Film Reviews by mc

Welcome to mc's film reviews page. mc has written 10 reviews and rated 11 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Beau Travail

The French Foreign Legion exposed

(Edit) 13/01/2021

A colourful but repetitive introspection of the Legion. The setting is mainly in French Djibouti with occasional soul searching visits to Marseilles , where the Colonel muses over his obsession about a young recruit. Every scene is of a troop of recruits exercising, each scene is repeated over and over. There is little progression in the action until the object of the Colonel's interest disappears into the desert and is found by locals barely alive. Thats it!

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Turin Horse

Depressing viewinhg

(Edit) 04/01/2021

This may be an 'Art Movie' but I found the snails pace and the awful endless noise of wind, the sadness of the man, the woman and their horse was too grim to bear. My hope for something to raise the viewers spirit was dashed. Some black and white camera shots were beautiful

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Cakemaker

A beautiful story with underlying grief

(Edit) 01/12/2020

The scene starts in Berlin with a tender gay encounter, then moves to Jerusalem where the Cakemaker seeks out the widow of his friend (killed in a car crash), he gradually finds a place in her life at her Jerusalem restaurant/cafe. Finally he returns to Berlin. The camera shots are slow and telling. At no time do the politics and international standing of the two cities detract from the sensitive nature of nationality, religion and sexuality explored. A sadness pervades the movie but the story is believable and memorable

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Les Demoiselles de Rochefort

a cheerful break from sixties French cinema

(Edit) 14/10/2020

Following Les Parapluies de Cherbourg, the pastel shades combine with a singing dancing street scene, which spills over into a cheerful tale of love lost and found. An enjoyable escape movie of the sixties.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The White Crow

Great biopic of Rudolf Nureyev from birth to defection from the USSR

(Edit) 07/10/2020

The film jumps to and fro, between his birth on a train, the ballet academy in Leningrad and international acclaim with the Kirov company in Paris. Skillful photography and sensitive portrayal of every character. A wonderful film

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Death of Stalin

humour out of horror

(Edit) 17/09/2020

A brilliantly humorous theatre of the shambles which probably occurred when Stalin was found dead. Or was he dead? The Polit-bureau in disarray, Beria plotting against everyone and Marshal Voroshilov seeing to his humiliation and execution. The madness of Stalin's son and the bumbling of heir apparent Malenkov is finally 'sorted' by Kruschev. A memorable film

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Tom of Finland

The life story of the Finish creator of iconic gay art.

(Edit) 02/09/2020

The story of Tom of Finland's life is in itself a beautifully realized tale of post-war austerity, restriction and new found opportunity; then it tells what the gay community of 80's California hungrily consumed, the finely drawn characters of their dreams, and its denouement with AIDS

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Roman Polanski: Eight Shorts

disappointing early effort from this renowned director

(Edit) 27/07/2020

These eight short fictional films made by Polanski in Poland during Communist time, are nothing more than schoolboy fooling, there is no suggestion of his future ability either in Poland (Knife in the Water) or his Hollywood and later films. Dissapointing

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Tangerines

grief but heartwarming

(Edit) 30/06/2020

A forgotten war in Georgia, two fruit farmers come between opposing Georgian and Russian (Chechen), Christian and Moslem fighters. There is shooting and despair but harmony finally comes to one conflict hardened soldier.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

God's Own Country

Art, agriculture and amour

(Edit) 01/04/2020

The film appealed to me because I am gay, I was a farmer (although that farm could never support the family and the foreigner) and I love such beautifully filmed landscape

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.