Film Reviews by JH

Welcome to JH's film reviews page. JH has written 8 reviews and rated 8 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Guard of Auschwitz

Awful!

(Edit) 28/07/2020

One of the worst films I've ever seen. Badly acted, unconvincing, looks as though it was made on a very small budget.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Black Mirror: Series 1

Awful!

(Edit) 26/02/2019

Expected a series, but got separate short films. Gave up after 'episode' 2--complete nonsense! Came recommended, so very disappointed.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

My King

No subtitles!!

(Edit) 20/01/2019

Would review, but couldn't understand any of it as we had no subtitles!!! Tried all the 'cures' listed on this website, but nothing worked. How disappointing.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Sense of an Ending

Loved it!

(Edit) 07/08/2018

I don't want sex and excitement, and this film is right up my street! OK--a bit slow maybe, but interesting and thought-provoking story line and good acting.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Sing Street

Entertaining

(Edit) 09/05/2018

Here is a non-grumpy review. This is a gentle, feel-good film that packs no surprises. Music fitted the theme--nothing to take exception to. Just don't over-think this one, and you'll enjoy it.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

I, Daniel Blake

Sad

(Edit) 17/04/2018

An interesting film--more like a documentary than a feature film. Having worked in a benefits office, I didn't recognise the way in which it was portrayed here, and I found he storyline somewhat skewed to the 'side' of the benefit claimant. But overall--quite enjoyable.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Manchester by the Sea

Moving

(Edit) 04/04/2018

Beautifully shot, hauntingly moving. Afflek was so vulnerable, so fragile. Longish, yes, but I was absorbed.

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Albatross

Lightweight

(Edit) 25/02/2018

Easy viewing, mildly amusing--wouldn't put it in my top ten. Nothing to get your teeth into, but OK for a Sunday afternoon!

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.