Film Reviews by MP

Welcome to MP's film reviews page. MP has written 9 reviews and rated 12 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Ava

Just give up on the female action films Hollywood!!

(Edit) 30/11/2020

Yet another Hollywood attempt at a strong female 'action' lead, 'empowered woman' etc etc.

There's never going to be a decent female version of Bond/Bourne/John Wick and this goes to prove it Loads of speeded up fight scenes and a lousy story line.

If you want a decent female action flick then try Haywire , which is only made good by the fact the female lead Gina Corano is an ex MMA fighter so actually knows how to handle herself and isn't playing at it.

1 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Happytime Murders

Reviews put me off.....

(Edit) 07/05/2020

......so I never bothered watching it. Plus nobody can do puppet based humour quite as well as Team America.

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Sweeney

Awful

(Edit) 07/05/2020

Would give it half a star if I could (or none).

Truly British filmmaking at it's very worst. Winstone is becoming a one trick pony and it's about time he retired.

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

47 Meters Down

Swim past it.

(Edit) 26/04/2020

Unlike the actors don't hold your breath expecting this to be a good movie as it isn't. They chat so much under the water that its a surprise they didn't use up all their air in about 5 minutes .Avoid.

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Messenger: The Story of Joan of Arc

Not as good as I hoped.

(Edit) 24/04/2020

So it turns out Joan of Arc was a bit of an unhinged schoolgirl that somehow managed to attract a cult following, a bit like a medieval Greta Thunberg, albeit more bloodthirsty.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Upside

Don't go anywhere near it!!

(Edit) 23/07/2019

Looks awful from the trailer.Typical Hollywood rehash and ruination of the original French film called Untouchable which is absolutely brilliant.

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Shot Caller

Rubbish

(Edit) 23/12/2018

Spoiler Alert: Mild mannered Businessman goes to prison for Vehicular Manslaughter , ends up Tattooed up to the eyeballs, leader of a White Supremacist gang and hardened killer who it turns out can stab people without flinching or seemingly caring about it.

I guess inside every happily married middle class Businessman in California there's a Nazi Gang leading Psycho waiting to get out!

Absolutely ridiculous storyline!

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

A Simple Favour

Very good.

(Edit) 12/10/2018

Saw this in the cinema and was pleasantly surprised. Don't be fooled into thinking it's a 'chick flick' as it's definitely not. It's very good and despite guessing the twist half way through I still enjoyed. Both leads are great and it's the first time I've since Blake Lively in anything and she was excellent in her role. Definitely give it a go!.

8 out of 8 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Hotel Terminus

Goes on far too long.

(Edit) 31/08/2018

As someone who has read a lot of books and watched a lot of documentaries about the hunt for missing Nazis I really looking forward to this , however stretching over 2 discs this goes on way too long and I switched off early in disc 2.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Help & support

Find answers to frequently asked questions and contact us should you need to

How It Works

See prices and levels and find out how Cinema Paradiso service works

Friends for Films

Invite your friends to join and get free subscription each month