Film Reviews by vs

Welcome to vs's film reviews page. vs has written 11 reviews and rated 18 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Dead Long Enough

Michael Sheen at his worst

(Edit) 06/01/2021

I was looking forward to watching this film as it had a strong cast but comedy it was not. I don't know what it was trying to be but even the actors appeared to be embarrassed to appear in it. Watched about a third but then couldn't stomach any more and sent it back. One of the worst films I have not managed to see through to the end.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Back to Burgundy

Beautifully filmed

(Edit) 25/11/2020

I loved this film. The filming is beautiful and captured Burgundy perfectly. It is also very subtle and if someone likes Hollywood Blockbusters they will not like this. The interaction between the characters and families was also interesting and it is one of those movies where the viewer is left refreshed. I didn't want it to end.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

A Knight's Tale

Dreadful

(Edit) 17/06/2020

I possibly didn't give this film a chance but I attempted to watch this with my husband and after less than ten minutes had to switch it off. The sound quality was poor and it was difficult to hear what the actors were saying as the speech was slurred. The "music" did not fit the film and was jarring but perhaps this was intentional. I had expected much better given the actors but basically we found it unwatchable. Just a silly romp.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Hereditary

Black comedy?

(Edit) 30/01/2020

I watched this until the end in the hope that it might improve but it didn't. The blurb makes it sound interesting but I found it very difficult to keep awake. One of the worst films I have watched.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Slow West

Worth a watch

(Edit) 09/12/2019

Loved this film with its many references to other classic westerns and to Shakespeare's Romeo and Juliet. Filming is beautiful and it is one of those rare films which I just didn't want to end. However, the dialogue and references were sometimes anachronistic and this jarred but it didn't detract from my enjoyment of the film. I found the ending unbelievable but I think this was deliberate and the director emphasising that it is a story afterall.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Wheeler

Disappointment

(Edit) 11/04/2019

I was really looking forward to watching this film and although I loved the music I found the dialogue impossible to follow as did my husband. I think with some American films it is a mistake not to include subtitles because although it is English the American drawl sometimes makes it difficult or as in this case, impossible to follow.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Song of Granite

Beautiful and moving

(Edit) 21/01/2019

Excellent film and beautifully filmed in black and white. Very atmospheric and so true to the traditional Irish singing. Loved it. My only criticism is that I would have liked a subtitles to translate the gaelic in the songs.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Cinema Paradiso

Refreshing

(Edit) 22/11/2018

A beautiful and moving film with such believable characters. Moving in parts and very thought provoking. I would watch this film again and probably will do again soon. It brought out the ephemeral nature of art and life. Reminiscent of The Tempest.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Outlander: Series 3

Past its best

(Edit) 04/10/2018

I really feel that this series has now been dragged out for too long and that the director is using the interminable sex scenes as padding. I enjoyed the first series and thought it was full of interesting ideas but unfortunately the programme is both literally and metaphorically losing the plot.

2 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Tumbledown

Disappointment

(Edit) 20/06/2018

I was looking forward to watching this given the blurb but the narrative was so weak that I gave up before the end. It was extremely difficult to listen to and as there were no subtitles given that it was filmed in the states it was impossible to follow. It sounded as if it had been recorded in a bath tub and there were two of us trying to listen so it was not due to our hearing problems.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Il Postino

Beautiful and moving

(Edit) 10/04/2018

I was enchanted by this film from the very start. The acting, filming in this gloriously understated film was stunning. I've not been so moved by a film for years.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Help & support

Find answers to frequently asked questions and contact us should you need to

How It Works

See prices and levels and find out how Cinema Paradiso service works

Friends for Films

Invite your friends to join and get free subscription each month