Film Reviews by MH

Welcome to MH's film reviews page. MH has written 30 reviews and rated 27 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Emma

Best version I've seen

(Edit) 06/03/2020

I don't personally like Gwyneth Paltrow, but she does play Emma well, and Toni Colette is not as annoying as other Harriets; Jeremy Northam is a very personable and likeable Knightley. The costumes are not ravishing, but probably very true to the clothes they would have worn in Jane Austen's day. A very pleasant evening's viewing.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Sense and Sensibility

Not as good as the Ang Lee 1995 version

(Edit) 06/03/2020

A fine film, but somehow the actors didn't grip me as much as the ones in Ang Lee's version. I mean, have you ever seen finer acting than the scene in which Emma Thompson as Elinor discovers Edward is free and wants to marry her? Amazing.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The American

Not particularly memorable

(Edit) 10/01/2020

Don't get me wrong, the film's not boring or inconsequential. It just didn't have that 'zing' which makes you remember it for a long time. In fact, that's why I've earmarked it to watch again when it's shown on TV. It's worth the time just for George Clooney, who's at his magnetic best. But then, I could never be bored watching George Clooney.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Dressed to Kill

Can't believe I was watching the same film as the previous reviewer

(Edit) 10/01/2020

This is just awful. The scenes which supposedly were meant to build suspense were just too long drawn out and became boring. It didn't involve me at all. Angie Dickinson gurns instead of acting, and has little sex appeal compared to Nancy Allen. Michael Caine must be really embarrassed now by his wooden turn, especially considering what a first-rate actor he is. Watch anything else with him in it, but do give this a miss. Terribly dated.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

A Christmas Star

Is this meant to be funny?

(Edit) 21/09/2019

Why can't I give it no stars? It doesn't deserve any.

If it's meant to be a spoof it falls wide of the mark, and if it's meant to be serious, it's unbelievably naff.

How on earth did Pierce Brosnan and Kylie Minogue get mixed up in this woeful mess?

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Gloria Bell

Waste of time and money

(Edit) 03/07/2019

Boring and tawdry tale about an episode in the life of a narcissistic loser. There's insufficient plot to sustain an entire movie so a lot of time is devoted to lengthy pictures of Julianne Moore's expressionless face and - worse - of her singing along to the radio as she drives in her car.

There's zilch chemistry between the leads, and the sex is voyeuristic, prurient and boring. But then, I never have been able to understand the modern obsession with watching other people perform the sex act.

In an effort to pep things up. Julianne Moore even descends to gratuitously exposing her naked breasts on several occasions, like some young starlet trying to get a bit of attention.

Then, at the end when the credits came up and I saw she was an executive producer, I finally twigged - it's just one long, boring ego trip - a vanity project.

And what was it with the ugly cat?

3 out of 4 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Meet Joe Black

Underwhelming

(Edit) 19/01/2019

At nearly 3 hours running time, it is over 1/3 too long. What little there is to accomplish could easily be achieved in well under 2 hours.

Anthony Hopkins is competent as always, but I was sorry to see him in this decidedly second-rate film Brad Pitt is largely expected to do nothing but look slightly clueless but otherwise expressionless. The director must have been besotted with Claire Forlani as he keeps the camera focused on her for so long that it becomes obvious she doesn't know how to fulfil his expectations of facial expression. This is where most of the time-wasting goes on. (If you're a fan of hers, you'll love it. I was bored to tears).

I kept watching simply because the plot seemed promising and I wanted to finish my knitting. It wasn't and I did.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Drop

A surprising little gem!

(Edit) 19/01/2019

I agree, Tom Hardy (yum) delivers a brilliant acting turn in this absorbing film, as does James Gandolfini. Noomi Rapace is a disappointment, not much acting going on there, but it doesn't really matter as she is relatively unimportant.

I heartily recommend it.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Enid

Underwhelming

(Edit) 19/01/2019

If you're an Enid Blyton fan, PLEASE don't watch this film. I assume it must be a fairly accurate portrayal of her, otherwise it would be besieged by libel complaints.

It shows her as a classic narcissist and a really nasty piece of work. Helena Bonham-Carter does a good acting job but has a really unpleasant character to portray.

Personally, even as a child I found her writing patronising, banal and boring, and her world-wide book sales of over 600 million absolutely mystify me.

I didn't think the subject matter warranted making a film about.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Beautiful Joe

A surprising little gem!

(Edit) 28/07/2018

A delightful film: Billy Connolly is lovely, Sharon Stone acts her socks off, the children are charming, and Ian Holm takes the Mickey. The totally anticipated ending manages (just) not to be mawkish, and I felt well entertained by the whole thing.

2 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Bookshop

Waste of time

(Edit) 17/07/2018

A strong contender for the worst film I have ever seen. The direction was appalling, the cameraman was obsessed with trees doing nothing, the editor allowed the pointless footage to be shown, Patricia Clarkson was expressionless (although you did get the impression she wondered what on earth she was doing there) and Emily Mortimer gurned instead of acting.

The only redeeming feature was Bill Nighy's untypically restrained performance which was genuinely endearing.

And I paid for a cinema ticket. I should have asked for my money back, like they do in the US.

4 out of 8 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Echo Park

Underwhelming

(Edit) 11/02/2018

Susan Dey, beguiling and sexy? I found her unattractive, unappealing, and uncharismatic. I'm glad I was told it was supposed to be a comedy because otherwise I wouldn't have understood why it is just so SILLY.

It's a tawdry tale not worth the telling and I'm surprised they managed to get the funding to make it.

I watched it to see what Tom Hulce would be like in a 'normal' role, having only seen him before in 'Amadeus'.

He is really, really cute and I'm not surprised he was nominated for an Oscar, which he might have won if only he'd been in a half-decent film.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Goodbye, Mr. Chips

A surprising little gem!

(Edit) 11/02/2018

What a truly lovely film! I was most impressed by Martin Clunes, whom I positively hated in 'Men Behaving Badly', and only fell in love with when I accidentally caught an episode of 'Doc Martin' on TV. He is a very gifted and versatile actor and carried this film brilliantly.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Did You Hear About the Morgans?

Better than expected

(Edit) 11/02/2018

I watched this film because I'm having a 'Hugh Grant' season at the moment. I was a bit wary because I don't like Sarah Jessica Parker and the idea of Hugh Grant being married to her seemed to stretch credulity a bit too far. But it turned out to be a likeable and amusing watch and I would recommend it for an evening of unchallenging and light-hearted entertainment.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Dogville

Amazing, wonderful

(Edit) 11/02/2018

There is little I can add to the reviews that have gone before, except to say that it was the best last line of a film I've ever heard.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.
12

Help & support

Find answers to frequently asked questions and contact us should you need to

How It Works

See prices and levels and find out how Cinema Paradiso service works

Friends for Films

Invite your friends to join and get free subscription each month