Film Reviews by VG

Welcome to VG's film reviews page. VG has written 29 reviews and rated 29 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Saw

Starts well then tails off

(Edit) 22/03/2021

A shonkily produced kidnap mystery of torture both psychological and physical, effective in its claustrophobia but silly when it gets frantic.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Climax

Dazzling inventive

(Edit) 22/03/2021

A dizzying, delirious and deranged descent of dance, colour, long takes, sex talk, chaos and intoxicated, altered states of mind.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Girl Who Leapt Through Time

Gorgeous, moving, charming, funny and an absolute delight

(Edit) 09/03/2021

A beautiful, charming and moving animated drama of growing pains and time travel that balances wit, emotion, pathos, drama and peril.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Green Room

Effectively horrible

(Edit) 03/03/2021

A gripping, visceral and increasingly chilling folk horror of claustrophobic space, escalating violence and the breakdown of morality.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Raw

Brutal and intense

(Edit) 03/03/2021

An intense, visceral, shocking and disturbing coming-of-age metaphor of body horror, monstrous appetites, ridiculous rituals, personal and familial identity.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Oculus

Really gets under your skin and into your mind

(Edit) 24/02/2021

An affecting, creepy, viscerally shocking and grisly horror of reflections visual, familial and psychological.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Timecrimes

Doing the crime by doing the time

(Edit) 24/02/2021

A smart, gritty, intimate and cunning thriller of temporal paradox, misfortune, hubris and the struggle between choice and inevitability.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The House That Jack Built

Equal parts frustrating and fascinating

(Edit) 02/02/2021

A chilling, appropriately horrible, interchangeably ghastly and beautiful portrait of our propensity for creativity and cruelty, teetering precariously on the knife edge between profundity and absurdity. Very Lars.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Teeth

Gleefully wicked!

(Edit) 17/01/2021

A wickedly funny, knowingly wry and effectively gruesome satire on sexual mores, fairly writhing with hormones, toxic masculinity, body horror and why it’s good to be bad.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Inside

Intense, ferocious and utterly horrific - in a good way!

(Edit) 08/01/2021

An intense, unflinchingly horrific, viscerally violent and unremittingly brutal home invasion horror of ferocity, revenge and maternity.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Lost Highway

Don't understand it but wow!

(Edit) 04/01/2021

A bizarre, beautiful and bewildering blend of psychosexual shifting and neo-noir nightmare. Feel it, puzzle over it but no need to understand it.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Trouble Every Day

See it, eat it, love it.

(Edit) 04/01/2021

A beautifully disparate, unsettling and eerily visceral portrait of literally consuming obsession, rendered through discomfiting close-ups.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Martyrs

Deserving of its reputation

(Edit) 04/01/2021

A jarring, relentless, brutal and powerful assault of body horror, mental anguish, depravity and existential nothingness.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Primer

Deliciously confusing

(Edit) 24/11/2020

A low key and mesmerisingly disorienting journey through science, construction, causality and consequence.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Dead Ringers

Eerie and tragic

(Edit) 18/11/2020

An eerie, chilling and desperately melancholic portrait of codependency, blurring identities, bodily fascination and dangerous addictions.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.
12