Film Reviews by DT

Welcome to DT's film reviews page. DT has written 12 reviews and rated 27 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Radioactive

Terrible

(Edit) 29/05/2021

What a pity, such an incredible story about a wonderfully inspiring woman which has been dumbed down to the nth degree, awful casting(Pike should have run for the hills), terrible terrible script and stuttering screen play makes for a totally boring piece of cinema - Hollywood at it's worst

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Summerland

Simply Too PC

(Edit) 02/12/2020

Was expecting something historically accurate wrt types of people, social "norms" - regrettably this has been made with maximum current day PC treatment that it's a farce. Not at all entertaining.

2 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Love Sarah

Awful - Simply Awful

(Edit) 27/09/2020

Tried this because it featured Celia Imrie. She was her wonderfully unremarkable self, as was Bill P but, in our view, they were both very wrong to chose this to supplement their pensions. The script is stumblingly boring and lacking in any imagination and so so predictably uneventful. The other actors were wooden and the whole thing was more like a Channel 5 soap. So, there you are - awful.   

1 out of 3 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Babette's Feast

Fundamentally flawed

(Edit) 26/12/2019

Can't imagine how bad the original draft script was which when combined with terrible screen play and poor casting is, well, simply crap

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Play It to the Bone

Must Have Been Short of Cash!

(Edit) 12/11/2019

Poor screen directing, awfully predictable story line - WH and AB must have been on their uppers to have made this. WH comes out best - only juts and not a film I would recommend.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Stan and Ollie

Dire

(Edit) 29/06/2019

My expectation was raised by a great historical story line and a very carefully crafted trailer. But in acting terms, what do you get when you combine 2 very average performers ? Answer, a less than average result with, on both parts, is best described as  "wooden: and  which, when combined with a very poor script and some awfully amateurish direction makes for a dire result - shame. A good opportunity lost.

0 out of 4 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Finding Your Feet

Dire

(Edit) 25/06/2019

A cast to die for but a script and direction more akin to say Channel 5 afternoon tv. such a shame. Such an experience is now, regrettably, not uncommon with are "mature" actors being seduced by the financial motives and autumnal career fluttering. 

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

L'Amant Double

Dire, Simply Dire

(Edit) 04/06/2019

Cannot find the words but a few which occur: mindless, talentless, thoughtless, clueless etc etc etc etc etc etc etc etc etc etc etc etc etc etc etc 

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Edie

Simply Awful

(Edit) 26/03/2019

The beginning is a clumsy attempt at the now hackneyed them of a bullying husband and a wife trapped in the role as a full time carer. In her earlier years, Hancock would have made a decent attempt at this but this was emotionless, empty and engineered no empathy. Poor casting throughout combined with and an incredible storyline made for really dull watching. Sheila Hancock please retire gracefully.

0 out of 4 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Let's Talk About the Rain

Simply Terrible

(Edit) 30/12/2018

Have seen a few French films which have turned out to be "odd" - this takes the top slot for just being absolutely terrible in all respects - 'nuf said.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Let the Sunshine In

Aweful

(Edit) 31/07/2018

Why JB decided that this was a good idea I shall never understand, Simply wooden acting by male actors and terrible script and narrative. By far the worst JB movie I have ever seen.

2 out of 4 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Promised Land

Feel Good ?

(Edit) 15/01/2018

Yes, by choice of subject this is anti-fracking but to my mind (and experience) this is more anti-major corporate bullying and shenanigans .

Some, but not all of the tricks and games played out in real life are "exposed" e.g. dressing down to fit in with locals, getting drunk in local bars, buying second hand beat-up car to defeat the perception of big time company with big time money to give away, sponsoring local events to buy friends and last but not least the part played by environmental groups.

If you are a Damon or a Frances McDormand fan this is plain good fun.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.