Film Reviews by BM

Welcome to BM's film reviews page. BM has written 10 reviews and rated 59 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Against All Odds

Rachel Ward. Why?

(Edit) 17/08/2017

I was enjoying this film till Rachel Ward came on the scene and then it went downhill. Gave up quite soon after that. Jeff Bridges, James Woods, great actors and particularly Jane Greer, a beautiful and good actress who sensibly grew old gracefully, a rare breed.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Trainwreck

very very funny!

(Edit) 22/04/2016

Loved this film, outrageously funny and at times poignant. Don't watch if you don't like swearing or sex scenes, mostly done with humour. Perry 1932.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

All Is Lost

Wonderfully filmed

(Edit) 24/07/2015

I did not understand the beginning which I watched again. what was the shape that we saw, was it an upturned yacht? Was it after he abandoned the sinking yacht? I t was all so dark it was difficult to identify. I imagine any sailor would be fascinated with this film, the detail was amazing and totally watchable even to someone who had never been on a yacht. I did find the fire a bit far fetched for a man who seemed to be so capable. I don't mind an ending left to ones imagination but the beginning of the film left me frustrated.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Send Me No Flowers

Funniest Doris Day film!

(Edit) 24/04/2015

I loved Doris Day when I was younger, but her films seem very dated now. However I've always remembered this one being funny and I wasn't disappointed...several laugh out loud moments and the supporting characters excellent I.e. Tony Randall and the funeral director and doctor.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Pollyanna

Charming

(Edit) 20/01/2015

My children grew up with this film, they are now in their 50s. I bought an LP(!) after us seeing the film so we knew the dialogue off by heart. I loved it because of the performances of, particularly, Adolph Menjou and Agnes Moorhead and of course Hayley Mills. If fact it was well directed and acted by all involved. A good film to watch with your kids.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Best Years of Our Lives

The Best Years of our Lives

(Edit) 23/12/2014

Wonderful film, second time I've seen it recently and enjoyed it so. I can remember it way back presumably when it was released and don't remember it having an impact but I was only in my early teens so wouldnt have lived a life! It delt with Important issues and had some very humorous moments and all the characters well acted and had been well cast.

I'd love to buy a copy but HMV don't seem to know about it and I don't do Amazon.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Remember the Night

Not Double Indemnity.

(Edit) 12/12/2014

An improbable story well constructed making an entertaining film. Stanwyke and MacMurray are good together and this time a happy ending for them. I had my doubts having never heard of this film but glad I put it on my list.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Morning Glory

Good script and acting

(Edit) 11/11/2014

An enjoyable film and well written and the acting excellent by the starry cast. An unusual film for Harrison Ford.. but he always adds gravitas to the films in which he appears. I love seeing Jeff Goldbloom playing a very disillusioned executive struggling to keep up the viewing figures.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Deception

Deception, a lesser known Bette Davis fillm

(Edit) 04/11/2014

This film has wonderful performances by the main characters and worth seeing if only to see Claude Rains fussing over ordering an elaborate meal to the exasperation of Davis and Paul Henreid. One of my top ten film scenes.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Lives of Others

If you're discriminating about the films you watch, this is for you.

(Edit) 07/10/2014

A beautifully acted and directed film. Don't be put off by the opening sequences, it is "grey" and dour but it builds to an exciting story which is both thrilling, intelligent and sad. The last few minutes of the film are unexpected and watch for the subtle change of expression on the face of the actor at literally the very end of the film...heartbreakingly beautiful!

4 out of 4 members found this review helpful.

Help & support

Find answers to frequently asked questions and contact us should you need to

How It Works

See prices and levels and find out how Cinema Paradiso service works

Friends for Films

Invite your friends to join and get free subscription each month