Film Reviews by AS

Welcome to AS's film reviews page. AS has written 44 reviews and rated 56 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

WWII: The Long Road Home

A Low-Key story of Integrity

(Edit) 21/11/2020

If you are looking for a dramatic action movie, this is not the film to see.

It's strength is in its accurate portrayal of the real horrors of war -- the long periods of stultifying boredom followed by heavy violence, the damage done by long periods of isolation and emotional separation etc. There is the ongoing contrast between the beauty of Nature contrasting with the destructive thoughts and actions of the war participants.

The low-key "hero" stays focused on getting home to his wife and child -- following his intuition rather than just making mental assumptions.

0 out of 3 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Ciao Ciao

One of the worst films I have ever seen

(Edit) 13/10/2020

In searching for something positive to say about this film about the only comment I came up with was the scenery around the village was pleasant. The characters were crude, deceitful and ultimately boring. If you are seeking some soft porn, there are low grade examples which are also boring. If this was a propaganda piece about how communism kills the human spirit, then it would have some relevance.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Sick Note: Series 1

An Abominable and Tasteless attempt at comedy

(Edit) 18/05/2020

One can suppose that there are some people who watched this series and enjoyed the non-stop foul language and sewer-level characters who lie, cheat and deceive each other with ever greater intensity, but this household was not among them. What a waste of potentially good acting talent.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri

A Remarkable Story

(Edit) 18/04/2020

The film is exceptional in its plot and how it has been produced. Brilliant low key acting which could be used by drama schools! The end leaves us to imagine our own conclusion from a situation of a totally unexpected alliance. One of the best films I have watched this year.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Official Secrets

Brilliant Political/spy Drama

(Edit) 10/03/2020

How refreshing to watch a brilliant production based on an outstanding true story about the detection and exposure of political corruption of the highest degree. Hint: think tony Blair.

3 out of 4 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Little Drummer Girl

Below Standard for a John Le Carre story

(Edit) 05/03/2020

Well filmed and produced, I found the characters superficial and hard to believe in. The Israelis were accurately portrayed as ruthless thugs and the Palestinians as the underdogs fighting back. But I lost interest in the espionage theatre. Quite disappointing.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Liverpool

Self Indulgence by the Director coupled with close to zero content

(Edit) 13/02/2020

If you are interested in the extreme boredom of the crew's life on a merchant ship, this is the film for you. This level of emptiness is maintained when the lead character visits his parents and nothing happens. If you desperately want to experience this film, it's best to keep your finger on the fast forward button.

The whole content could be put into a short film of 15 minutes or so, rather than the painfully stretched 80 minutes of this unfortunate creation.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Manifest: Series 1

An outstanding Thriller in Depth

(Edit) 28/01/2020

A thriller where the characters are well defined and totally believable. The plot has many subtleties yet maintains its forward progress admirably.

There are a good number of exciting climaxes to contrast with the moments of feeling and depth.

Can't wait for the second series ...

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Thelma

New Depths in Scandinavian Depression

(Edit) 27/01/2020

A well acted but excruciatingly boring and depressing film. If you enjoy watching lesbians, you may get a thrill but otherwise this is a plodder's nightmare.

The original part of the story is in the treatment of Thelma's supernatural powers to get rid of people who stand in her way or otherwise annoy her -- particularly if they are male. Apparently she inherited this talent from her grandmother. So Thelma turns out to be morally deadbeat as well as a lesbian.

Well worth a miss ....

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Let the Sunshine In

Terrible Film

(Edit) 31/12/2019

This is an appalling film, despite Juliette Binoche's best efforts. The scriptwriter needs to be put out to pasture and left there. There is a positive note in the last scene where Binoche's character receives the wise advice to go within herself to find solutions to her life challenges, rather than searching for a new lover as "the answer".

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Aquarius

A Blend of soft Porn and Mediocre Drama

(Edit) 27/12/2019

One of the worst films I have ever sat through for its utter lack of talent coupled with poor taste. How anybody could give this film 5 stars is a mystery.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Salting the Battlefield

An outstanding conclusion to the trilogy

(Edit) 10/11/2019

An outstanding cast bring out the fine nuances in David Hare's brilliant spy story. An exciting and unexpected conclusion to the story unfolding from Page Eight through Turks and Caicos. Strongly recommended.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Brad's Status

Boring and Unispiring Film

(Edit) 06/11/2019

Stiller's character is more in need of a therapist to listen to his ramblings than a cinema audience. Avoid this film ...

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Breathe

Outstanding Drama

(Edit) 23/10/2019

An upbeat dramatisation of a potentially difficult subject of human physical paralysis. Outstanding acting allows us to appreciate the human spirit rising above a tragedy. Brilliant film ....

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

After the Storm

Well acted family drama

(Edit) 03/10/2019

A film for viewers with patience and some ability to accept major imperfections in the characters. But the story surprises with some good insights into the mysteries of personal relationships.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.
123

Help & support

Find answers to frequently asked questions and contact us should you need to

How It Works

See prices and levels and find out how Cinema Paradiso service works

Friends for Films

Invite your friends to join and get free subscription each month