Film Reviews by LA

Welcome to LA's film reviews page. LA has written 30 reviews and rated 158 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Mr. Malcom's List

Excellent!

(Edit) 01/02/2024

A nice twist on the regency Rom Com, more like Vanity Fair than Jane Austen with a satirical look at the marriage market and a lively cast of not always lovable characters. Sharp and funny and eminently watchable.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Rory's Way

Most amazing baby ever...

(Edit) 08/12/2023

Rather slow, but absolutely sincere with some lovely Hebridean scenery, and the most extraordinary performance from a baby ever...completely charming. Will look out for him in years and films to come.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

In Love and War

Beautiful but improbable

(Edit) 22/06/2023

Sandra Bullock is wonderful as are the styling and costumes, but as usual Hemingway only sells himself.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Wild Target

Fabulous

(Edit) 31/05/2023

A thousand times more entertaining than Knives Out, lovely cast make a really sympathetic team against some insane villains, despite being villains themselves. Bill Nighy just delightful and Emily and Rupert work really well as his team. Hilarious and strangely sympathetic. And bonus is Eileen Atkins as his mother, really insane...

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Ticket to Paradise

Paradise Ruined

(Edit) 20/03/2023

How can they ruin a gorgeous location like Bali, destroy two usually perfectly appealing performers and shatter the whole concept of the rom com all in one fell swoop....Dismal stuff.

2 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Wah-Wah

Brilliant Autobio from Richard E Grant

(Edit) 10/02/2023

Although it's sad he isn't in it, the casting is fabulous, with Gabriel Byrne as his Dad, and Nicholas Hoult as himself when young growing up in Swaziland. One of the first films ever shot there, and Grant's first go at directing it is remarkable, as he admits in a documentary also included on the DVD that it all worked out so well. Fantastic back up casting from a familiar team, all of whom are wonderful. Dangerous, sad, but also truthful and funny.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Spencer

Last Year in Sandringham...

(Edit) 07/03/2022

An odd fantasy exercise more like Last Year in Marienbad than The Crown, and perhaps better for it. Treat this as total fiction and it is visually entertaining and has some great performances.

4 out of 5 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Frankie

Disappointing

(Edit) 25/01/2022

Glum bunch of characters fail to resolve their family difficulties. Very disappointing use of some excellent actors.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

A Mighty Wind

Not so mighty

(Edit) 22/10/2021

A bit slow, but surprisingly well sung and thankfully avoided cliche horror performance ending. Not quite kooky, not quite comedy.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Molière

Absolute heaven - hilarious and touching

(Edit) 23/08/2021

Fantastic team of actors play a made up Moliere adventure exploring many of the tropes of his plays, comedy as tragedy, obsessional love, general human folly in the most glorious period chateau setting, with all the manners and splendour of the Comedie Francaise. Bewitching and hysterically funny.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Mood Indigo

Bizarre

(Edit) 22/06/2021

Took a bit of getting used to, wildly crazy visually overloaded experimental fairytale fantasy madness, but good actors so after a while it grows on you, maybe.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Capernaum

Stunning Team Production

(Edit) 13/05/2021

An incredible co-operative group effort from the film production team and all the characters in the film is revealed in the footage showing the making of the story at the end of this film. The most poignant central relationship in the story of Capernaum - real life in chaos - is between a small boy and a baby, both left to care for themselves and each other in the poverty stricken suburbs of Beirut. Sad, but also very moving. And when you see the involvement of the team, the children and their real families it is all the more extraordinary.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Parasite

Comedy? You have to be joking...slasher horror.

(Edit) 05/05/2021

Horrifically upsetting and depressing horror story which has apparently led to unfortunate slum tourism and social unhappiness in its home country.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Closet

Hilarious

(Edit) 01/04/2021

Brilliant and unexpected performances from Daniel Auteuil and Gerard Depardieu in a wonderful send up of office politics - in of all places a condom factory.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Between Strangers

Rather grim

(Edit) 25/03/2021

Strangely brutal and lurid, not 'touching and heartfelt' at all...three women trapped by men, and unable to express their art or themselves. And the art itself when shown was equally violent and unpleasant.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.
12