Film Reviews by JT

Welcome to JT's film reviews page. JT has written 9 reviews and rated 13 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Darkest Hour

Uncanny

(Edit) 17/10/2020

Gary Oldman's portrayal of Churchill was outstanding, magnificent and quite uncanny. He looked like him, sounded like him and moved like him. The photography and atmosphere of the film took me right back to the time - it was dark, it was shadowy and Europe was being steadily swallowed by a monster that no-one or nothing could stop. Until Winston Churchill was placed in the driving seat. Hitler - your days are numbered. As soon as the film was over I wanted to run out into the street waving a Union Jack and singing the national anthem - and believe you me that doesn't happen often these days ...

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Once Upon a Time in Hollywood

Flat

(Edit) 06/06/2020

Overall, this film fell a bit flat. I only managed to not hit the "stop" button on my remote due to the mesmerising acting by Leonardo (and Brad for that matter), and the general prettiness of scenes. I just didn't really see the point of it apart from that. I like a good story/plot, and this was lacking. I may as well have poured over a book of shiny, slick photographs (albeit world class ones) taken on the set.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Game of Thrones: Series 8

Sleep soundly

(Edit) 03/05/2020

Why some (most?) fans thought this an anti-climax when it first came out, I'll never know. After all 8 seasons of GOT, and the constant build up, it gave me the ending I wanted - a satisfying one. There were shocks (in typical GOT style) right up to the end - which was as unpredictable as the story has ever been, but if it had left even one tiny aspect open ended, I would have requested a refund. I can now, after years of torment, sleep soundly.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Killer Inside Me

Touching on the Weird

(Edit) 01/04/2019

I didn't expect this to be quite as violent as it was. I don't shy away from that type of thing normally, but this was over and above the norm (and the necessary). As for a plot - fairly inocuous. But was justice served? Probably not. The ending left me a tad unsatisfied. There was an interesting attempt to explain the reasons why the main character was the way he was, by touching on the weird relationship he'd had with his mother. Overall, I wouldn't highly recommend this one.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Gerry

Easy on the eye

(Edit) 17/03/2019

This film's genre is described as "Action & Adventure". However, there was next to no action, and the adventure part was questionable. And it wouldn't have take them long to learn the script either. Also the possibility that two apparently sensible young guys going off on a walk with no map, water, phones and getting lost - just didn't gel with me, Having said that, there must have been something in it because I kept watching, and managed to survive until the end. So perhaps it was the "something's *got* to happen at some point" element that kept me going. Perhaps it's that Casey Affleck is very easy on the eye. Yes, I'll put it down to that.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Bros: After the Screaming Stops

Everything in between

(Edit) 16/02/2019

I haven't enjoyed myself as much in a long time. I wasn't expecting to like this film - I didn't much take to Bros back in the day, and wondered what on earth they could bring to the film world in this day and age. However, I was pleasantly surprised. I laughed, cried, and everything in between. I think what the lesson (if there is one) in this film is that everyone is human, and even though some are projected into stardom for whatever reason - we remain human and this is what is never take from us, even though the stardom is so often all to brief. These guys weren't shy in showing their vulnerable, touching, down-to-earth, even clueless side - which I loved. As a piece of film it's one of the most entertaining and heartwarming you'll ever see.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Song to Song

Alient to my Comfort Zone

(Edit) 15/12/2018

I suppose it's just that type of genre that is alien to my comfort zone. It's very pretty to look at, but somewhat shallow underneath. Kind of like getting a half portion of something you're really looking forward to eating - and still being hungry afterwards. The shots of well-known music names were a blessed relief, but not much else to report really.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

A Guide to Recognising Your Saints

Salt of the Earth

(Edit) 03/11/2018

Didn't think I'd enjoy this as much as I did. Very intense, salt of the earth and real. Superb acting and direction - it could have taken place in one small room and would have still had the power and amplitude. In a strange sort of way I hope humans are still interacting like this in years to come. Although I suspect this is gradually being beaten out of us.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Manchester by the Sea

Socks

(Edit) 21/10/2017

A slow starter, but my gosh does it make up for it. Blew both my socks off. A masterclass in acting from all concerned, and exquisitely placed music makes this character-led film an absolute dream.

3 out of 4 members found this review helpful.

Help & support

Find answers to frequently asked questions and contact us should you need to

How It Works

See prices and levels and find out how Cinema Paradiso service works

Friends for Films

Invite your friends to join and get free subscription each month