Film Reviews by NJ

Welcome to NJ's film reviews page. NJ has written 8 reviews and rated 67 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Saint Maud

Excellent and original

(Edit) 06/02/2021

Okay its hard to be original nowadays but this film is actually as good as the critics reviews. Don't understand the 'horror' label, it's a smart pyschological drama, with the viewer trying to piece together who Maude actually is, and why she has 'found God'. You wonder what is real and what is imagination.

Highly recommended.

1 out of 3 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Elle

Incredible and not in a good way

(Edit) Updated 23/01/2021

There's a charicatured perception that French film are 'wordy', this will certainly not disabuse that.

Talking of abuse: The other feature is the lead character is violently raped by an unknown intruder, then when she discovers who it is, decides she's all in favour of it, including the violence. Like you do!

Stylishly filmed hence the two stars, but altogether pretty awful to this viewer.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Apollo 11

Brilliant

(Edit) 24/03/2020

Fascinating film with restored / previously unseen footage. The Saturn 5 rocket being wheeled into position was stunning. Except for the 60s fashion and hairstyles you'd imaging this happened last year. A must for all with an interest in incredible engineering feats.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Black Panther

Good film. Racist? Ridiculous.

(Edit) 21/02/2020

Of its genre this is a good film. Lots of action, presented in 3D the usual fairly shallow plot (although nowhere near as shallow as other Marvel films).

Having read the piece that is top of the reviews here claiming this film is 'highly racist' I was intrigued as to how this is so. Its beyond credulity that anyone who's actually watched this comes to that view, except by being offended that this is an acclaimed film with a mainly (but by no means completely) black cast.The review was interestingly written by someone who felt there was a need to claim that they were 'mixed race' heritage to justify the incredible conclusion. There is nothing 'anti-white' here and in fact one of the most sympathetic characters is the white CIA officer played by Martin Freeman. The informed piece by the website's reviewer is spot on.

So ignore that, and enjoy a good rollicking suspension of belief, and just enjoy the spectacle.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Grand Budapest Hotel

Brilliant

(Edit) 20/02/2020

It looks fantastic on the screen, witty script, excellent cast. OTT but clever. Much hyped, that hype is deserved.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

'Round Midnight

Jazz - nice

(Edit) 08/08/2018

A very long winded story without too much drama, but hey, if you love jazz just listen to the music, there is a cast of brilliant players. Dexter Gordon takes a very laconic approach to playing the lead role, I'd never heard him speak before, he sounds half asleep, don't know if that's in character or just his own voice?

All in all though, I loved the music and enjoyed the film.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Jackass: The Movie

Awful

(Edit) 01/06/2018

Thought I'd give this a go as it caused such a stir. This film is as juvenile as it gets, watched three 'skits' and gave up, didn't even raise a half a smile. I love comedy, this isn't comedy, its just silly and not in a funny way. I think if you have an IQ higher than your age, don't bother.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Homeland: Series 6

Previously... on Homeland

(Edit) 01/03/2018

Six series in, and I thought I'd lose interest after Brody copped it. Still well worth watching as the writer manage more twists and turns. We still have Carrie's goggle eyed incomprehension and Saul Berenson's steely presence. Sounds predictable, but hey, still love it.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Help & support

Find answers to frequently asked questions and contact us should you need to

How It Works

See prices and levels and find out how Cinema Paradiso service works

Friends for Films

Invite your friends to join and get free subscription each month