Film Reviews by NG

Welcome to NG's film reviews page. NG has written 14 reviews and rated 32 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Pride

Fantastic film!

(Edit) 15/09/2015

Funny, dramatic, moving and brings up so many important issues that are still relevant today. Great talent in from all the actors. It is one of the few films after renting that I would consider buying!

Uplifting and also are minder of why politics and doing something even as an individual, small group or community can make such a difference to the world.

3 out of 3 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Kid with a Bike

Moving powerful film

(Edit) 02/01/2014

Moving film about a child trying to find love and trust in the world that has disappointed him so far.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Detachment

Interesting film

(Edit) 02/01/2014

I really liked this film. It has strong leads and a depressing but interesting story to follow. Moving and emotional

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Hunt

Love mads

(Edit) 02/01/2014

Great story. Powerful, uncomfortable, sad but beautifully filmed and mads mikkelson just captivates from the moment he is comes into view

4 out of 4 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Incendies

Wow

(Edit) 02/01/2014

Strong film with a Greek tragedy feel. Long and not for the faint hearted but very moving and well worth the emotional energy.

3 out of 3 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Lemon Tree

Uncomfortable watching but fantastic

(Edit) 02/01/2014

An interesting insight into the cultural heart of Palestinian and Israeli politics. Human story of a woman's fight to tend to her lemon grove that her Israeli neighbours fear may harbour threat to their physical lives.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

As If I Am Not There

Hard watching but recommended

(Edit) 19/03/2013

A powerful personal account of the experiences of a young Bosnian woman caught up in the turmoil of the war. Very difficult viewing at times and not for those who find issues around rape crimes and it's consequences difficult to watch. The acting is phenomenal by the protagonist. The strangest part of the whole film was the way the people silently accepted their fate... And there seemed such a calmness to the madness of it all. This forces the audience to take on the full force of the emotions of the film. It is imperative that we have a deep understanding and awareness of the continual violence and humiliation of woman around the world. This is an important film and very bravely revealed there is so much more we need to do to stop this happening again and again...

2 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Welcome To The Rileys

Moving and thoughtful

(Edit) 10/10/2012

I had no memory of ordering this film or what drew me to it, but it unfolds to reveal beauty and pain that loss can bring. What losing a child can do to the core of a human being and what the unexpected sudden light of others can do to heal the pain. An unassuming powerful movie that is unusual to see front he commercial world of Hollywood.

2 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

After the Wedding

Moving and real

(Edit) 17/03/2012

I saw one of Bier's films many years ago and still remember how that film moved me and held me throughout. This film, after the wedding, does the same. Some of the Danish actors are now more familiar to us with the advent of popular Danish drama on uk telly. The lead in Borgen and the last version of wallander will bring you these actors into this film. The twist to this film question your beliefs about the 'goody' 'baddies' archetypes. It is ultimately a film about love and compassion, both for the world in general, for one's family and for oneself.

Wonderful watching and it's one of the rentals I wish I could hold on to forever.

9 out of 10 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Fugitive Pieces

Moving

(Edit) 27/02/2012

I read the book many years ago and found the film to be very true to the poetic prose of the original author Anne michaels.

It is so moving to watch how hard it is to leave the past when the past is with us during every moment of out lives. A great tale of love of friends, family, lovers and of the inability to forget.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Mugabe and the White African

Startling

(Edit) 27/02/2012

This was recommended to me by my friend who is an aid worker in Zimbabwe. It is a documentary style film vividly portraying the evils of the country under Mugabe and his cronies and the strength of those who are willing to hold on to what they believe is right. Captivating and essential viewing for anyone interested in the current situation in Zimbabwe

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The First Grader

Inspiring

(Edit) 27/02/2012

True story set in Kenya about a man who had fought against the evils of the British empire who years later tries to fight against the odds to learn to read and write. Humble story, wonderful acting from all the actors and extras. It teaches you that you have to fight for what you believe in and everyone has the right to learn, no matter what your age.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Concert

Uplifting

(Edit) 29/11/2011

Wonderful story about the musicians who were persecuted during the Cold War. A French/Russian collaboration bringing the best of the two traditions together. Passionate film making, hilarious, poetic and such wonderful characterisations as well as the music to take you to another place altogether... one of the best films I have ever had the pleasure in seeing.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Innocent Voices

Realistic and moving

(Edit) 02/04/2011

Having lived in Nicaragua, the events portrayed in El Salvador at the time of the civil war through the eyes of a young 11 year old bring to life the reality of living in an inferno. The acting is natural and extremely moving, particularly of Chava, the lead boy and his mother. It is an important film to watch to remember and understand the difficulties and agonies of the people of that time. It is also uplifting to see how people fight to survive and love each other. A well made film, realistic and very human. Can be hard to watch at times, as children are involved in war and death. It also highlights the worldwide abusive use of child soldiers.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Help & support

Find answers to frequently asked questions and contact us should you need to

How It Works

See prices and levels and find out how Cinema Paradiso service works

Friends for Films

Invite your friends to join and get free subscription each month