Film Reviews by LT

Welcome to LT's film reviews page. LT has written 12 reviews and rated 16 films.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Nightingale

Difficult to watch, but worth the effort.

(Edit) 24/02/2021

A dark but gripping storyline, it pulls no punches in its account of some of what went on in that period of time. All the actors involved play their parts well, their performances, for good or evil, keep you gripped throughout.

Well worth a watch.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Kemono Michi: Rise Up: Series

A good laugh, not to be taken too seriously

(Edit) 27/01/2021

Both the art-style and the general design of this series are pretty good, they manage to inject some good humour as well which makes for a highly enjoyable watch.

The main character's personality is very exaggerated but as long as you don't take the show too seriously, it makes for a fun way to spend some time.

I would recommend it to Anime fans in general, but especially those that like animals and comedy.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Koko-Di Koko-Da

Surreal and Strange - An Interesting watch

(Edit) 15/10/2020

I decided to "push the boat out" a bit with this and watch something that was perhaps outside of my comfort zone when it comes to movies.

It is quite a disturbing watch with a lot of seemingly gratuitous violence used as a plot device, with some of the scenes rather haunting.

I would say that this is worth a watch if you are a fan of surrealist horror, but perhaps not if you prefer other genres of film.

3 out of 3 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Made in Hong Kong

Excellent film, well worth a watch.

(Edit) 01/10/2020

I thoroughly enjoyed this film, from the bleak environment that the protagonist finds himself in, to the life that he leads, they help to build an emotional and powerful atmosphere to the late 90's Hong Kong. The turbulence of the time finds itself represented in the young mans life and that of his friends.

An enjoyable drama, another masterful piece of work from Eureka! as part of their Masters of Cinema series, a must watch for any fans of east-Asian cinema.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

After the Fox

Good if you are a Fan of Sellers' work.

(Edit) 25/09/2020

It was a mildly entertaining watch, filled with all of the sort of plot points / wacky goings on that you would expect from Sellers. There seems to be a lot of "forced" humour, in which the movie expects you to laugh but you really don't feel like doing so.

All-in-all, I would say it is worth a one time watch for Sellers' fans, but if like me, you see this and think of watching it, it's not really worth your time.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Castlevania: Series 1

Entertaining animation and excellent voice acting

(Edit) 17/09/2020

I thoroughly enjoyed this series, whilst it was brutally gore-filled at times, it told a story and managed to weave emotion in to the mix as well. If you are a fan of the genre or just looking for more "adult-oriented" animation, this will tick many boxes, I heartily recommend giving it a watch.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

37 Days: The Countdown to World War I

Another excellent drama by the BBC

(Edit) 16/09/2020

Both the acting and set design are great in this series, they really help to set the stage for the ever-growing chaos that was to come. From a retrospective point of view, you realise rather quickly that so much needless bloodshed could have been avoided. Historical figures are brought to life with zeal, to give you a real glimpse into what must have been a mad time behind the scenes.

Thoroughly enjoyable watch, I would recommend this to fans of history in particular.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Neds

Gritty, but a must watch.

(Edit) 08/09/2020

An enjoyable but dark film, which faithfully recreates a dark period in the history of Glasgow, when knife crime and gang culture were far more prevalent than they are today. Peter Mullan does an excellent job as both the director and in the role as an abusive father in the movie itself.

It can be an uncomfortable watch at times but it is definitely worth the ask.

1 out of 1 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Comic

Chaotic and weird

(Edit) 08/09/2020

I do try not to show bias towards low-budget productions but this was rather awful, perhaps I was not the target audience or perhaps it was just too "niche" for me. Nonetheless, there are some nice parts, but in far too small a dose unfortunately.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Mob Psycho 100: Series 2

Stunning animation and fight choreography

(Edit) 27/08/2020

After having seen the first season some time ago, I finally caught up with this and I am glad that I did. For fans of Anime in general, the story-telling in this manages to weave emotion with some of the best animation and thrill that I have seen in fight scenes for quite some time.

A thoroughly enjoyable watch that I would happily recommend.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

The Best of the British Transport Films

Excellent historical footage

(Edit) 22/05/2020

This collection manages to be both interesting and entertaining, displaying in great detail, how British Transport operated during the last century.

I would recommend this to history fans as well as those interested in rail networks, the restoration footage is excellent quality and it makes for a bewitching watch.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.

Write your review

100 characters remaining
4000 characters remaining

See our review guidelines and terms.

Zu: Warriors from the Magic Mountain

Ok Story - Excellent Remaster

(Edit) 22/05/2020

As far as story and action goes, this is an interestingly wacky film. Its scenes and dialogues are very similar to other movies of the same genre from the same time period, so if you like martial arts movies from the 80's and don't mind a bit of craziness, you might very well enjoy this.

As for the restoration provided on this disc, it is superb. The video quality is leaps and bounds beyond what was present in previous releases, this certainly makes the movie a much better watch. All of the new extra features are great too.

Whilst the movie is not great, it can be entertaining and fans of the genre are likely to enjoy it.

0 out of 0 members found this review helpful.