Film Reviews by MR

Welcome to MR's film reviews page. MR has written 14 reviews and rated 38 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Mother Joan of the Angels

Visually marvellous, well worth watching.

(Edit) 12/06/2020

This film is visually wonderful, many striking images. The two lead actors are terrific, perhaps the priest most of all, so subtle, as is the woman at the inn. There are less convincing elements, the yokels don't entirely convince, and the possessed nuns are more of a dance troupe. The story is simple and moving. Really enjoyed it.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Noises Off

not impressed

(Edit) 25/03/2020

This film version doesn't do it for me, although everyone tries exhaustingly hard, and there are a lot of really funny moments and jokes. I would imagine that live on stage it could be truly hysterical. I don't think any of the cast has mastered the exact slightly arch style that's needed for farce - they all just seem desperate.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Horrible Histories: The Movie: Rotten Romans

Not amused

(Edit) 20/01/2020

Must admit I've never seen any Horrible Histories on TV, but the actors sounded impressive in this one, and I love Lee Mack and Rupert Graves, so I thought I'd have a look. I thought it just not at all funny, and loathed the musical sections. If children are likely to enjoy it, then it's a harmless piece of work, because there was a lot of interesting Roman history thrown in.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Yojimbo

Glorious, repays re-watching

(Edit) 13/12/2019

The film grows on you. Story is good, framing of shots is fantastic, and so is Mifune. It is worth watching once, then watching again with the commentary which is included in the extras, as there is interesting information about Kurosawa's liking of the wide screen format.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Impromptu

Absurd but interesting

(Edit) 18/08/2019

Fine cast, but basically rather silly, anachronistic film. However if you are interested in Hugh Grant, his performance as Chopin is worth a look - chilly, remote, upright - thought it was quite impressive.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Quai des Orfèvres

Terrific, very enjoyable

(Edit) 28/06/2019

Agree with the other reviewer, super actors, music hall, police procedural, everyone smoking all the time - what more could you want. Very sharp and very enjoyable. I also agree about the other films, and would suggest 'Les Diaboliques', extremely good.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Death of Stalin

Dullish but with great acting

(Edit) 14/05/2019

I go along with the one and two star reviews, as far as the overall quality of the film goes, it really isn't funny, but you might find it worth watching for the quality of the acting, especially Simon Russell Beale, who deserves to be seen.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Killing

Very exciting and worth seeing

(Edit) 14/05/2019

Very exciting, you know pretty quickly why it's going to unravel, but it is a terrific watch, and the moments when various unexpected problems turn up are clever. You notice the camera often dwells on Elisha Cook's face - think the director must have loved it, which isn't surprising, he's an intense actor, always the loser.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Visions of Light: The Art of Cinematography

Fascinating

(Edit) 03/04/2019

Entirely fascinating, especially if you love your black and white films, and especially noirs. Some terrific insights about the 'look' of certain films and how film stars insisted on being filmed. Would happily watch it right through again.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Mr. Klein

Haunting

(Edit) 25/03/2019

I agree with the above, the film has haunted me for days. There is perhaps an artificial feel about the use of old Paris settings, but the topic is very interesting and ultimately tragic; pretty special acting too by everyone involved.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Apartment

Either Fantastic or Silly Twaddle

(Edit) 03/12/2018

Those are both from the imdb reviews - I tend to the latter. It's complicated, full of flashbacks, very stylish - and that applies to all the characters and to the settings, implausible, but moderately entertaining as you got into what was going on. The acting had to be weirdly neutral to keep the mood going, so why would you care about any of the characters.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Irrational Man

Dull

(Edit) 15/06/2018

Thought it was very unengaging, and didn't manage to watch it to the end. If you haven't seen it try something like Blue Jasmine to restore your faith in Woody Allen.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Phantom Carriage

Sriking curiosity

(Edit) 01/05/2018

Strange story about superstition, alcoholism and the persistence of one member of the Salvation Army in Sweden! Rather strongly acted by the male and female leads I thought, lots of interesting tricksy double exposures to create the impression of ghosts and the ghostly carriage, I thought it held interest throughout and was worth the experience. Hard to read the English subtitles when the Swedish ones were so much more prominent though.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Falstaff: Chimes at Midnight

Suprisingly bad

(Edit) 12/03/2018

Expected to enjoy this, but the direction was really rather ponderous, lots of exaggerated close-ups of faces, unclear verse speaking, and dreadful sound. But has to be worth watching for the magisterial performance of John Gielgud.

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Help & support

Find answers to frequently asked questions and contact us should you need to

How It Works

See prices and levels and find out how Cinema Paradiso service works

Friends for Films

Invite your friends to join and get free subscription each month