Film Reviews by LA

Welcome to LA's film reviews page. LA has written 19 reviews and rated 110 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Capernaum

Stunning Team Production

(Edit) 13/05/2021

An incredible co-operative group effort from the film production team and all the characters in the film is revealed in the footage showing the making of the story at the end of this film. The most poignant central relationship in the story of Capernaum - real life in chaos - is between a small boy and a baby, both left to care for themselves and each other in the poverty stricken suburbs of Beirut. Sad, but also very moving. And when you see the involvement of the team, the children and their real families it is all the more extraordinary.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Parasite

Comedy? You have to be joking...slasher horror.

(Edit) 05/05/2021

Horrifically upsetting and depressing horror story which has apparently led to unfortunate slum tourism and social unhappiness in its home country.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Closet

Hilarious

(Edit) 01/04/2021

Brilliant and unexpected performances from Daniel Auteuil and Gerard Depardieu in a wonderful send up of office politics - in of all places a condom factory.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Between Strangers

Rather grim

(Edit) 25/03/2021

Strangely brutal and lurid, not 'touching and heartfelt' at all...three women trapped by men, and unable to express their art or themselves. And the art itself when shown was equally violent and unpleasant.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Hans Christian Andersen

DELIGHTFUL AND HISTORICAL

(Edit) 17/03/2021

Danny Kaye always delightful, but the film history and ballet background is also fascinating ( Zizi Jeanmaire & Roland Petit) with some incredible performances, and a wonderful undersea ballet that puts the Little Mermaid to shame.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Love, Marilyn

The story we should have heard long ago

(Edit) 17/03/2021

Marilyn as she would have been known by friends and fellow actresses, a much more sympathetic portrait than she got from the hustling media.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Shirley

Excellent - two great female leads

(Edit) 02/02/2021

An update on the Burton Taylor relationship, or the seedy philandering college professor story where the women have some agency and make use of their situation and form a friendship instead of enmity. Not apparently very biographically accurate about Shirley Jackson, but a literary interpretation that was very satisfactory and beautifully and atmospherically filmed.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Summerland

Heavenly

(Edit) 09/11/2020

Just heavenly...watched it twice in a row to absorb all the lovely details of landscape, costume, setting on Sussex coast with sea, performances - the little girl from the new Secret Garden, Gemma Arterton finally getting a non sexist part and proving she has character. OK, read reviews below about relationships and plot, but still allow yourself a brief holiday from the drear daily disasters.

5 out of 5 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Who You Think I Am

Improbable

(Edit) 25/09/2020

I like Juliette Binoche which was why I chose this film, but she was made to appear absurdly unappealing which was sad - are older actresses meant to be less attractive simply because of their age? The whole online fake persona premise was also absurd, and would never have convinced anyone, so the relationship it purported to explore never could have worked.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Prime

Food for thought

(Edit) 25/09/2020

Wonderful performances, Meryl as a rather flawed therapist is a revelation, and Uma Thurman stands up to her in every way. Good stuff.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Finding Joy

NO. NO STARS.

(Edit) 18/09/2020

Dire - Finding Joy review by RB

21/08/2020

I COULD NOT AGREE MORE!!!! BEYOND DIRE....HAVE COPIED REVIEW BELOW AS IT IS EXACTLY RIGHT, EVEN DOWN TO PARTNER'S COMMENTS...DROSS INDEED

I got this DVD, first of all because I'm Irish and secondly because I thought it was a film, but it turns out to be a series. I was watching the film, about 25 minutes in the titles came up and then another episode came on, of course this continues.

However, it's so awful that when I said 'Right, that's it I can't watch anymore', he said 'Thank god, it was like slow torture'.

I was so disappointed. Please advertise it as a series not a film. YES

I thought to myself after watching some of it, how amazed some people actually succeed in producing such dross and have a career.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Last Station

Stunning film record of Fascinating peole and Historical period

(Edit) 10/07/2020

Immaculate acting, tremendous cast, quietly presented, almost Chekovian script sensitive but with passionate moments, very Russian, but showing real life of the first great international celebrity - Tolstoy - and his wife and other important figures of the time, taken from their own writings. Also excellent documentary material interviews with cast/writer director on the disc

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

All Is True

Disappointing

(Edit) 04/11/2019

A wonderful cast wasted, and one of the film's themes, the creation of a garden was a huge disappointment - could they not actually have created a beautiful Shakespearean garden instead of showing endless pointless shots of him digging?

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Vivre Sa Vie

Unjustly famous

(Edit) 17/09/2019

This hasn't aged well, may have been daring at the time, but now just seems posturing and ends abruptly without establishing a reason.

0 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The House by the Sea

No....

(Edit) 09/08/2019

"By a little bay near Marseilles lies a picturesque villa" - so they say...stop right there. If you thought this would be an idyllic Mediterranean pastoral forget it. It's a bleak rocky port full of anti immigrant army vehicles, with a noisy railway viaduct right overhead and death or creepy octopi in the waters... plus one of the worst scripts ever encountered, and dreary unloving characters who literally poison themselves to escape from the story. No.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.
12