Film Reviews by Spoons

Welcome to Spoons's film reviews page. Spoons has written 48 reviews and rated 213 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Fantasy Island

Boss De Plane!

(Edit) 08/04/2021

Based loosely on the 70s TV series, Fantasy Island is a highly entertaining piece of utter nonsence but it's not trying to hide the fact that is exactly what it's meant to be. It really doesn't deserve the reviews it garnered from the so called critics. Grab your mates, get the beers in and above all.....ENJOY.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

House of Whipcord

Whip Crackaway

(Edit) 08/04/2021

Pete Walker's House Of Whipcord is nowhere near as sordid as the title suggests but that doesn't stop it from being a damn fine piece of entertainment. Worth watching for the brilliant unhinged performance (yet again) of Sheila Keith. 70's British horror at it's best. Recommended.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Blood Rage

Twins Of Evil

(Edit) 27/03/2021

Blood Rage is one of a handful of films in an elite group. What I mean by that is there were so many horror films in the 80s that were branded as nasties deemed obscene and subsequently banned, when in actual reality, most were garbage, laughable and never warranted the nasties tag at all. Blood Rage is one that manages to stand out from the dross. I missed this first time around and it really bought back that 80S VHS vibe and excitement you got when you hoped you was about to watch something shocking. This has all the right ingredients of what a video nasty should be. Sure it's dated and by today's standards it's relatively tame, but if you want low budget sleaze that punches well above it's weight then this little shocker hits the mark.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Hereditary

Keep It In The Family

(Edit) 22/06/2020

I must admit, thirty minutes into Hereditary I was starting to wish I had taken notice of some of the previous reviews of this film as it seemed (and seemed is the key word) painfully slow. It suddenly changes pace and you realise all that had gone before was essential to what was starting to unfold. Once the slow burn is over it grabs you by the throat and doesn't let goand in doing so it becomes a very harrowing and at times disturbing ride. Not many films stay with me after the end credits have rolled but this one certainly did. If you like the thinking person's take on horror movies aimed at the more serious and mature audience then Hereditary come highly recommended.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Slaughter High

Video Store Memories

(Edit) 13/06/2020

I used to work in a video rental outlet back in the 80's and being a big horror film fan always remembered this sitting on the shelf. Never got round to seeing it which was probably not a bad thing. However for all it's grade Z cheesiness it is far more enjoyable than it deserves to be. If your in the mood for a bit of 80's video nastiness this could well sastisfy if not corrupt you. Footnote: The original UK VHS video release was cut. This restored print release is fully uncut.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Island

Michael CANES The Pirates

(Edit) 20/04/2020

The Island is an enjoyable action adventure flick which is largely forgotton. This may have been down to the poor reviews it received upon it's initial cinema release which in my opinion were un warranted. It's based on the novel by Peter Benchley who we all know was responsible for one of the greatest books and thanks to Mr Spielberg films of all time. While The Island would be impossible to even come close to Jaws, it is however far more entertaining than the rather lackluster The Deep which was also penned by Mr Benchley. Good escapism and at times rather violent and of course Michael Caine doing his best impression of......well...Michael Caine.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

And Now the Screaming Starts!

These Lungs Were Made For Screaming!

(Edit) 08/04/2020

Enjoyable Amicus horror from a time when CGI and gross out gore FX didn't exist. This is the sort of movie that would turn up on BBC 2s horror double bill season late on Saturday nights back in the late 70's' early 80's. I saw most of those but must of missed this one so I was pleased to see Cinema Paradiso had this in their catologue. Good perfomances from a good cast and Mr Cushing is always a treat to watch. All in all a nice atmospheric chiller.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Halloween

This Trick Is Certainly No Treat

(Edit) 31/03/2020

I really wanted to enjoy Halloween but sadly I just didn't. This is a yet another pointless entry into an already overdone franchise. This and all the other sequels tarnish the name of the 1978 classic which never was and never will be surpassed. Please, let's just let Mr Myers RIP.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Stepfather

Don't Step On This Father's Toes

(Edit) 26/02/2020

Saw this when first released back in the 80's. Terry O'Quinn gives a chilling performance as the psychotic stepfather and the supporting cast are also good. I would say that it's slightly better than the remake and it still holds up well today. The only thing that really dates it is the score, which really is typically eighties. Enjoyable.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Stripes

A Comedy Classic That's Earned It's STRIPES

(Edit) 21/01/2020

I first saw Stripes way back in 1981 upon it's cinema release and thought it was ok but that's because I was only 15 and probably not mature enough to appreciate a lot of the gags and dialogue. Having just visited it again I can say without hesitation that this is a true comedy classic, absolutely hilarious with actors that went on to become comedy legends. The Graduation Day sequence had me in absolute hysterics. They can't seem to make comedies like this anymore and if you haven't seen it, then please check it out, you won't be disappointed.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Alice, Sweet Alice

This Alice Ain't From Wonderland

(Edit) 10/01/2020

I'm not quite sure why Alice Sweet Alice (aka Communion) has achieved some kind of cult status. It's nothing more than a slightly above average thriller and dialogue heavy. It's billed as a horror flick which it certainly isn't, although it does boast a couple of gruesome murders. Another film that was on the DPP video nasties list back in the 80's and yet again I have to ask "WHY"

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Terror at the Opera

Would I Pay A Tenor To Watch This Opera!!!! Probably

(Edit) 10/01/2020

Let's be honest. Dario Argento never has and never will top Suspiria, but Opera (or Terror At The Opera) comes pretty close. It has all the classic Argento trademarks. Brutal and bloody murders, terrific set pieces, awesome POV camerawork and a great score. It does indeed combine elements of his previous works, Inferno, Phenomena and of course Suspiria, which for me are his greatest achievments. After the very disappointing Trauma and The Phantom Of The Opera, this is Argento back at his best.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Wait Until Dark

Blind Fury

(Edit) 20/12/2019

I enjoyed Wait Until Dark but it wasn't quite the classic I was expecting. This was based on a stage play and the movie has that same sort of feel. It's set in one room with five characters and the film at times does feel very much like a stage play. However, the actors are terrific and Audrey Hepburn gives a tour de force performance as the blind woman in peril.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Possession

A Forgotten Masterpiece That Demands To Be Seen

(Edit) 20/12/2019

I Can't believe that for nearly thirty nine years I have been missing out on this brilliant movie, I knew of it but just never got round to seeing it. Now thanks to Cinema Paradiso I have just witnessed one of the most mind blowing movie experiences ever. Utterlly compelling, disturbing and shocking, this had me watching open mouthed from beginning to end and it's a very long time since a movie has had that effect on me. Isabelle Adjani's perfomance will leave you shell shocked and surely must go down in cinema history as one of the greatest portrayals of a woman breaking apart ever. A big thank you must also go to the distributor for releasing a beautiful uncut print.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Streets of Fire

A Rip Roaring Rock N Riot Of A Movie

(Edit) 14/12/2019

I Dont' think Walter Hill ever made a bad movie and this is certainly one of his best. First saw this upon release at the cinema and it still stands up today as a piece of highl entertainment. Great music, fantastic action set pieces and a terrific cast. Watch it with the volume loud and on a surround sound system and you'll have a great time.

2 out of 2 members found this review helpful.
1234