Film Reviews by giantrolo

Welcome to giantrolo's film reviews page. giantrolo has written 17 reviews and rated 26 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Possessor

Great plot, but extremely gory

(Edit) 03/03/2021

Liked this film's plot and loved the feel of how the film was shot - featuring some great locations in Toronto. Brilliant performances by essentially all of the actors. It was an incredibly gory, violent and gruesome film, though, so be prepared for that. Recommended!

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Shirley

A slightly odd film, but a decent story and plot twist

(Edit) 17/02/2021

We love Elizabeth Moss so had to rent this film! An excellent performance as ever from her, and from her on-screen husband. It was an odd film in a way, in that it wasn't always clear who was who, but that was sort of explained at the end when the plot twist was revealed. A very interesting factoid was that this film dramatised a real-life horror writer, Shirley Jackson, which we didn't realise from the start. Loved that the character of Rose Nemser was actually reading one of Shirley Jackson's actual books, The Lottery, on the train! That was a really nice homage. Overall, not a bad film, but I'm not sure I'd recommend it.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The New Mutants

Very watchable but the storytelling felt a bit disjointed

(Edit) 28/01/2021

Generally, we thought this was a good film with our favourites, Arya from Game of Thrones; Beth Harmon from Queen's Gambit; and Jonathan Byers from Stranger Things! The story was decent, but somehow felt a bit disjointed in parts, as if the characters didn't really gel together. There seemed to be a bit of a plot fail as well - why could Dani Moonstar overcome her fear (the spirit bear) when the others seemingly couldn't? Overall, I would recommend this but perhaps not very highly.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Eternal Beauty

A strange watch

(Edit) 22/01/2021

Sadly, we had to give up on this film a third of the way through. A very strange plot with a very strange feel - in that sense, it probably perfectly captured the feeling of paranoid schizophrenia that was central to the idea of the film. Sally Hawkins put in an amazing performance, but I couldn't recommend this film. Disappointing.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Trial by Fire

Fantastic film with stellar performances

(Edit) 08/01/2021

Loved this film! Very poignant and moving knowing that the story was based in truth. Laura Dern and Jack O'Connell both put in magnificant performances. This film provides yet another reason why the death penalty should be abolished in the USA - the killing of innocent men surely has to be considered as murder itself.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Dark Waters

Great film with great characters

(Edit) 26/11/2020

Loved this film! A great story of the incredibly drawn out legal process involved in uncovering Dupont's very real Teflon cover-up and criminal negligence. The tenacity of the lawyer who went after DuPont - to the detriment of his own personal life - was astounding and so well portrayed. They really did try every trick in the book to wriggle out of their responsibilities to care for hundreds of people who suffered terrible diseases or worse after being exposed to Teflon by-products (either in the manufacturing plant or in the landfills where Dupont dumped their highly toxic sludge). Great performances by Mark Ruffalo, Anne Hathway and Tim Robbins, and we particularly enjoyed the guest appearances from the real-life people involved in this story. A solid film about the lengths that some corporate industries will go to to hide the truth - an issue that more people need to be aware of! If you liked Erin Brockovich, you will love this film. Highly recommended.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Elizabeth is Missing

Fantastic portrayal of dementia wrapped around a historical crime

(Edit) 05/11/2020

Glenda Jackson gives a fantastic performance as an elderly lady with dementia who is looking for her missing friend (Elizabeth). With some great supporting performances from her daughter and grand-daughter, this is a great film that gives viewers a gritty understanding of what life with a parent with dementia is like. Quite hard to watch in places, definitely not a cheery film, but very good nonetheless.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Military Wives

Heart wrenching but beautiful

(Edit) 15/10/2020

Loved this film! It was a proper tear jerker - I spent about 25% of the film quietly sobbing! - but it was so lovely that it was worth the tears. It shines a spotlight on a really important part of society that I never really thought about (or considered existed) - the wives or partners of those brave soldiers who go out and fight for their country. Excellent performances, lovely vocals and definitely a highly recommended film!

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Salisbury Poisonings

Great series capturing a dramatic piece of Russian espionage on British soil

(Edit) 26/08/2020

Love, love, loved this TV series! It was a very hard hitting story involving a very complex, in-depth public health operation on a massive scale - much more serious than I realised at the time - and an extraordinary incident of Russian espionage on British soil. I went for this one as it had Anne Marie Duff in, and she did not disappoint! Fantastic performance from her, and from all the main characters, really. You really got embroiled in the stress, anxiety and high emotion of the story. Lovely ending shots where the real people involved in the story were profiled.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Transit

Quite an odd film, but not a bad watch

(Edit) 14/07/2020

This film had a very odd setting, turning a story clearly set in World War II right on its head by setting it in a modern day world full of polyester clothes, sleek cars and high-rise apartment blocks; and giving the main character who is trying to flee his oppressors a German accent in a French town. The main character, Georg, spends most of the film in a relentless but somewhat unenergetic search to escape France. There are some nice moments in the film, but generally it was so hard to follow and understand that it was a proper challenge to keep up. It may be a better watch if you've had the benefit of reading the book first (we hadn't). Not a bad watch, but I probably wouldn't recommend it.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Little Women

Fantastic film

(Edit) 02/07/2020

Really, really loved this film. A modern portrayal of a classic book, with fantastic acting from Laura Dern, Saoirse Ronan, Emma Watson and fickle aunt, Meryl Streep. The exta feature introducing Louise May Alcott's home, now a tourist attraction, is also well worth a watch. Very highly recommended!

0 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Room

Great storyline, great acting

(Edit) 17/06/2020

Loved this film! Such an unusual storyline, but the written dialogue and excellent acting made it very real and believeable. Recommended!

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Red Sparrow

Floppy storyline

(Edit) 22/04/2020

We generally enjoyed this film, but felt that the storyline was a bit weak. Not very compelling, but not hideous either. Also featuring a slightly unrealistic timeframe in which Jennifer Lawrence's character recovers from a terribly broken leg!

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Good Liar

Great acting but a fairly implausible twist

(Edit) 22/04/2020

Great acting from two excellent forces of nature - Helen Mirren and Ian McKellan. Generally a good plotline but a somewhat implausible twist towards the end.

1 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

First Man

Slow Ride

(Edit) 16/07/2019

Overall, this wasn't a bad film, but it felt like it dragged the whole way through. Neil Armstrong wasn't really that likeable in this portrayal, which probably didn't help matters.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.
12

Help & support

Find answers to frequently asked questions and contact us should you need to

How It Works

See prices and levels and find out how Cinema Paradiso service works

Friends for Films

Invite your friends to join and get free subscription each month