to say too much about the way the film is presented, it's not a story and it's not a documentary, but if you have any interest at all in the movement of the Romani people from India across Europe and the influence of their culture and music, then don't hesitate. It's beautifully made and chock full of genuine and enthusiastic performances.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Topsy-Turvy

Excellent

(Edit) 20/09/2020

I'm not normally a fan of period drama, but this film excels in all departments. A witty and humurous script, acting to die for and really well composed camera work which constantly beckons the eye. It is a little on the long side but hey, when something is as well made as this, we shouldn't complain about getting too much! An added bonus is the Direcor's commentary available in special features

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Wonderwall

Shodashi Tantra

(Edit) 02/09/2020

I listened to the soundtrack of this film for many years before getting the chance to see it, and I've wondered many times what it would be like. Well I was certainly surprised beyond my expectations. It is a feast of visual imagery that plays a perfect partner to the excellent musical score, so much so that I was left puzzling as to which came first, the music or the image.

Call me bonkers but I thought the film was a rather genteel English approximation of the French cult classic Themroc, mainly I guess because of the wall and the exploration of isolated eccentricity. But I also noticed some very tantric symbolisms which were presented in an entertaining rather than an intellectual way. No doubt in my mind that either consciously or unconsciously this film is a homage to Shodashi the perfect form of the feminine. Enthralling.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Cows

Memorable Medem

(Edit) 20/08/2020

This is quite a serious film, full of drama and anticipation, with great acting and camera work. The detail of the story is not always easy to follow and I found it rewarding to watch it several times during the rental period. The qualities of the soundtrack and the production also emerged more clearly with repeated viewings.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

What's Eating Gilbert Grape?

A Memorable film

(Edit) 23/05/2020

I watched it not long after it's first release and again more recently, and it has lost none of it's atmosphere. It's a kind of polar opposite to Kerouac's on the road, telling the story of a family marooned in a small town. It is a simple enough story, but told with extraordinary sensitivity and which gets you involved incrementally until you are completely absorbed. Classic movie making IMHO.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Good Lie

Excellent

(Edit) 25/04/2020

I really enjoyed this film. It was carefully and sensitively made with strong acting and character development. While also maintaining a very good humour, it distilled a convincing picture of the reality behind the crumby newsbites that we never have time to digest. As soon as it was finished I wanted to watch it again.

2 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Dead Man

Well I liked it!

(Edit) 19/04/2020

It is a quiet film, a bit irritating, even harrowing in places, but it is also monumentally symbolic in a way that few other movies manage to attain. I doubt it would be so worth watching without Johnny Depp's enigmatic performance, but for me it is Gary Farmer who is the real star of the show. And it's a movie that is stuffed full of extraordinary larger than life characters. In many ways it's a series of portraits that intertwine with each other, and that may be why some people have found it too dull. Being more akin to a painting than an action movie.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Chappie

The ultimate in moral confusion?

(Edit) 19/04/2020

Hey I know it's just a bit of fantasy, but there is not one thing I can think of that I enjoyed about this film, and so many lazy corrupt stereotypes that it's difficult to imagine how the censors gave it a certificate at all

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.
12