Film Reviews by None

Welcome to None's film reviews page. None has written 13 reviews and rated 22 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Inside Man

Clever story, thought out a bit too clever

(Edit) 01/03/2007

Once again a great performance from Denzel Washington as a New York Detective. He is up against the perfect bank robbery. However, once the movie is over and you think it through, the plan is not so perfect after all - in real life the bank robber would have easily been caught. I'll leave it up to you to come up with various possibilities. And the connection between the bank robber and the bank owner, alltough crucial to the motivation of the robbery, is never revealed. I'll give it 4 stars anyway because of the funny and witty Denzel Washington and some good action scenes.

0 out of 3 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Matchstick Men

it's not as you think

(Edit) 01/03/2007

The whole movie puts you on a false track - you could even say it plays the same game with you as the conmen do with their victims. But once you get over the bafflement at the end, this movie is very clever, and the performance of Nicholas Cage and Alison Lohman, as their relationship develops, is heartwarming. Watching it the second time, I actually still really enjoyed it, because there is so much to discover.

3 out of 4 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Little Britain: Series 1

definitely weird

(Edit) 01/03/2007

After the 3rd episode I started getting into it, and by the end of the 8th episode I had enough of it.

Not being a Brit myself, I maybe don't have the right to judge this comedy series, nevertheless I would say I get british humour pretty well. I also got the little britain jokes, but I just didn't find them very funny by the end of it anymore. Some are downright pathetic. They're so bad that you alreday have to laugh at them again - I'll give you that. Maybe I just had an overdosis...

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

In Good Company

true values

(Edit) 01/03/2007

The movie definitely stands up for true values, and that's why I love it! The core world view of the film is, don't let yourself be fooled by hype and pep talk - people don't change, and that's why the way the world works on a fundamental level doesn't change either. Even multi million dollar businesses and clever, ruthless managers can't change that.

This film does not paint the world one dimensional and black-and white - the characters and the story have depth and relevance.

1 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Autumn in New York

nice romance

(Edit) 02/03/2007

Winona Ryder is unbelievably charming and the champion of the movie.

Richard Gere does his usual thing, nothing new there.

The story is sort of predictable, once the plot is laid out. I enjoyed watching it, but wouldn't watch it a second time. The part at the end with the hospital and operation is just overdoing it a bit.

The movie is good to have as a second choice if your girlfriend/wife doesn't fancy the action movie you just picked :-)

1 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Captain Corelli's Mandolin

hope in the middle of despair

(Edit) 02/03/2007

It's heartbreaking to see what war can do to people. But despite all the tragedy, this film has a positive outlook on life and shows that there is hope for the future in the midst of destruction.

The film does encourage some stereotypes about Italians, Greeks and Germans, but it is after all a piece based on historical events, allthough fictional.

Thought-provoking entertainment.

1 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Dirty Dancing

not only sexually loaded dancing scenes

(Edit) 02/03/2007

This is a classic, and was very controversial when it came out, because of the sexually loaded dancing scenes. My wife was not allowed to see it when she was a teenager, so we caught up on that one.

Actually it's a really nice love story, broaching the theme of loyalty and standing up for others, even if it hurts.

Just be careful not to watch it with someone who might be embarassed abouth the dancing scenes.

1 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Queen

Impressive performance

(Edit) 06/04/2007

This film gives you an insight into the life of the Royal family from a never seen perspective. It shows the monarch as a real person. The blending of real footage from the events surrounding Princess Diana's death and acted scenes worked really well. I loved the scene where the Queen admired the beautiful stag as she suddenly became more human.

1 out of 3 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Spoilers

An honest look at the gold rush

(Edit) 03/12/2006

You get a good feel for how life must have been at the time, if you were a gold miner.

It's very interesting to see how women are perceived and treated, and how times have changed.

The fighting scene in the bar is really quite spectacular, even by today's standards. However it's more entertaining than realistic.

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Take the Lead

How to mix classical and modern dancing

(Edit) 03/12/2006

The basic plot has been often told:

Youngsters who have an aimless life, are introduced to the beauty of something (in this case ball room dancing), and suddenly all gets well - school, relationships, life.

That said, if you like dancing, the film is a great inspiration, and it mixes classical dancing and new dance forms very artfully.

1 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Vertigo

Rebirth of a classic

(Edit) 03/12/2006

It's certainly one of Hitchcock's classics. If you like Hitchcock, you'll like this one.

The plot has an unexpected twist at the end, but if you watch the movie attentively, there are enough hints to let you lift the mystery.

The pace of the movie takes it's time, so allow yourself to be patient and enjoy the details.

For me as a video professional, it was very interesting to see in the special features how they restored the movie. And they did a truly amazing job.

2 out of 3 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Ballad of Jack and Rose

Relationship drama - Not your average family film.

(Edit) 07/02/2007

The underlying theme of this film is about how living outside of society carries the danger of transgressing the healthy boundaries of relationships. While Daniel Day-Lewis as Jack delivers an outstanding performace and truly conveys the conflicting interests and emotions of his character, the script sometimes offers little explanation for the unmotivated actions of Rose, who remains a bit obscure. Having said that, Camilla Belle as Rose makes the most of the script. The editing could be a bit tighter, which would bring some pace into the first part of the movie. The pace does pick up towards the end of the film.

Not your average family film.

1 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Child

real life getting close at you

(Edit) 01/03/2007

This movie comes across more like a documentary, following two young people closely through a part of their life. We don't hear much about where they came from or what their future looks like and are thrown right into the story. The Belgium industrial town of Seraing, once affluent, now declining, sets the scene for Sonja and Bruno, as they struggle to come to terms with being parents. Allthough circumstances seem to leave no alternatives, as Bruno sees it, his choices take him down a route he didn't want to go. The sheer fate of their young son Jimmy makes you want to reach out and intervene.

This movie will appeal to lovers of alternative cinema.

1 out of 2 members found this review helpful.