Film Reviews by PT

Welcome to PT's film reviews page. PT has written 11 reviews and rated 110 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

A Conspiracy of Faith

Disturbing, wonderful, beautiful, gripping,

(Edit) 14/01/2021

The dynamic trio ride again. Rosa, Carl, Assad interact delightfully.

Particularly disturbing crimes, hugely painful emotional toll for the victims and our heros, balanced by our heros' care for each other, for the children and their parents, and of course by their detection of the crime.

Beautiful cinematography as ever forms the backdrop.

Acting is once again wonderful across the board, it is like looking through a window into real people's lives, albeit in horribly extreme circumstances.

Once you have watched this, watch the other three Department Q films (excluding the 2021 film which has completely different cast).

With subtitles, so a chance to pick up some words in Danish too, while you're gripped by the story.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Resistance

Hollywood movie

(Edit) 07/01/2021

The are enough French films in this genre with grit and integrity.

This is a Hollywoodised version.

Sickly sweet take on subject matter that is worth vastly more.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Purity of Vengeance

Department Q genius

(Edit) 05/01/2021

Wow! Nordic Noir at the top of its game. Watch the Dept Q series of films in sequence if you can. Brilliant cinematography, story as dark and thrilling as the others in the series, consistent jeopardy kept me on the edge of my seat. Nicholas Lie Kaas and Fares Fares are genius together, I can't help loving them both. Please let there be another one!

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Yesterday

No warmth, no spark

(Edit) 18/12/2019

Very disappointed.

With the history behind Danny Boyle and Richard Curtis, this should have been a gem, but zero chemistry between Lily James and Himesh Patel, not a single character you can really like.

Bless Ed Sheeran :-), the bright spot in a dull film.

1 out of 3 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Damsel

Why?

(Edit) 13/05/2019

Just bizarre and ugly. No redeeming features. Such as waste of tallent from Mia and Robert, both of whome have led in excellent films.

1 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Guilty

Wow, the suspense!

(Edit) 01/05/2019

Sit back and live the suspense as the story unfolds for Asger.

Brilliantly simple setting and idea.

Brilliant acting!

The focus is tight, the story is intense and you are held in suspense while you live the story through Asger, and it doesn't let up once it starts right through to the end.

Totally believable characters.

Nothing Hollywood here ,,, just an excellent film.

In Danish with subtitles.

5 out of 5 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Braven

Very disappointing

(Edit) 06/10/2018

Jason is OK, otherwise just the standard US TV formula transferred into a film.

Just watch the trailer and save yourself from the film.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Sweet Country

Dislikeable period in history.

(Edit) 06/10/2018

All but the lead character are difficult to like, Lots of bullying, intimidation, brutality and of course, the main theme of the film, the deep rooted racism against aboriginies.

The film draws a picture of that era in Australian history, draws a grity picture of life with very few people enjoying any happiness.

Grity, little to please other than the scope of the Australian outback.

1 out of 3 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Machine Gun Preacher

Difficult to like either the main character or the film

(Edit) 23/10/2017

Main character is difficult to like as a person.

The film is not very enjoyable.

Has resmblances to Blood Diamond in general topic, without any of the charisma or the intensity or the beauty.

Do you remember when Gerard Butler had charisma overflowing!

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Keeper of Lost Causes

Superb detective thriller

(Edit) 10/01/2017

The scandanavian film industry has produced some gems ... this is one of them.

No need for car chases, the gripping story and excellent characterisation draw you in until you are living it.

The chemistry between Kaas and Fares brings the film alive.

Thoroughly recommended for anyone who enjoys Inspector Morse (with John Thaw, born for the part!) and Wallander, although this film is darker than both.

Enjoy this one! Then look out for the sequals, The Absent One and A Conspiracy of Faith, with one more to be made in the series.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Pride and Prejudice and Zombies

A strange mix

(Edit) 13/07/2016

This film attempts to meld zombie tonge in cheek with true jane austen.

Not a good mix.

It needs humour to meld the two and humour is lacking.

Unfortunately, for the most part, so is strong acting ... it's all a bit insipid.

However, Matt Smith plays a marvelous Mr Colins ... he is absolutely excellent, a joy!

Enjoy the trailer and skip the film.

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.