Film Reviews by TS

Welcome to TS's film reviews page. TS has written 8 reviews and rated 29 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri

Very strange, but loved it!

(Edit) 18/07/2019

I love films like this, very unexpected! A very simple story that could very very easily be true. What I took from this is the unexpected consequences and misunderstanding of actions and people - underlined by the very last scene when the two main protagonists (probably) drive off to another State for a specific reason (not to be revealed here).

I think this is the kind of film you really need to watch a few times to get the full benefit. Full of very small twists and turns and really shows up your own inherent discrimination and makes you question things you may have thought about people without bothering to really find out about them properly.

Well worth watching.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Valerian and the City of a Thousand Planets

Interesting

(Edit) 14/01/2019

Im not quite sure what to make of this film. I loved the idea of it, and I think I loved what happened. But it wasnt executed as well as the concept, if that makes sense?

Its quite original, as you would expect from someone who also produced The Fifth Element and parts of it were brilliant. But it just didnt quite sustain that.

So overall worth watching, but it could have been so much better.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Death of Stalin

Fantastic witty comedy

(Edit) 21/11/2018

I think this was the best film I have seen for a long time. A brilliant satirical look at the events following Stalin's death that stuck quite closely to the reported truth.

The genius of this film is how it takes an extremely serious subject and reduces it to comical status while not losing sight of some of the nastiness that went on in and around the top table in the Soviet Union at the time. Things like people speaking in British or US accents and in the style of some East End gangster mob reduces evil men to lovable rogues. Facial expressions when people get away with things, or can see how their fate is going to pan out were brilliant, as were the matter-of-fact approach to executions etc that, while funny, also show how death was a matter of routine to achieve a political position and help to remind you of how nasty Stalins regime could get.

If you are happy to look beyond the fact this was a gruesome time in world history and see it as a clever way to poke fun at power then you will love it. Its similiar in style to the BBC series "In the Thick of it" and other series like Brass Eye and such like.

There are so many levels to this film I can watch it again and again and still find bits and pieces that I have missed - highly recommend. You shouldnt watch this though if you prefer Hollywood style formulaic humour - it requires a bit of intelligence and an understanding of the gruesomeness of the period.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Victoria: Series 2

Once you get into it its a very nice drama

(Edit) 04/04/2018

It took an episode or two to get into the first season of Victoria, but once in it captures you. Its great to help you swat up on your history a little bit. It also helps you to look through the young eyes of Queen Victoria and gives you a decent idea of what she is like (even though some of it may be sugar coated!).

If you enjoyed The Crown about Elizabeth II then you will like this. Its not quite so polished and in places it can seem a bit romanticized and in others a tad depressing/slow and predictable. But having gone into this not expecting much (I dont tend to like ITV productions all that much) I was very pleasently surprised at how close to the known historical facts it is, of the strength of a lot of the acting, and how it kept my interest - wel done ITV.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet's Nest

Great finale

(Edit) 20/01/2018

The Swedish-made films are the best and this is probably my favourite of the three. It has a lot of plot twists and turns and it seems to take the drama of the first two, to an altogether new height. Definbately worth watching this, and do make sure you watch it with the subtitles on, it adds so much more to the film.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Last Straight Man

Could have been good

(Edit) 24/12/2015

Im not really sure what to say about this. The plot could have been good and had a few interesting moments. However really this was a low budget porn film with the dubious acting, plot and camera angles you would expect to go with it.

I watched for a while as, to be honest, the guys were pretty hot and certainly liked to take their clothes off a fair bit, but apart from that this was pretty rubbish and not worth watching in my opinion.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Beautiful Boxer

Very nice true story

(Edit) 23/04/2015

This is a nice film which shows some of the pressures on people who are Trans in Thailand. In places the acting is not natural, and the story does seem to brush over quickly on what I would imagine were some quite important moments in Nong Tooms life, which is a shame but as there is a lot to cover it must have been difficult to work out which bits to focus on.

I am glad I watched this, there were some cute guys, some lovely moments and all in all I learnt something about the pressures boxers go through, but also the pressures Trans people go through.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

My Straight Son

Cliched but good

(Edit) 23/04/2015

You know the moment this story starts what the formula will be (and no I didn't read the synopsis first!). However it is still good to watch, with some very nice acting and a few twists and turns along the way that does take the film off its formulaic trajectory occasionally.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Help & support

Find answers to frequently asked questions and contact us should you need to

How It Works

See prices and levels and find out how Cinema Paradiso service works

Friends for Films

Invite your friends to join and get free subscription each month