Film Reviews by LC

Welcome to LC's film reviews page. LC has written 10 reviews and rated 54 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Samurai Rebellion

Good film, poor DVD quality

(Edit) 23/03/2020

The tale of samurai honour is a good one, but unfortunately the transfer to DVD is rubbish. The image quality is poor, and the aspect ratio is broken so you only see a small letterbox image in the centre of the screen. Disappointing,

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Chernobyl

Great story

(Edit) 23/03/2020

A good retelling of the incident. I realize some liberties were taken with some of the characters, but it still holds true.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Dead Don't Die

Not Jim's best work

(Edit) 23/03/2020

Sadly it feels like Jim Jarmusch lost interest in this project. The self-referential jokes become tiring after a while, and the story literally ends in the middle.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Big Man Japan

Good bit of Japanese weirdness

(Edit) 05/12/2019

Partly a homage to the Godzilla movies of old, Big Man Japan is a strange part-documentary, part monster-movie comedy. The effects are fairly low budget, which add to the bizareness of the situations. The ending kind of loses the plot a bit, but it's a fun ride.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Kwaidan

Lovely

(Edit) 05/12/2019

A beautifully shot portmanteau of ancient Japanese ghost stories. It's pretty long, and slow and ponderous, but this all adds to the atmosphere. The stages interiors are beautiful to look at, and it also has a wonderful soundtrack that adds to the other worldliness of the film. Not one for "horror" fans, but definately worth watching.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Dad's Army

Sadly not as good as everyone expected

(Edit) 05/12/2019

The new cast do a good job at portraying the characters, but the script is dull and lifeless, with very little humour. Disappointing.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Dawson City: Frozen Time

Interesting, but meandering

(Edit) 08/10/2019

The story is an interesting one, and the recovered footage of the lost film is good to see, but the documentary is really about the whole history of the town, from it's inception during the gold rush, up to the 70's when the films were rediscovered. Not a problem, but the story does tend to meander quite a lot. Also, the music is pretty terrible, long and droning. A good film, but should have been much shorter (and with a different soundtrack).

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

An Evening with Beverly Luff Linn

Amusing, but not great

(Edit) 25/06/2019

I watched this on the back of the directors other movie; "The Greasy Strangler", which is highly recommended for those nostalgic of the trash cinema of John Walters. Sadly this film doesn't live up to the previous experience. It's dotted with some good oddball seedy characters, but the plot is too thin, and the payoff of the final performance is, although bizarre, disappointing.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

A Quiet Passion

Not appealing

(Edit) 12/02/2018

There's not a lot to like about this film. The characters are generally unlikeable, and get more so as the film goes on. The dialogue is absurd, with witty repartee being mandatory to anything anyone says. There's a lot of misery, illness and death. the poetry is OK, but you'd probably be better off buying a book of poetry than sitting through this film.

2 out of 2 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Arabian Nights: Vol.1: The Restless One

Gave up after first half hour

(Edit) 06/12/2017

Have to agree with the other reviewer here. The first part about the plight of Portuguese dockworkers and wasp killers was too dull to make it worth continuing. The style of filming and narrative was unfocused and not engaging. Not recommended.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Help & support

Find answers to frequently asked questions and contact us should you need to

How It Works

See prices and levels and find out how Cinema Paradiso service works

Friends for Films

Invite your friends to join and get free subscription each month